Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4442
Book Review: Me and Earl and the Dying Girl
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Visit my blog: http://theroundtheclockperuser.blogspot.com
Good Points
(Warning: Review may contain spoilers!)

It seems to be that Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews is yet another fiction book that contains a girl who has cancer and is on the edge of dying. Well, it doesn't seem to be because it really is.

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is about a high school senior named Greg Gairnes, who has mastered the way high school life works, but is unwilling to present himself in any social environment. He only has one friend, Earl Jackson, who he considers more as a coworker than an actual friend. Together, they spend time making films, mostly remake or parodies of popular films they've watched. But then, due to his mother's sudden interest in rekindling a childhood friendship, Greg is forced to visit Rachel Kushner, who has been diagnosed with acute myelogenous leukemia. They form a platonic bond—their time together consists mostly of Greg's attempts to make her laugh. But when Rachel decides to stop receiving treatment and just wait for the inevitable, Greg and Earl decide to create a movie for her. The film didn't turn out the way the two filmmakers would have wanted it, but it suddenly becomes a turning point in each of their lives.

Here are some things that I like about the book as soon as I began reading it: the narrator's voice. It is candidly humorous, straightforward, and even brutally honest, which makes the book one hilarious read. The chapter titles are absolutely entertaining. I also like the fact that most of the dialogues are written in movie script form, which only reflects Greg as an aspiring filmmaker. It's truly a unique idea that I find highly refreshing and compelling.

Setting aside the above paragraph, my most favorite thing about the book has got to be Earl Jackson. Greg is right: Earl really is a better person than him. Although Earl curses a lot and seems to be lacking some proper manners, at least Earl is aware of what should be appreciated. This is the main reason as to why he is Greg's foil character in the book. Greg has been too self-indulged that he's overlooking the important things around him. He's too engrossed with his films that he's under appreciating Rachel, who is the closest thing Greg can get to a friend. But because he seems to be clouded most of the time, he's actually taking her company for granted. On the other hand, Earl truly cares for Rachel and is frankly appreciative of the little time they get to spend together. He shows her the films he and Greg made together, the ones they promised they wouldn't show a single soul, because he believes that Rachel, who is actually showing genuine interest in their works, deserves to see it.

Another thing that I adore about Earl is that he knows how to handle himself. He's got a bad family, and he knows it—he's aware of how terrible his family is living, but he's willing to pull himself out of it. He even says so himself: "But I gotta take care of my own shit [ . . . ] They got shit to figure out before I can help em. I love my mama, but she has problems that I can't help her with. I love my brothers, but they need to figure they shit out before I can help em. Otherwise they just gonna drag me down." He has grown to be a matured man who knows how to turn his life for the better, no matter if he starts his progress by working at a Wendy's fast food chain.

The last thing that I like about Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is Greg's character development by the end of the book. Although he grew quite too late, I still like how upon seeing Rachel in her hospital bed, possibly close to breathing her last breath, and finally realizing that she can let go any time she chooses, Greg finally understands the importance of really getting to know someone for who they are because you never know when it is going to be too late to do so.

On another note, the only thing that made me cringe about the book is the excessive swearing. It is understandable—since the narrator is a teenage male high school senior, and teenagers are found to be cursing more in today's world—but there are just too much. Too much profanity for my own liking. I mean, if this book is going to have a movie adaptation (which will actually happen), and film critics are rating movies based on the amount of foul language, this book's movie adaptation will undoubtedly be an R-rated film. (But the adaptation is actually rated PG-13.)

If you are looking for a light and fun read and you just want to laugh paragraphs after paragraphs, then yes, Me and Earl and the Dying Girl is the perfect book for you. And if you are someone who doesn't really mind the excessive expletives, then I will also recommend the book. However, on a personal level, I think that the novel is . . . ehhh . . . okay. It's not the greatest, but it's not the most terrible either. It's in its own sweet spot, so to say. You got to be in the mood for it, or this kind of book has to be your sort of thing to be able to actually enjoy the entire story.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."