Review Detail

Modern Monsters Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2365
takes a risky premise and does it right
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
What I Loved:

YA protagonists being extraordinary because they’re the only one that can solve the mystery or they’re a genius or any variety of reasons are par for the course. Vic is not that kind of YA protagonist. He has no hobbies, no specialties in school, no particular sleuthing abilities or otherwise notable talents, and is a bit of an everyguy who doesn’t fit in but manages to get by mostly bullying-free with the help of his popular best friend Brett. His one standout quality is his stutter.

But the part we’re all curious about: his position as the alleged rapist and narrator at the same time. The premise makes it clear he didn’t do it, so that’s out of the way, and in-book, Callie slowly recalls more about what happened the night someone raped her at a party and comes to realize Vic did nothing more than help her upstairs to a bedroom. It may come off as a cop-out to some, but York makes it work in her novel’s favor by making it a piece of Vic’s motivation to get out and do something for once. (The majority of the reason being, of course, that he wants to help this poor, haunted girl find some peace because it may not have happened had he stayed with her. Like many would, he regrets leaving her alone to try and find a friend of hers.)

Since the rape victim herself is a background character of sorts to the admittedly predictable mystery of “who raped Callie?” and the slow-burn romance between Vic and Autumn (Callie’s best friend), readers who want rape myths confronted and the experience of the victim to be front and center may not be good fits for this novel. Despite the narrator not being the victim, Vic’s inner monologue and his conversations with other characters deftly drop hard truths about how we should discuss/treat rape and rape survivors. Nothing is anvilicious, but none of those truths will be easily missed either.

What Left Me Wanting:

The major flaw in Modern Monsters is that Vic is so unremarkable as a narrator that he isn’t able to be a fully developed character. Even the most unremarkable of people have their own quirks, talents, and hobbies. The quiet, blank-slate guy who works down the hall from you? Maybe he loves to do karaoke every week or binge-watches old sitcoms like I Love Lucy. The girl no one remembers from high school may be trying to work up the nerve to try out for a dance competition.

Final Verdict:

Readers who come into this looking for a hard-hitter like I did will likely find themselves in for an even tougher read than they think. All I can say is that the damage of rape is a few degrees closer to each of us than we’d like to think and Vic is no exception. Fans of dark contemporary novels will likely love York’s latest novel and want to check out her backlist. Between my experience with Modern Monsters and some good word one of my friends put in while I was reading, I know I plan to!
Good Points
*does a tough premise really, really well
*good slow-burn romance
*lots of hard truths about how we treat/talk about rape
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."