Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1354
Dark, painful, and well-written
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

Tera seems a highly unlikable narrator at first, but it’s part of her charm as well as a major facet of her character. We’ve all heard of the mama’s boys and daddy’s girls and Tera is a daddy’s girl if there has ever been one. When everyone else abandons her father after he’s arrested for possession of child pornography, she stands by him and sacrifices her education for his sake. She’s a brilliantly written unreliable narrator whose choices throughout the novel are understandable even as you want to scream some sense into her brain before she loses everything.

Maysonet nails the kind of gaslighting and manipulation that makes child pornographers like Tera’s father so successful and give them the ability to carry on harming children for years. He’s spent years desensitizing Tera to nudity in the name of “art” and drilling into her head that her mother–who objects to him making Tera pose naked for “reference photos” and making her draw nude pictures and models in general–is nothing but crazy. Anything her mom does after that gets dismissed because she’s “crazy” when she’s the only person with any sense. It’s especially bad at the beginning and Tera has a long, long way to go to see what he’s done to her and reclaim her art from what he’s tainted it with. One scene toward the end when she learns the depth of her father’s crimes will stick with you forever.

This is no romance if you’re looking for Tera finding comfort in Joey. As can often happens in abusive families, the abused children grow up and acquire abusive spouses. None of them do it on purpose; years of living in that situation has conditioned them in all the wrong ways. A Work of Art is about one thing and one thing only: Tera healing herself. She isn’t quite there by the last page, but she’s certainly on the way to escaping the control her father had over her for years.

What Left Me Wanting More:

Maybe Tera’s mother already tried to get through to her daughter before the events of the novel and gave up on her, but the way she never tries to sit Tera down and explain what she knows/what she found on her father’s computer seems strange. It’s believable, yes, but an acknowledgement that her mother tried to get through to her at one point in the past would have helped me understand her mother a little more. That this story is about a middle class/upper-middle class white family makes it a bit weaker too, as statistics show other groups are more vulnerable to child sexual abuse and yet get less attention. I’m always going to cheer for diversity in YA that will represent the full gamut of readers, but this is one novel where greater diversity would have made the story’s point even more powerful.

Final Verdict:

Fans of Little Peach and Living Dead Girl will love A Work of Art in the same strange ways we all love dark, painful novels. Whatever Melody Maysonet wants to write next, I’m in. She’s an author I can trust to make me hurt while I read and open my eyes a little more to the world around me.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
May 09, 2015
Thanks for your insightful review, Ashleigh. It sounds like I hit the mark for dark, painful, and powerful (Yay!)... and you've given me something else to shoot for in my next novel.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two friends in the 1980's were graduating from Cosmetology School....
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
How can you trust your heart when you can't trust...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Life happens, whether you’re ready or not. All you can...
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author Sue Macy offers a fresh and timely account...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
OUTLANDER meets Robin Hood. Traveling through time...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He’s alone He’s tattooed He’s badly burnt ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A cursed dragon hunter A half-blood mage...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
If genetic engineering could guarantee you and your family perfect...
Slayer (Slayer, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Into every generation a Slayer is born… ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Starting a new school is never easy and this time...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. ...
Dealing in Dreams
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Outsiders meets Mad Max: Fury Road in this fast-paced...
Girls With Sharp Sticks (Girls With Sharp Sticks, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Some of the prettiest flowers have the sharpest thorns. ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Young Trib follows orders and fights. The Puritanics are...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can one mortal take on all of Faerieland? ...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Four tests. Seven days. Nine teens. ...

Latest Member Reviews

Rogue (Talon #2)
 
4.3
"More dragons, what more could you want? Julie has done it again, not only has she written another fantastic..."
Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1)
 
5.0
"SHADOW OF THE FOX alternates POV between a half-kitsune named Yumeko and a samurai named Kage Tatsumi. After watching a..."
Shadow of the Fox (Shadow of the Fox #1)
 
5.0
"Julie Kagawa NEVER disappoints. As a fan who has been following her writing since The Iron Fey series came out,..."
The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)
 
5.0
" absolutely LOVED this book!! The scene with Meghan's little brother was so creepy I had to check..."
Talon (The Talon Saga #1)
 
4.0
"I hadn't read any of her works but I was intrigued by this. Dragons are cool no matter what but,..."
The Iron Daughter (The Iron Fey #2)
 
5.0
"This books takes place after Meghan is in the Unseelie Court. It does go through her mind and shows Ash..."
Soldier (Talon #3)
 
5.0
"I have loved this series since the beginning but I just knew Soldier was going to be a little different..."
Soldier (Talon #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: I have found myself completely invested in the world that Julie has created and the characters..."
The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)
 
4.7
"I have read the whole trilogy in a week. I really enjoyed the book, and will probably read this book..."
The Iron Warrior (The Iron Fey: Call of the Forgotten #3)
 
4.3
"After a nerve wrecking CLIFF HANGER, I finally got a hang of The Iron Warrior. So thanks Siena Koncsol from..."
The Iron King (The Iron Fey #1)
 
4.7
"Meghan Chase is just like any normal teenage girl, though she is picked and/or ignored by her classmates, she has..."
Rogue (Talon #2)
 
4.3
"Rogue starts off where Talon left us: yearning for more dragons, St. George soldiers and Talor assassins. Ember left with..."
Talon (The Talon Saga #1)
 
4.7
"Julie Kagawa has always been one of my favorite authors. After reading The Iron Fey series (and the spin-offs), I..."
Talon (The Talon Saga #1)
 
3.3
"MY THOUGHTS Sigh. I'm very disappointed in this book. I've given every Julie Kagawa book 5 stars. Her..."
Talon (The Talon Saga #1)
 
4.3
"First of all let me just say that I would read anything Julie Kagawa writes. I mean anything. ..."
The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)
 
4.7
"Allison, Jackal, and Kanin are on the trail of Sarren in hopes of finding and defeating him before he unleashes..."
The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)
 
5.0
"I loved this book SO much! I wonderful conclusion to a wonderful trilogy! Julie Kagawa has amazed me yet again!..."
The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)
 
4.3
"This YA dystopian vampire/near-horror tale blends many familiar elements that fans of Blade and Blood The Last Vampire will appreciate,..."
The Forever Song (Blood of Eden #3)
 
5.0
"I'm a HUGE Julie Kagawa fan. I adore her Iron Fairy series, and I was completely hooked on the..."
The Immortal Rules (Blood of Eden #1)
 
4.7
"I LOVE THIS BOOK I LOVE JULIE KAGAWA Allison's story is amazing, and in that world, is completely plausible. This..."