Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 991
Pefect book for this western fan
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
When Kate Thompson’s father is killed by the dangerous Rose Riders, she vows revenge. He was killed over a journal in his possession that revealed the location of a gold mine and Kate will make sure they never profit from it. Disguised as Nate Thompson, she pretends to be a boy as she travels the dangerous terrain. She’s joined by Jesse and Will Colton, sons of a friend of her father’s, who insist on coming along because their father made a promise to Kate’s father to look out for her. Kate sees them as a nuisance, especially Jesse, but the closer they get to finding the Rose Riders, the more she feels drawn to Jesse, but is there room in her heart for both revenge and love?

I was so excited when I heart about this book because I love westerns and it sounded like one that I would love. Cowboy brothers, strong female character, a quest for revenge, easy-to-hate villains, character growth. It promised to be awesome. And it was and it didn’t disappoint.

Kate was a character that I found easy to understand her motives, which made her easier to like even when she was doing things I didn’t agree with or being stubborn. She was also someone who I had a lot of empathy for what had happened to her, what she was going through, and had she had chosen to do for justice. She was a very strong character right from the beginning but she still had a lot of room to grow, and she did grow throughout the journey. She had to learn to open up and trust, she had to be prepared to take a life, she had to deal with grief, and she had to do all that while traveling in dangerous terrain where the Rose Riders or anyone or anything could be waiting for her.

I really enjoyed the dynamics between the main four characters. Jesse and Will bantered like the brothers they were, Will and Kate were quite playful most of the time, and Jesse and Kate were back and forth between antagonizing each other and playful. When Liluye joined them, it added new dynamics that were really fun to read.

The book was told all in Kate’s POV but there was growth to other characters, not just Kate. All the character got to have moments where they were at the front of the story, even if it wasn’t their POV, and I really enjoyed seeing the different ways each character got to shine. It was a quick read since it was very fast-paced, there was always a sense that anything could happen in the next chapter, danger everywhere, so I kept reading until it was done.

The setting and the descriptions of the desert, the valleys, the rivers, the towns, everywhere, was so well done. The dialect really added to the western feel of the book, instead of modernizing the dialogue, which was great. There was action, there was questionable morals, there was gunfights, there was saloons, there was tears(mine), there was everything I hoped there would be in a western YA.

As mentioned, I’m a huge fan of westerns and, as a western lover, this book hit all the right marks.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

My Love is All Around
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mommy Bear shows Baby Bear how love is all around...
I'm not a Mouse!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Olivia really doesn't like her nickname - mostly because it...
My Panda Sweater
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The other kids may laugh, but I always feel safe...
One Day on our Blue Planet... In the Outback
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From breakfast to dinner, dusk to dawn, children will love...
Mrs Bibi's Elephant
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story with a message as big as an...
The State of Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Dre and Dean have got my vote!"—Adib Khorram, award-winning...
My Calamity Jane
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to 1876 America, a place bursting with gunslingers,...
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
A compulsively readable debut with a narrator you just...
Fae's Deception (Queens of the Fae Book 1)
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
Brea Robinson is a murderer. That’s what everyone tells...
The Forgotten World (The World Apart Series Book 3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Clark thought he knew what grief was. Addie thought...
Artemis Fowl: Guide to the World of Fairies
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
This beautifully illustrated novel is a compendium of Artemis Fowl's...
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Les Misérables meets Six of Crows in this page-turning...
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hamsters and hermit crabs to cats and canaries, you'll...
The Last Summer
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For the first eleven years of their lives, neighbors Lila...
The Falling in Love Montage
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two girls embark on a summer of montage-worthy dates (with...
Super Puzzletastic Mysteries: Short Stories for Young Sleuths from Mystery Writers of America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author Chris Grabenstein and the Mystery Writers of America...

Latest Member Reviews

Aurora Rising
 
5.0
"I could not sit Aurora Rising down! This is the first book by the writing duo Amie Kaufman & Jay..."
The Court of Miracles (Court of Miracles, #1)
 
5.0
"THE COURT OF MIRACLES is an enagaging and lush YA historical that imagines an alternate France where the revolution has..."
The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School
 
4.7
"'The 47 People You'll Meet in Middle School' by Kristin Mahoney is an endearing look at an often hard time..."
We Are the Perfect Girl
 
3.3
"'We Are the Perfect Girl' by Ariel Kaplan is a Cyrano De Bergerac style story. There are a host of..."
A Small Zombie Problem (Zombie Problems, #1)
 
4.0
"A SMALL ZOMBIE PROBLEM is a charming story in the vein of A SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS and Tim Burton...."
Aurora Rising
 
5.0
"Now I am huge huge fan of both Jay and Amie as individuals and as co-authors. Their Illuminae series completely..."
Spin the Dawn (The Blood of Stars, #1)
 
5.0
"SPIN THE DAWN is an unbelievably fantastic read with some elements of a high-stakes PROJECT RUNWAY, some elements of FLAME..."
Nick and June Were Here
 
4.0
"Shalanda Stanley's DROWNING IS INEVITABLE is one of my top underappreciated books, so I was thrilled to receive a copy..."
Are You Ready to Hatch An Unusual Chicken? (Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer #2)
 
5.0
"Are You Ready To Hatch An Unusual Chicken? is a delightful follow-up to Kelly Jones's Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional..."
The Penderwicks at Last
 
5.0
"THE PENDERWICKS AT LAST is the last in the series of Jeanne Birdsall's books about the Penderwick family. In this..."
How To Scare A Ghost
 
5.0
"How To Scare A Ghost is a fun and engaging childrens book that is full of colorful illustrations to keep..."
Someday
 
4.3
"Everyday A jumps into another body. Each day is different. Along the way he encountered Rhiannon and they fall in..."
We Regret To Inform You
 
4.3
"Mischa is the perfect high school student. She has joined all the right clubs, she has the best grades, and..."
We Regret To Inform You
 
4.3
"Mischa Abramavicious is an overachiever. She excelled on her SAT exam and has a stellar GPA filled with extracurricular activities...."
Just Under the Clouds
 
4.0
"Cora's mother has struggled to keep a roof over Cora and her sister Adare's head ever since the death of..."
LIFEL1K3
 
4.3
"LifeL1k3 is an engaging novel full of incredible writing, violence, action, romance, and strong world-building. Told in third person, and..."
LIFEL1K3
 
4.7
"With the technologies that we have nowadays, it's not that undeniable that with the scientist and mechanics miraculous hands that..."
LIFEL1K3
 
3.0
"Writing: The dialogues are mostly street slang but the book is also jazzed with something lyrical here and there...."
This is our Constitution: Discover America with a Gold Star Father
 
5.0
"This is our Constitution is an entertaining and educational text every student—and some adults—should read. The passion and profound respect..."
What the Night Sings
 
5.0
"Gerta Rausch didn’t know she was Jewish until she and her father were taken from their home in the middle..."