Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 6811
The Most Important Thing
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Inspired by real life artist James Hampton's life and work, it hard to believe that Shelley Pearsall book is fiction. She builds a world and creates characters that give readers an opportunity to reflect on their own attitudes and actions as they interact with those characters others may be viewed as different or eccentric.

What works best is the character development of Arthur as he goes on his own personal journey of discovery. I love the emotions from this book! Pearsall really has a knack for getting readers to invest emotionally in her characters. Arthur is in the true sense of the word a teen boy that has been through a lot of difficult events and had many difficult choices to make. He is flawed, but what person isn’t. Even though he makes a few bad choices, Pearsall makes the read emotionally invested in his future. She uses these emotions to help keep the plot moving and developing while dropping in some valuable lessons for the reader.

There isn’t much world building and the setting has a basic description. In many ways this works. It is historical fiction, and using background knowledge some readers will be able to get a picture of the setting without it. However, it also makes the story seem timeless. Yes, this is takes place in the past, but the events that take place in The Seventh Most Important Thing, could possibly happen today. People, including young adults, make poor choices and have to live with the consequences. A person’s actions affect those around them. It is the choices one makes after that that can matter the most. Setting doesn’t affect the events, the people do.

This book is not just about how people change, but how people’s perceptions can change over time. This is a perfect book for a middle school reader. However, it is a book that anyone can enjoy.

What makes this book stand out is the fact that this story is based on James Hampton, the creator of the actual masterpiece, "The Throne of The Third Heaven" which is on display at the Smithsonian American Art Museum in Washington, D.C.
Good Points
Historical Setting
Museum connection
Realistic and likable characters
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 3 4

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Wanted
 
3.3
"Wanted is a book completely different from anything I’ve read before. It’s as if Bonnie and Clyde got fed up..."
Wanted
 
4.3
"Let me start by saying that Wanted turned out to be so different from everything else that I've read this..."
Wanted
 
5.0
"Wow, where do I even start with how much I loved this book? I loved Heidi Ayarbe's book COMPULSION..."
Compulsion
 
5.0
"Jake Martin believes in the magic of prime numbers. This obsession helps him get through the day and also..."
Freeze Frame
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda At first I thought Freeze Frame was going to be really depressing a deep. Since this..."
Freeze Frame
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Allyssa Kyle is basically your normal kid. He has his best friend, his sister, and his family...."
Freeze Frame
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Lizzie Heidi Ayarbes debut novel, Freeze Frame is certainly very exciting. Its fast pace, short sentences and..."