Review Detail

Life Unaware Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2082
Raw and Full of Hope
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This book caught me unaware (no pun intended), which is one of the reasons I highly recommend picking up a copy for yourself. When Regan Flay is exposed by someone at her school for writing nasty messages about most of her school’s population, she goes from popular girl to an untouchable in a matter of seconds. With a beginning premise that reminded me of the plot to Mean Girls, I wasn’t sure how original Gibsen’s story would be. As Regan Flay loses everything - her friends, her cool (to put it lightly), and her good standing - we begin to see past the manipulation and into the daily struggles of a girl living with an anxiety disorder.

As with any invisible illness, sometimes the easiest thing to do is hide. Regan has become a master of hiding her true self, (thanks to her mom’s polished advice from years of being a congresswoman), and so far it’s worked out well for everyone. Everyone that is except for the people Regan’s words have hurt. On top of her early demise, Regan’s anxiety medication helps, but she recognizes herself becoming more dependent as her panic attacks worsen. When her best friend’s older brother (and social pariah) Nolan, starts to befriend her, Regan wonders if she really could find freedom in being herself. Only problem is, she doesn’t know who that real Regan is.

This book was equal parts delightful and heartbreaking. I particularly enjoyed how none of the characters shied away from openly,(even if not at first), discussing addictions and invisible illnesses. The entire book touched on various struggles, never making one appear worse than the other, but acknowledging that sometimes what we see on the surface isn’t the entire story. While Regan battled her own demons, she found herself experiencing freedom through being open about her anxiety disorder.

As Regan learns how to be herself, she also begins to learn more about her contribution to the bullying problem at her high school. I really loved how Regan’s realization that she had been a bully helped her resolve to build up those she had hurt. Rather than wallow in her guilt, she takes initiative and shows real courage by standing up for others, and standing up for herself. I think that this message is so important to share with readers, especially in a way that isn’t overbearing or preachy. Life Unaware allowed me to observe this faction of high school while contemplating what I can do to improve my own sphere of influence.

I typically don’t enjoy love stories in contemporary fiction, but experiencing Regan’s first love as she simultaneously battles a disorder was refreshing and tender. Like so many of us, our lives are not made up of one experience, illness, or emotion - we’re complex and multifaceted. Unlike some contemporary romances, Life Unaware was able to capture the rush of falling in love without pushing some very serious issues to the back burner. Each story thread held its own, and both Regan’s struggles and joys were treated fairly throughout.

One thing I would have liked was a less predictable beginning. I was hoping that Regan’s accusers would have been a little more creative, and ultimately the first few chapters felt too similar to Mean Girls. I would have loved to see more originality on the high school popular girl trope, and in doing so, highlight the unique supporting cast of Regan’s band of friends. Overall, the story did eventually take on a life of its own, making the last half of the book my favorite contemporary read this year.

Life Unaware is a perfect fit for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr. This book takes readers through the highs and lows of high school, serving as a reminder of how kind words hold more power than we realize, and that life is precious and worth fighting for.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Izzy Gizmo and the Invention Convention
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this companion to the award-winning Izzy Gizmo, Izzy Gizmo...
The Welcome Wagon
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Cubby Hill, someone new is someone to celebrate!In a...
Once Upon a Crime: Batman Tales
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Gotham City is filled with stories--of heroes and of villains,...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With Joanie Stone's colorful illustrations and Allison Crotzer Kimmel's inspirational...
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
The high price of perfection is one 'Perfect' Parker Fadley...
Finder, Coal Mine Dog
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
An action-packed and heartwarming story of a dog in the...
Bo the Brave
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A feisty little girl learns who the real monsters are...
Double Trouble!
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Mischief is multiplied when twins are around! ...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to the...
The Derby Daredevils: Kenzie Kickstarts a Team: (The Derby Daredevils Book #1)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Ever since they can remember, fifth-graders Kenzie (aka Kenzilla) and...
Nina Soni, Former Best Friend
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first title in a new series featuring a lovable,...
Nina Soni: Sister Fixer
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The second title in a humorous series featuring a charming,...
The Alchemist's Shadow (Watch Hollow #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Having defeated the Garr, a vicious tree monster who lived...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of The...
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Helen Keller was a baby, she became sick and...
King and Kayla and the Case of the Unhappy Neighbor
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lovable dog helps his human girl solve a mystery....

Latest Member Reviews

Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
4.0
"The fallout and protests following police choking George Floyd to death in Minnesota has consumed social media for the last..."
when you were everything
 
4.3
"WHEN YOU WERE EVERYTHING by Ashley Woodfolk is a YA Contemporary novel told in two timelines, “then” and “now.” The..."
Path of Night (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #3)
 
5.0
"PATH OF NIGHT is another great installment of the books based on the Netflix show, CHILLING ADVENTURES OF SABRINA. This..."
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
"UNRAVEL THE DUSK is an enchanting sequel and finale to a unique YA fantasy. Maia is a tailor who dreamed..."
Sisters of Sword and Song
 
4.3
"SISTERS OF SWORD AND SONG is an enchanting and lush YA fantasy. The story follows two sisters, Halcyon and Evadne,..."
Straight On Till Morning: A Twisted Tale #8
 
3.7
"Straight on Till Morning is part of “A Twisted Tale” series, a multi author series of fairytale retellings created by..."
Faith Taking Flight
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Faith Herbert has a secret. She can fly. When she runs into her fangirl crush Dakota, star of the..."
Honor Bound (The Honors, #2)
 
5.0
"HONOR BOUND is an electrifying and thrilling YA sci-fi sequel. Zara, Beatriz, and Nadim are on the run from an..."
Honor Among Thieves (The Honors, #1)
 
4.7
"HONOR AMONG THIEVES is an engaging YA sci-fi that takes place in a world where humanity has been introduced to..."