Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 19053
Book Review: The Hunger Games
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Visit my blog: http://theroundtheclockperuser.blogspot.com
Good Points
(Warning: Review may contain spoilers!)

We all have, at some point, learned or heard about a dystopian world. It is patently the opposite of utopia, where life is all good and in proper order. Dystopia focuses on what becomes of our world when the inhabitants have taken less care of the environment. It is commonly imagined as a place where everything is in a repugnant state and cruel totalitarianism is practiced.

Suzanne Collins's The Hunger Games, which is the first book in The Hunger Games trilogy, is set in a dystopian world called Panem, the post-apocalyptic equivalent of North America. It is a country that consists of an affluent Capitol with surrounding twelve districts—District One being the most prestigious, District Twelve being the least. Back in the days, the thirteenth district sparked up a rebellion against the Capitol that resulted in its own destruction and the creation of the annual Hunger Games, where each district is required to send one boy and one girl to fight to their deaths in live television. It is the Capitol's way of reminding the districts of their power and grace. When sixteen-year-old Katniss Everdeen's little sister, Prim, is randomly drawn to become District Twelve's female tribute for the Games, Katniss volunteers to take her place. Then, alongside District Twelve's male tribute, Peeta Mellark, Katniss is forced into the ever changing arena to fight bigger and stronger tributes from other districts and be the last one standing.

One of the things that I truly admire about The Hunger Games is Katniss's character. For a sixteen-year-old, she is a pretty strong woman who knows how to survive on her own. Years of hunting and providing for her family has sculpted her into this young woman that possesses an impressive vast range of capabilities. She is warmhearted, compassionate, and quick-witted. But what I like the most about Katniss is her keen interest in food. It's really nice to read scenes in the book where the characters are eating their meal, and Katniss will constantly comment about how delicious the food is, how much she's putting on her plate, and so on. Perhaps my most favorite is when she will tear a chunk of roll and she'll dunk it in hot chocolate before she eats it—it is one of the things she learned from observing Peeta.

Katniss and Peeta are like the walking and talking Yin and Yang. I like how they contrast each other's personalities, and yet, they balance one another effectively. Peeta mellows Katniss out, considering that she's the "sullen and hostile" one between the two, while Katniss sharpens Peeta. She encourages him to believe in his own potential, in his own strength, when he doesn't seem to trust in himself.

The other thing that I like about The Hunger Games is the two tributes from District Two: Cato and Clove. There is this one particular scene that I really like solely because of the aforementioned tributes: the scene of the feast. Katniss's face is about to get sliced by one of Clove's sharp knives, but Thresh suddenly appears out of nowhere and grabs Clove off of Katniss. When the reality of Thresh about to slam a rock the size of a loaf of bread against her skull finally settles in, Clove cries out Cato's name in sheer panic. Katniss describes Cato's screams as pained, especially when he apparently spots Clove lifeless on the ground. She witnesses the moment when Cato kneels beside Clove as he begs her to stay with him. Collins may not have emphatically highlighted the two's relationship other than that they are from the same district and are both part of the Careers alliance, but the small interaction between the District Two tributes in that specific scene sort of transmits a message to me that, although they seem menacing and vicious and lethal in the arena, Cato and Clove still somewhat have something soft within them. They have something that makes them human, still.

The book has romance, of course, but it's not much of a bother that it makes you want to change your mind about the story completely.

As far as recommending the book, if you are someone who is really into dystopian worlds and blood and young love in times of life and death, you may want to pick this up—that is if you haven't read it yet. But who hasn't read the book anyway? Ever since the movie came out, the books have hit the shelves like a raging storm.

Overall, I really like the inclusive concept of The Hunger Games. I personally thought that it is a very fast read jam-packed with enthralling happenings, and I absolutely enjoyed it . . . even the second time around. (Yes, I reread the book. I purchased the box set, and I thought that if I really want to engage in the world of Katniss Everdeen, then I might as well read the first book again.)
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Twin
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...
Two Worlds of Redemption (Two Worlds, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Finally presented to the Allinan public, Maray’s life at court...
Two Worlds of Oblivion (Two Worlds, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The blood that holds the power to change the fate...
Two Worlds of Provenance (Two Worlds, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Her fate lies just one world away… ...

Latest Member Reviews

Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."