Review Detail

Paperweight FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 4417
A new kind of ED novel
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

Considering she makes it clear immediately that she doesn’t intend to live through her stay at the treatment facility, Stevie isn’t the sweetest of characters. As the story of her mother abandoning the family, a life-changing car accident, and a college girl named Eden unfolds through flashbacks and journal entries, it’s easy to see how she ended up bulimic with the intent of reaching anorexia and literally starving herself to death. Though not a common denominator in all ED cases, control and the desire to have it over something is often at the core of how people end up anorexic, bulimic, and otherwise ill.

With Paperweight being a standalone, it’s a real possibility Stevie will end up killing herself on her brother’s deathaversary the way she plans to, so you keep turning the pages to see if she survives and find out how she fell so far. The way she slowly changes without realizing and starts to make an effort at saving her own life is a sweet one and would offer hope to ED survivors who feel they can read
it without being triggered. Her therapist Anna is there every step of the way to offer the Right Words or do the Right Thing, as are her new roommates Ashley, Cate, and Teagan. It leaves a good impression of what therapy can do for young adults who are able to get to it, which is all too important to anyone suffering from mental illnesses of any kind.

What Left Me Wanting:

If you’re a reader turned off by the idea of Manic Pixie Dream Girls–quirky, often creative girls who are as opaque as can be and charm the main character with their strangeness; each of John Green’s novels has one and Zooey Deschanel is the patron saint of the trope–then Paperweight may not be the right book for you. Eden, Josh’s girlfriend and the girl Stevie occasionally makes out with, seems to appear in the siblings’ lives solely to charm them both, turn them against one another, and jumpstart the events of the book. We see her only in flashbacks and she gets no real characterization.

Stevie’s therapist Anna is similarly lacking in characterization. All of the cast aside from Stevie is made up of little more than sketches, but Anna’s one-note personality is especially noticeable because of her importance to Stevie’s recovery. She confesses to being a recovering alcoholic, but other than that, she’s practically an angel sent from Heaven itself to help Stevie recover from bulimia and do whatever she has to in order to make that happen. She has the potential to be more than Stevie’s personal savior, but she never reaches it. Editing in the novel was a little loose at times too; though dates and times form the chapter headings for each new chapter, Stevie says one chapter took place a day after the previous one, which had actually happened earlier that same day.

Final Verdict:

Paperweight is about recovery, not disease, and readers tired of watching characters fall down the hole of anorexia or bulimia will be happy about that. The full novel may be a mixed bag, but the power of a novel about healing instead of a novel about getting sick means a lot to readers who only see these disorders in terms of falling down the hole instead of crawling out of it. Certainly a memorable novel that may get its own space on the shelf next to Wintergirls as an iconic eating disorder-related novel.
Good Points
*focused on recovery, not the disease itself
*page-turner
*Stevie is beautifully characterized
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
"Smart, well-paced, and intensely thought provoking. This series is on track to redefine sci-fi expectations for the YA genre. ..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
" This story packs a punch. With spare, powerful prose the author portrays a character growing increasingly angry and isolated..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Obviously, A Monster Calls came to me HIGHLY recommended from friends with great taste. That’s always exciting,..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls has to be the most inventive book I've read. And I find myself struggling to put in..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls is an unflinchingly honest story. It talks about our darkest, innermost secrets and how we leave certain..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"this book is a very good book. If you read it you'll be impressed. This book is featured for everyone..."
A Monster Calls
 
N/A
"I think whoever reads this book will argee with me that is a very mysterious and puzzling read. I..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"It is a very good book"
A Monster Calls
 
4.0
"this story is intresting because it contans strong langwiges like rept,short setes like.As they do. "
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"I loved this book.I didn't think it was my style as im in to Equine books,but this proved me wrong!Its..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"It is a very good book a good plot and as it is baced on a real story of a..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"Amazing book! The author uses a style wchich not alot of authors can use properly! this book should have..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"This book is amazing!"
Teeth
 
4.3
"What I Loved: Moskowitz's writing in Teeth is not of a style that generally appeals to me, but the writing..."
Teeth
 
3.5
" I was drawn to this book because I liked the sound of..."