Review Detail

Newt's Emerald Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2000
Emeralds, Magic, and Ruffians
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Regency London? Check.

Magic? Check.

Adventures? Check.

Cross-dressing girls? Check.

I wasn’t sure what to expect from Garth Nix’s newest novel Newt’s Emerald, but I was thoroughly delighted throughout the entire story. Written as an homage to regency novels, Nix merges a world of old magic and old London for a delightful mystery that has just enough romance and misunderstanding for any Jane Austen fan.

As Truthful “Newt” Newington prepares for her coming out in society, the (magical) family heirloom is stolen out from under her father’s nose. The Newington emerald goes missing, and with her father’s ailing health, Newt knows she must take matters into her own hands. With the help from her quirky Great-Aunt Badgery, and the dashing rogue, Major Harnett Newt disguises herself as a boy and infiltrates the seedier side of London.

Through many mishaps, Newt and Harnett discover an insidious plot to bring ruin to all of London. Even though there is a darker magic at work, the tone of the novel remains lighthearted and never takes itself too seriously. I giggled my way through all of the scenarios, and found myself swooning over Harnett right along with Newt.

Since this story is a take on the genre of regency novels, I had to remind myself that this book was doing its job well. I kept hoping that I would dive deeper into the world of magic and darkness, but that wasn’t the purpose of the story - this story is meant to be fun, and fun it is! The world, while not filled with backstory, gives just enough of a structure for the reader to follow along and care about its characters, while not overwhelming the reader with too much detail. The characters are likable, and fully realized. Everyone has their motivations, and the little changes of heart are what make Newt so endearing.
If you’re looking for something lighthearted, but full of adventure and romance, Newt’s Emerald is the book for you!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Sunshine in the Shadows: Book 2 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.7
"This one is probably the least exciting out of the 3 books, but its lovely getting to know the characters..."
Sunshine Reigns: Book 3 of the Sunshine Series
 
5.0
"This my favourite book of the 3-part series. Sunny comes into her own with a very satisfying ending."
Amber Vial
 
4.3
"Amber Vial by Frost Kay is the first in her novella series Mixologists & Pirates. I love these novella series...."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
Super Humans
 
4.3
"The story: Best friends Chloe and Miranda, eager to start their college careers, move into an old, off-campus Victorian..."
God's Rough Drafts
 
5.0
""God’s Rough Drafts" (Red Dashboard Press) is a gripping, powerful page-turner set 110 years in the future where massive corporations..."
Lions and Lamps
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The setting is fascinating and complex, the world building rich and thoughtful. Robinson fully realizes the steampunk..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
4.0
"The story: Lune Tatum, the adoptive daughter of this dystopian world’s Supreme Elite, wants out. Out of the walled..."
ALEX HUNT and the Chase for Rhapta
 
3.5
"When Alex's dad goes missing, she is the only one who can find him because she's also the only one..."
The Convergence (Converters, Book 1)
 
3.5
"The story: Desiree is hiding a secret, one she’s desperate to hide from everyone she loves, but when new boy..."
The Elect
 
4.0
"The story: Seventeen-year-old August is a weapon, a mindless tool of the government of Belstrana, helping to put down..."
Sunshine at the Academy: Book 1 of the Sunshine Series
 
4.5
"I really enjoyed this book. It's a futuristic coming of age novel reminiscent of Harry Potter although no magic is..."
Earthweeds
 
5.0
" I'm not wordy in my reviews, but if you like action, you'll like this one. The Bohai character, the..."
Kronnus 13
 
3.8
"The story: Zak Connors is a twelve-year-old boy who is not long for this world. A terrible virus has..."
Strain of Resistance
 
5.0
"Michelle Bryan creates an original post-apocalyptic read where aliens have invaded. They take over the humans body and suck the..."
Sin (The Tainted Accords: Novella One)
 
5.0
"Since I first read The Tainted Accords series by Kelly St. Clare last year, just after she released Fantasy of..."
Sin (The Tainted Accords: Novella One)
 
5.0
"*Read after The Tainted Accords books* While Sin is quite content to his life of fornicating, fighting, and drinking his..."
Sin (The Tainted Accords: Novella One)
 
5.0
"Kelly St. Clare has done it again! I am a huge fain of the Tainted Accords series and The Retreat!..."
Vinyl
 
4.8
"Vinyl is a true young adult novel that will appeal to fans of dystopia and steampunk. It takes place in..."
Dragon Moon
 
4.6
" I've read all of Ms. Nicholl's books and despite this is her first non-romantic venture, I think it's smashing...."