Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3169
An engaging plot and excellent tension make this perfect for mystery lovers
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Edge of Nowhere by Elizabeth George follows young Becca King, a girl who can hear thoughts of others as she hides from her murderous stepfather on Whidbey Island. The mind reading paranormal element is interesting, and the author does a wonderful job of mixing teen angst and uncertainty alongside such a power. Becca is a well-rounded protagonist whose voice and actions, shown through third person narration, fits her age and situation perfectly. She is still growing into herself while she faces dangerous situations none would envy. Her gradual attempts in learning to trust people are endearing and will clearly lead to further character development as this series continues.

Surrounding Becca are extremely well done secondary characters. Though Derric doesn’t receive as much dialogue as other characters, he is nicely set up with an ideal amount of intrigue. Seth, Hayley, and Jenn all are distinctive and complex in their own right, and the mysteries behind each of their secrets will keep readers turning the pages well into the night. Seth’s grandfather, Ralph, offers several chances for a smile or two during the heat of the mysteries.

What shines in this novel is the plot. Twists, turns, and jaw-dropping surprises frequent the chapters. The mystery behind the island accident leaves most questions answered, while other mysteries are left in suspense for more books. The tension throughout the story is gripping and engaging, something mystery and suspense fans will greatly appreciate.

As much as I enjoyed the characters and plot, some areas of the writing feel weak. The dialogue comes across as a bit awkward and stiff at times, though the shifts in character focuses are handled well. The writing in the beginning doesn’t seem to match the flow of the second half, but the plot is definitely engaging enough to keep the reader invested.

Fans of Lauren Oliver’s Vanishing Girls and James Patterson’s Confessions of a Murder Suspect series will find an exciting and engaging plot with complex characters in The Edge of Nowhere. The minor paranormal elements offer a refreshing twist for readers who like their suspense and mystery with a little something extra.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

All Kinds of Other
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
In this tender, nuanced coming-of-age love story, two boys—one who...
Take Me Home: Waters of the World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Bite-sized facts about bodies of water from around the globe,...
This Is My America
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Hate U Give meets Just Mercy in this unflinching...
Colors in Nature
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Magnificent, hand-painted illustrations by a rising star of Czech watercolor...
Welcome to Arizona
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Welcome to Arizona! We're glad you're here! Introducing a new...
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
It's Mouse's first day of school. It's Dinosaur's first day...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved Bangladeshi...
There's No Ham in Hamburgers: Facts and Folklore About Our Favorite Foods
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
From hot dogs and hamburgers to ice cream and pizza,...
The Light of Days Young Readers’ Edition: The Untold Story of Women Resistance Fighters in Hitler's Ghettos
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
As their communities were being destroyed, groups of Jewish women...
In Deeper Waters
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A young prince must rely on a mysterious stranger to...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Outer Space
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Blast off into outer space with this mess-free sticker craft!...
These Feathered Flames (These Feathered Flames, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When twin heirs are born in Tourin, their fates are...
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Mischievous Ntombi is not at all afraid of the fearsome...
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Brave young Pedro faces monsters and greedy guards when he...
What Beauty There Is
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
What Beauty There Is is Cory Anderson's stunning YA...
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This original board book series, which begins with America's favorite...

Latest Member Reviews

The Grace Year
 
5.0
"It’s been one week since I finished The Grace Year by Kim Liggett as I sit down to start this..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"THE HANDMAID'S TALE meets LORD OF THE FLIES in this dark, atmospheric, and sweeping YA dystopian. Tierney James is 16-years-old,..."
The Grace Year
 
5.0
"What worked: Just wowza. This is one intense, haunting tale of girls that are banished on their sixteenth year to..."
The Last Harvest
 
5.0
"I have always been a big fan of the horror genre. While I tend to be the type that hides..."
Blood and Salt
 
5.0
""When you fall in love, you will carve out your heart and throw it into the deepest ocean. You..."
Blood and Salt
 
4.3
"I'm a huge fan of YA horror novels and wow, just, wow on BLOOD AND SALT. This is one..."
Blood and Salt
 
3.7
"MY THOUGHTS I have an odd fondness to creep factor in books, so when I realized that this was..."