Review Detail

A Bit of a Ready, Set, Wait Kinda Book
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
First Impressions

I loved Greta and the Goblin King, and have been excited to read this for ages. The book picks up pretty much where the first one ended. You're immediately thrown in to their world and their new set of problems.

Characters

Greta is pretty cool! She has to find a balance between being kick-butt and letting others take the lead. Greta has tons of problems in this book, but deals with them well. She never gives up hope, even when everyone else already has. Isaac isn't in this as much. I love the scenes with him, and love seeing him and Greta together!

Writing

While I think the writing could have been a little better (I noticed lots of common things, etc), it was overall pretty good! The story flowed well and kept me hanging until the very last page. The one thing I might have hoped for was a little down time between action scenes. They would defeat one thing, and then immediately something else would happen.

World-Building

Much of the world building occurred in the first book, so this didn't require as much. That said, Greta was going on a whole new journey to new places that hadn't been explained before. I really enjoyed seeing the new places and seeing how they dealt with all the obstacles they came across. I wish I could have seen more of the Glass Kingdom though, as that seems like a pretty interesting place.

Originally written at: http://www.tween2teenbooks.com/2015/02/blog-tour-greta-and-glass-kingdom-by.html
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

A Warm Friendship
 
4.5
"A WARM FRIENDSHIP is a story of friendship and loss, celebrating the time that you have together. Squirrel finds Snowman..."
When I Look Up
 
5.0
"WHEN I LOOK UP is a lovely story to capture a child's imagination. Told in brief rhymes like poetry, the..."