Review Detail

Naked Featured
Young Adult Fiction 1700
A bit shallow but still very good
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
2.0
What I Loved:

Anna’s voice is pitch perfect from page one. She grew up in a nice household with plenty of money, but her father’s harsh (and possibly related to his Puerto Rican heritage, as the novel implies) discipline over the smallest things turned her into a rebel. Sneaking out, having sex with boys she shouldn’t,… Sounds normal enough for a sixteen- or seventeen-year-old, but she did all that while she was twelve. Twelve-year-olds probably did that both in the past and in the present, but that is still extremely screwed up. No one is ready for sex at twelve or thirteen or fourteen. Ever. We rarely get explicit descriptions of what life with her family was like before she ran away, but we get a good understanding of what motivated her escape. Sure, it seems like a ridiculous overreaction, but we tend to forget what it means to be twelve/thirteen for a good reason. All of us–all of us–were horrible and illogical then.

The deconstruction of her relationship with Luis, the twenty-something pimp who picked her up practically as soon as she arrived in New York and kept her for three years, is without a doubt the strongest element of the novel. Anna keeps a good opinion of him despite the fact he pimped her out and later sold her to another pimp, but as she starts to question exactly what their relationship was, her Stockholm Syndrome comes unraveled. The scenes of her at Luis’s trial are enough to make you tear up in happiness on her behalf.

What Left Me Wanting:

Still, the story comes with a few holes and major sticking points like writing that relies on cliches. Despite it being implied the Rodriguez family is regularly in the community spotlight due to the father’s obsession with their family image, there are no story-hungry journalists–and there are always journalists around for a story like Anna’s. Anna’s love interest Jackson is sweet but far from the kind of person she needs in her life if he thinks being/being called a prostitute is worse than being/being called a murderer or rapist. His remark is hardly intended that way, but it’s very hard to want someone who thinks like this to be in a relationship with a former prostitute who is still trying to pull herself together and come to terms with what she had to do.

Naked‘s approach to sex work/prostitution is also very shallow. There’s no discussion of how the intersections of identity play into who is in sex work (women of color like Anna are about forty percent of prostitutes but fifty-five percent of those arrested/eighty-five percent of those prosecuted) and street prostitution vs. indoors prostitution (parlors, brothels, etc.). Naked has the ability to go much deeper in its analysis of sex work. While Anna rightfully recognizes all acts of sex she engaged in as rape explicitly on multiple occasions in her head (she is a minor, after all), she proceeds to treat her acts as consensual at all other points for the sake of what feels like forced dramatics.

Final Verdict:

Naked is a strong, voice-driven read about one teen’s recovery from her time as a prostitute and a brilliant debut novel from Stacey Trombley. However, search elsewhere for a more nuanced novel involving prostitution. Arguments for its legalization are all over the Internet and could give readers a great deal of food for thought.
Good Points
*perfect voice
*deconstructing Anna's Stockholm Syndrome
*strong story of healing oneself
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."