Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1296
Have Your Cake and Eat It, Too
(Updated: May 09, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Latifah Salom’s novel, THE CAKE HOUSE, is just as delectable as the title suggests. That's not to say that this novel is purely a sugary sweet read. Salom’s debut is a veritable mixture of mystery, ghost-story, and coming of age.

From the beginning, the reader is ushered into the “Cake House,” a vast pick structure in the hills of Los Angeles, through secrecy. Rosaura Douglas’s father has just committed suicide and now, she finds herself trapped with a new stepfather and stepbrother in the house where her father perished at his own hand.

But did he really commit suicide?

As Rosaura begins to see her father’s ghost, this is something she must discover. Yet, through each interaction, it is not so much an unraveling of Rosaura’s mind that is presented. This never feels like a story told from an unreliable narrator. Quite the contrary. I trusted Rosaura and her story completely. She is a narrator on the cusp of discovering what it means to grow up and she must do so quickly as she tries to reconcile her life before and after the Cake House.

Latifah Salom breathes life into the halls of Rosaura’s new home and it becomes a type of character throughout the rest of the story. Hidden in its gardens and walls are secrets that Rosaura and the reader must discover together. Her father’s ghost warns against her new stepfather, Claude, while making her live through his own memories. The narrative weaves through stories from the past all while taking Rosaura through love, high school, and everything else that comes with a coming of age story.

Much as the best books do, THE CAKE HOUSE complicates Rosaura’s life in more ways than one. Once poor, Rosaura has to learn to accept Claude’s wealth and control over her life. She has to navigate burgeoning love with her responsibilities to her new family and her old life. All of this is presented with an unflinching attention to detail similar to other contemporary novels by authors such as Ellen Hopkins and Stephen Chbosky.

Salom’s narrative is lush and lyrical and so beautiful that even through the gritty nature of the story, the writing is still mesmerizing. Rosaura’s life is never glossed over, nor is her character. She is imperfect and flawed along with the other characters who reside in the Cake House. This is something that marks her as someone worth 336 pages of the reader’s time.

This story mirrors Shakespeare’s HAMLET in the most twisted and terrific ways and will appeal to even those who fear the tragedies penned by William Shakespeare. Much like any Shakespearean tragedy, in THE CAKE HOUSE, nothing is perfect, no one is safe, and one fatal flaw can be enough to undo everything.

At times Rosaura’s story is heartbreaking, the characters shifting between weakness and then gaining strength from such vulnerabilities. And while this is a tale of darkness, light, and the places between, it is truth, hope, redemption, and ultimately love that are left sprinkled around this “Cake House”.

Because this book skillfully mixes mystery, romance, ghost-story, and coming of age into one delicious novel, it is something that is sure to please anyone. So pick up Latifah Salom’s debut novel, THE CAKE HOUSE, today!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA series...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
Talent
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sandee Mason is convinced her life will change if she...
WITHIN THE FOLDS OF A SWAN'S WINGS
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if the one element that has always defined you...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty,...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface, she...
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cassie needs a horse. She’s determined to move up...
A Higher Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 9)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just when everything seems to be perfect, it all falls...
A Happier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 8)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two guys. One girl. A big confusing mess. ...
A Healthier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 7)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She broke his heart. Will he ever forgive her? ...
A Steadier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He wants her back, but she’s already taken. ...
A Stronger Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can new love heal old wounds? I want...
A Smarter Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can she keep him, or will his ex steal him...

Latest Member Reviews

We Are Still Tornadoes
 
5.0
""We are Still Tornadoes" is an incredible insta-favorite! I am absolutely gushing about how much I loved this book! This..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes tells the story of Cath and Scott, who have both graduated from high school and are..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes is a cute story about long distance friendship, college life, life in general, '80s music,..."
One Paris Summer
 
4.0
"Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"I was a bit nervous going into this book. The fact that it was so blatant that Regan was a..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"This book caught me unaware (no pun intended), which is one of the reasons I highly recommend picking up a..."