Review Detail

Life Unaware Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2264
Raw and Full of Hope
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
This book caught me unaware (no pun intended), which is one of the reasons I highly recommend picking up a copy for yourself. When Regan Flay is exposed by someone at her school for writing nasty messages about most of her school’s population, she goes from popular girl to an untouchable in a matter of seconds. With a beginning premise that reminded me of the plot to Mean Girls, I wasn’t sure how original Gibsen’s story would be. As Regan Flay loses everything - her friends, her cool (to put it lightly), and her good standing - we begin to see past the manipulation and into the daily struggles of a girl living with an anxiety disorder.

As with any invisible illness, sometimes the easiest thing to do is hide. Regan has become a master of hiding her true self, (thanks to her mom’s polished advice from years of being a congresswoman), and so far it’s worked out well for everyone. Everyone that is except for the people Regan’s words have hurt. On top of her early demise, Regan’s anxiety medication helps, but she recognizes herself becoming more dependent as her panic attacks worsen. When her best friend’s older brother (and social pariah) Nolan, starts to befriend her, Regan wonders if she really could find freedom in being herself. Only problem is, she doesn’t know who that real Regan is.

This book was equal parts delightful and heartbreaking. I particularly enjoyed how none of the characters shied away from openly,(even if not at first), discussing addictions and invisible illnesses. The entire book touched on various struggles, never making one appear worse than the other, but acknowledging that sometimes what we see on the surface isn’t the entire story. While Regan battled her own demons, she found herself experiencing freedom through being open about her anxiety disorder.

As Regan learns how to be herself, she also begins to learn more about her contribution to the bullying problem at her high school. I really loved how Regan’s realization that she had been a bully helped her resolve to build up those she had hurt. Rather than wallow in her guilt, she takes initiative and shows real courage by standing up for others, and standing up for herself. I think that this message is so important to share with readers, especially in a way that isn’t overbearing or preachy. Life Unaware allowed me to observe this faction of high school while contemplating what I can do to improve my own sphere of influence.

I typically don’t enjoy love stories in contemporary fiction, but experiencing Regan’s first love as she simultaneously battles a disorder was refreshing and tender. Like so many of us, our lives are not made up of one experience, illness, or emotion - we’re complex and multifaceted. Unlike some contemporary romances, Life Unaware was able to capture the rush of falling in love without pushing some very serious issues to the back burner. Each story thread held its own, and both Regan’s struggles and joys were treated fairly throughout.

One thing I would have liked was a less predictable beginning. I was hoping that Regan’s accusers would have been a little more creative, and ultimately the first few chapters felt too similar to Mean Girls. I would have loved to see more originality on the high school popular girl trope, and in doing so, highlight the unique supporting cast of Regan’s band of friends. Overall, the story did eventually take on a life of its own, making the last half of the book my favorite contemporary read this year.

Life Unaware is a perfect fit for fans of Laurie Halse Anderson and Sara Zarr. This book takes readers through the highs and lows of high school, serving as a reminder of how kind words hold more power than we realize, and that life is precious and worth fighting for.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

If Only...
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bestselling author-illustrator Mies van Hout employs vivid creatures in a...
Like a Giant
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautiful story about imagination and taking your time to...
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Averiguemos con quâe juguetes juegan Rosa y sus amigos hoy!...
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
See a duck take to the water of friendship in...
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Little Llama, who is about to make a very...
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A picture book meditation on curiosity, wonder, and finding one’s...
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
A soothing bedtime board book from the creators of In...
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Rocker Chick overcomes stage fright to find her voice in...
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Read along and join Bluey's latest adventure! ...
All About Bluey
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Bluey! This lovable and imaginative Blue Heeler puppy is...
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
THE INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The critically...
Jonathan: Prince of Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still recovering from the tragic loss of his mother, typical...
Missing the Beat
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dream job? Check. The best friends? Check....
Meeting the Star
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The spotless reputation? Check. The gorgeous movie star?...
Making the Play
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The school of her dreams? Check. The perfect...
Runaway : Immortals of Indriell
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
They claim her mother died a hero. They...

Latest Member Reviews

If Only...
 
4.0
"IF ONLY... is an intriguing picture book that ultimately encourages readers to be happy with who they are. The book..."
Like a Giant
 
4.0
"LIKE A GIANT is an intriguing picture book about imagination and play. A young child is approached by a giant,..."
A Rosa Le Encantan Los Carros/Rosa Loves Cars
 
4.5
"A ROSA LE ENCANTAN LOS CARROS/ROSA LOVES CAR is a delightful, bilingual board book about toy cars. Rosa and her..."
The Duck Who Didn't Like Water
 
5.0
"THE DUCK WHO DIDN'T LIKE WATER is a delightful picture book about friendship and kindness. Duck is not a fan..."
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
3.7
"CURSE OF THE SPECTER QUEEN was an intriguing YA historical fiction with code-breaking, good friends, and imminent danger. Sam works..."
Forest of the Fae (The Balloonist Chronicles Book 2)
 
5.0
"Such a fascinating series. The Story: Once again, we're following two different stories, that..."
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
4.5
"This book took me a bit longer to get into than the other ones. I think I was having a..."
All Last Summer
 
5.0
" A refreshing and sweet story. The story: Lila is trying to..."
The Sky Above Us
 
3.7
"What worked: Unique coming-of-age story that tackles grief and tragedy. Told through the eyes of six teens, this story starts..."
Goodnight, Little Llama
 
4.0
"GOODNIGHT, LITTLE LLAMA is a charming picture book story about friendship. Little Llama lives with her herd high in the..."
The Boy and the Sea
 
5.0
"THE BOY AND THE SEA is a beautiful story about growing up, dreaming, and peace. The boy brings his questions..."
In Your Cozy Bed
 
3.5
"IN YOUR BED is a cute board book containing a poem about bedtime. The book captures elements of bedtime, such..."
Chicks Rock!
 
5.0
"CHICKS ROCK! is a fun picture book about friendship, reaching for your dreams, and embracing your strengths. Rocker Chick loves..."
The Beach (Bluey)
 
4.5
"BLUEY: THE BEACH is a charming picture book about bravery and adventure. Bluey is excited to be at the beach..."
All About Bluey
 
4.0
"ALL ABOUT BLUEY is a cute board book that introduces the character and some simple facts about her. Whether..."
Instructions for Dancing
 
5.0
"INSTRUCTIONS FOR DANCING is an engaging YA contemporary about romance, family, and coming of age. Evie stopped believing in love..."
The Tragedy of Dane Riley
 
4.3
"THE TRAGEDY OF DANE RILEY is a compelling YA contemporary read about family, grief, depression, and mental illness. Dane is..."
The Shadow War
 
3.3
"What worked: Intriguing mix of Sci-fi with historical set during WWII. There is a lot going on in this engaging..."
Even and Odd
 
5.0
"Even and Odd are sisters born a year apart who share their magical power. Odd isn't thrilled with hers, and..."
Kneel
 
5.0
"Russell and his friend Marion live in Louisiana, and hope to use their skills at football to work their way..."