Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1588
Truth or Dare
(Updated: May 31, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Bill Konigsberg’s new novel THE PORCUPINE OF TRUTH, is the meeting point between all the heart and sentiment David Leviathan has to offer and the crazy fun road trip featured in Libba Bray’s GOING BOVINE. This book is filled with humor, sadness, and truth. Beyond all else, the words are true. The tiny porcupine on the cover dares readers NOT to smile and enjoy this contemporary story of discovery, belief, forgiveness, and friendship.

We’re introduced to Carson Smith, a seventeen year old who’s been transplanted from the busy streets of NYC to the sleepy town of Billings, Montana. With a dying father he hasn’t seen in years, Carson is forced to come face to face with his past and the possibilities for his future. Because Carson’s grandfather left his dad in much the same he’s been abandoned most of his life. Though clouded in humor and hilarious sarcasm, Carson’s feelings are real and true.

The story is made even better when Carson meets his first best friend, Aisha. Together they take a road trip with the Porcupine of Truth as their mascot and the pain of their pasts between them. But it’s not as if that is the only thing to carry the reader through this story. Facing the mystery of his grandfather’s disappearance, Carson is forced to face what it means to truly forgive and have faith. Even if it’s not in “the Jesus.” Crossing the country in a Neon with tunes and time to tie them together, Carson and Aisha realize that the even the most mundane moments can mean something.

What begins as a comical meet and greet at a zoo, into an instantaneous crush, to an amazing friendship built on trust and understanding, is the summer that Carson Smith never imagined when he left his world behind. Bill Konigsberg brings a cast of flawed and damaged people trying to put the pieces of their lives back together without always knowing it. And he does so in a way that never feels forced but rather, it’s filled with beautiful characterization and descriptions of life in all of its confusing, confounding, utterly amazing, truthfulness.

Bringing attention to what it feels like on the “outside,” of life, Koenigsberg brings us a diverse book that is filled with issues important to our world such as stereotypes, racism, inequality, AIDS, alcoholism, and what it means to be young and different. Carson embraces the LGBTQ community and finds sanctuary with a best friend, and a strangers that become family along the way.

For readers of contemporary realistic fiction that want a story filled with fun, laughter, and life’s most endearing moments, I dare you to pick up your copy of THE PORCUPINE OF TRUTH today.



Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Instant Karma
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
In New York Times bestselling author Marissa Meyer's young adult...
Put Yourself in My Shoes
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Cricket goes for a walk, he finds Ladybug searching...
Selma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Selma is asked: What is happiness? ...
Benjamin's Blue Feet
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young bird with a flair for discovery and invention...
Pocket Piggies: I Love You!
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
What’s the best thing in the world? I...
Everything Under the Sun
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sun’s Reach is in dire peril. The last...
Lizzy Albright and the Attic Window
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lizzy Albright, a red-headed, freckle-faced girl from Overland Park, Kansas,...
Send Me Their Souls (Bring Me Their Hearts, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
There are worse things than death. ...
The Walrus and the Caribou
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
When the earth was new, words had the power to...
The Elephant's Umbrella
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Elephant is always ready and willing to share her prized...
Calvin Gets the Last Word
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The dictionary as narrator? YES! ...
Goblin King (Permafrost, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Kara Barbieri's Goblin King, the stunning sequel in the...
Hollowpox: The Hunt for Morrigan Crow (Nevermoor, #3)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Morrigan battles a new evil as a strange, frightening illness...
The Gilded Wolves (The Gilded Wolves, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
*AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER* From New York...
Earth-Shattering Events: Volcanoes, earthquakes, cyclones, tsunamis and other natural disasters
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
An atlas of the most extreme meteorological and geological disasters...
Among the Beasts and Briars
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Ashley Poston, acclaimed author of Heart of Iron, returns...

Latest Member Reviews

The Mirror: Broken Wish (The Mirror, #1)
 
5.0
"BROKEN WISH is a beautifully composed fairytale. The book begins with the story of Mathilda and Agnes, neighbors who have..."
The Glass Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #2)
 
5.0
"THE GLASS QUEEN is an intense and fantastically written fairytale retelling of Cinderella. In the kingdom of Enchantia, fairytales are..."
Conceal, Don't Feel (Twisted Tales, #7)
 
5.0
"If you adored FROZEN, you need to get your hands on this Twisted Tale which reimagines the story if Anna..."
The Surface Breaks: A Reimagining of The Little Mermaid
 
4.3
"THE SURFACE BREAKS is a slow-building retelling of The Little Mermaid. While staying true to the classic, this story adds..."
The Evil Queen (The Forest of Good and Evil, #1)
 
4.7
"If you love a snarky heroine, surprise twists and turns, and a fairytale-themed plot, THE EVIL QUEEN is designed to..."
The Shadow Queen
 
4.0
""The Shadow Queen" is a fantastic retelling of Snow White. Lorelai is a young princess when her mother does and..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.0
""The Wish Granter" is a YA fantasy set in a fairy tale world. Ari and Thad are the illegitimate children..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.3
"This is the retelling of Rumpelstiltskin. The second installment was evidently better than the first. It had better character(s), writing..."
The Shadow Queen
 
3.3
"This is the retelling of Snow White. A story about a young girl is on a quest to reclaim her..."
Ink
Ink
 
3.3
"Sixteen-year-old Leora's dad is dying, but Leora and her mom, Sophie, take comfort in the fact that he'll live on..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
5.0
"It’s become quite clear that I will read anything Katherine Arden writes. Her debut The Bear and the Nightingale was..."
The Girl in the Tower
 
4.7
"This follow up to The Bear and the Nightingale is just as stunning as its predecessor. We met Vasya as..."
The Bear and the Nightingale (The Bear and the Nightingale, #1)
 
4.7
"The Bear and the Nightingale is a fantasy book you will never forget, it’s a fantastic mix of Russian folklore,..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
4.3
"An uncommon fairytale retelling, with an equally uncommon heroine—ideal for fans of Once Upon A Time. While tied..."
The Wish Granter (Ravenspire #2)
 
5.0
"As THE WISH GRANTER begins, the King of Sundraille’s illegitimate children, Thaddeus and Arianna, are trying to escape being murdered..."
Queen of Hearts
 
4.3
KimKim
"Imaginative and vivid, The Queen of Hearts is the first book in Colleen Oakes' Queen of Hearts series which is..."
Queen of Hearts
 
4.3
" Take a journey into Wonderland; its whimsical, a little bit crazy, a tad bit dark. But what else would..."
The Huntress of Thornbeck Forest (A Medieval Fairy Tale)
 
4.3
"A sweet coming-of-age historical romance--featuring a dangerously bold heroine and a hero who is bound by duty is to bring..."
The Golden Braid
 
4.0
"A sweet YA/NA crossover romance appealing to all ages, with strong themes of courage and fortitude in the face of..."
The Shadow Queen
 
4.7
"In the Kingdom of Ravenspire, Lorelei is the crown princess and a fugitive ever since Queen Irina murdered her father..."