Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3306
Book Review: Mockingjay
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Visit my blog: http://theroundtheclockperuser.blogspot.com
Good Points
(Warning: Review may contain spoilers!)

Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins is the third and final installment in The Hunger Games trilogy. The book begins with Katniss Everdeen looking at what remains of what once was District Twelve, her home. By the end of Catching Fire, the second book, it is known that Katniss's fellow tributes, as well as Haymitch and the new Head Gamemaker Plutarch Heavensbee, has been planning to pull Katniss out of the Quarter Quell arena and striking up an already burning rebellion. Peeta is captured by the Capitol. District Thirteen actually exists and its citizens have been functioning in an underground facility after all these years. A war against the Capitol is emerging, and Katniss agrees to be the face of the rebellion, to be the Mockingjay.

The plot is just overall genius. Suzanne Collins is one erudite author. The structure is well-constructed and just so full of dynamic scenes that will make you feel as though you have to establish a mighty grip on it before that specific moment passes. Collins has amazed me with Catching Fire . . . Mockingjay is not a disappointment.

One of the couple of things that I really like about this book is Haymitch's character. For the first two books, he has been operating and/or deciding important conclusions while under the influence. Liquor, it seems, is the fuel that keeps the gears of his brain functioning. But in Mockingjay, Haymitch has been deprived due to District Thirteen's strict rules. He's been in the magical land of sobriety for almost the entire book, and I feel like I finally know who he is. He is sarcastic, comical, sharp-witted, and determined to keep Katniss and Peeta alive. He lost his loved ones two weeks after winning his Quarter Quell, and he has not had anyone since, so the aforementioned pair had become his family--his children. I like that I finally understand who Haymitch is sans alcohol.

The other thing that I adore about the book is Prim's cat, Buttercup. I like him because after all that is happening with the rebellion, the cat provides a light element to the book. It is genuinely heartwarming to read about Katniss sort of loosening up whenever the cat's around. She's constantly minding about what is wrong, what is negative, but when Buttercup's around, her brain is wrapped around her hatred for the cat. Her mind is off somewhere else, which yields her the break that she certainly need.

Mockingjay is honestly a hard book for me to read. I had a hard time going through the story--not that it's terrible, it's beyond amazing actually--but it's partly because I'm aware that the trilogy is ending. I know that by the time I reach the last page, that's the end of the story of the star-crossed lovers that I have grown emotionally attached to the past several days. It is a hard read because the book is all about a rebellion. It is emotionally and somewhat psychologically heavy. Mockingjay is a restless book, literally. There is action within every page. It is so fast-paced that I feel like my mind doesn't have any time to catch up with every happenings in the book. It is immensely action-packed that it seems as though you have to have the same level of endurance as the novel in order to successfully fly through it in one sitting.

Notwithstanding all the great things that I like about Collins's book, there is one thing that I did not like: Finnick Odair's death. I did not enjoy how it came so suddenly. Like, Collins wanted to reduce the number of people involved in a scene, so she resolves it by killing off characters.

Overall, Mockingjay is a great wrap-up of The Hunger Games trilogy. It is an intensely suspenseful novel that, as cliché as it sounds, has kept me on the edge of my seat.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...
Reverie
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inception meets The Magicians, except with better wigs and...
Dark Saints Academy: The Soul Catcher
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They call me the Dark Queen… Ryleigh...
Scarred
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
Life leaves you scarred. Love can make you beautiful....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
Twisting Minds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...

Latest Member Reviews

The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."
Jack Kerouac is Dead to Me
 
4.3
"JACK KEROUAC IS DEAD TO ME is Gae Polisner’s most recent YA Contemporary novel. Like in her other books, she..."
Woven in Moonlight
 
5.0
"Woven in Moonlight is a beautiful and lush fantasy, based on the culture and history of Bolivia. It is set..."