Review Detail

Jesse's Girl Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2754
Music + Romance
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
YA Contemporary, JESSE'S GIRL is perfect as a standalone. The title of the book totally reminds me of a song I frequently hear on the radio. "Jessie's Girl" by Rick Springfield. Although there is a difference between Jessie and Jesse, I can't help but be intrigued by the similarity. Anyway, JESSE'S GIRL contains spoilers to Miranda Kenneally's other Hundred Oaks book, CATCHING JORDAN. For those readers who already read CATCHING JORDAN, then consider this book containing information to Jordan's Happily Ever After. (Minor spoiler: Happily Ever After is perfect.)

Jesse Scott is a musician. He is the love interest for Maya, and he has a lots of layers. Maya slowly starts peeling each sassy (and a forward, in a truthful way) layer until she finds the real Jesse Scott. Let me tell you. This guy has some serious dialogue and golden moments. He is a great and adorable character, third to only two characters. Those two people? Sam and Maya. He is followed by Jordon herself.

Maya is also a musician. She doesn't sing country (as frequently as Jesse), but she does get some of her motivation from his songs. A complicated character herself, she is timid though Jesse sets off all the wrong buttons (or the right ones???). She has some wonderful and powerful character development, and I absolutely love how she breaks out of her own skin. Jesse is definitely good for her, but it is her who takes the final steps forward.

The chemistry between these two lovebirds is amazing. It is scorching, in fact (8 on the level of 1 to 10). Part of me wishes they will make out already, and another part ships them hard. Jesse and Maya have their flaws, but somehow, that makes them even more perfect for each other.

The plot goes by zooming fast. There are appearances of a motorcycle and an exceptionally fast car (though I can't remember the brand). It is very straightforward, and I'd forgotten how well Miranda Kenneally writes. She easily lets me sink in, and I love how quick and understandable JESSE'S GIRL is. She manages to combine Jordan's story with Maya's story.

Overall, JESSE'S GIRL is a fun and witty, romance novel with hilarious pieces of dialogue and a swoonworthy guy. Maya is an excellent character, who may be timid at first but slowly gets underneath the reader's skin. This is perfect for fans of CATCHING JORDAN and for readers who simply love the combo of music and romance. (Last note: I love how Kenneally uses song titles as chapter titles. Perfect.)

Rating: Five out of Five

Source: NetGalley
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I learned a lot about parkour and also Islam from this book. I appreciate a book that focuses around a..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"Adventure, sport, romance and cross-cultural understanding"
Pawns (The Wielders of Arantha)
 
5.0
"Pawns by Patrick Hodges is the first book in the Wielders of Arantha series. Complex and creative don’t begin to..."
The Fractured Empire
 
5.0
"I don’t know where to start! The Fractured Empire by Robin D. Mahle is the first in the World Apart..."
Hunter's Truce
 
4.0
"I love retellings--it's kind of my thing--and this was a new one for me. I haven't read a Three Little..."
Below The Moon
 
4.0
"This book is not like anything else I have ever read and I thought it was great!!! you will need..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
OverRun (The OverRuled Series, book 2)
 
4.0
"A great sequel! The Story: The book picks up right where Over Ruled left off. Jade is the new..."
Twisted Saga Collection 1
 
4.0
"Cassie, Marley, Tyler and Eve were great characters with well developed backstories. I enjoyed the story, it did..."
Utopia
 
3.5
"What I Liked Dystopian is one of the most expensive genres out there. There is a multitude of things one..."
When Darkness Falls
 
3.8
"The story: When seventeen-year-old Austen finds her dad’s car on the side of the car with a dead women inside..."
Dragon's Awakening
 
4.0
"When Kaylee goes on a date and the guy tries to make a move on her, she accidentally calls on..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"Format: Paperback As a mother of three young children it is very hard to find time to read. This is..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"I loved it! I'm so delighted to have gotten to read the 2nd book in this series! If you love..."
The Fontre (Chronicles of Lashai Book 2)
 
5.0
"I was hooked from the beginning and it had my attention all the way through. Great book! "
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"I love the budding love story mixed in with the evil that is happening around them, it gives the readers..."
The Namarielle (Chronicles of Lashai Book 1)
 
5.0
"The Namarielle is the perfect addition to any fantasy novel collection. The world is so well imagined in the little..."