Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 3522
Should She Stay Or Should She Go?
(Updated: April 01, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This was a quick read, with minimal emotional investment—despite the heaviness of the premise.

17-year old cello prodigy, Mia, faces an inexplicable choice in the aftermath of a horrific car accident. With her entire family dead and her consciousness seemingly thrown from her mangled, comatose body, will she choose to return alone to the world of the living or finalize the separation to join the unknown fate of her loved ones?

This book took a unique, non-formulaic approach to telling a story—I have to applaud it for that. But I'm sorry to say the approach didn't really work for this reader. The primary difficulty arose because the car accident happens so very early on in the book, we've barely been introduced to any of these people who's lives are then cut short. It sounds callous in a sense, but I didn't really get a chance to know them or decide if I cared about their fate. And then they were gone. So I erected an immediate mental wall against the idea of becoming attached to them, even when Mia starts the getting-to-know-us flashbacks to show readers why they should care that these people are now dead. Compounding the connection difficulty, Mia's mental detachment from bodily sensations resulted in this reader sharing in that disengaged point of view.

Mia's clinical, dispassionate state does ease off in the form of largely mundane memories—some of which contain snippets of visceral emotion that readers may be able to cling to. Through her disembodied eyes we spend at least half of the time following her voyeuristic journey as she watches herself, watches her grieving friends and extended family, and watches them watching over her unresponsive body. For the situation being so dire, the pacing is almost meandering and the tension remains remarkably low.

There's a bit of forced-feeling excitement for a moment when Mia's rocker boyfriend decides to bypass working with Mia's family to get in to see her and instead concocts an overly-elaborate attention-needy plan to storm the ICU in a manner that could only result in his detention, if not arrest. At which point, I lost all hope and interest in said boyfriend. (Sorry, I just couldn't buy the “grand romantic gesture” thing. That was a last resort move, but for some reason, he jumped straight to the needlessly extreme approach without first exhausting other options.)

When this reader initially noticed If I Stay, it was being billed as something fans of The Twilight Series shouldn't miss. I haven't the slightest idea why. Aside from the super-lite paranormal aspect and Pacific Northwest setting, there's almost nothing that could call to mind Stephanie Meyer's books—for better or worse. (Regardless of how you felt about Twilight, this just struck me as a poor marketing tactic.) There was little-to-no worldbuilding (and oddly little philosophizing) to the paranormal element, no struggle with the nature of humanity, no underlying battle between good and evil, no super-attractive super-powered immortal boyfriend... **cough**
I was particularly bothered that story lacks sensuality, while seeming to present teenage sex in a casual, flippant manner that boarders on virgin-shaming. At least the sex is more implied than graphic, but still...

Note: Super-cool parents are, of course, totally supportive of sexy boyfriend sleepovers and moderate underage drinking. Because they're just that cool.

The main saving grace, for this reader, was the almost spiritual connection the main character had to the cello. Only when her cello-playing was involved did the story begin to feel engaging and believable. While there was a huge emphasis on music and its binding influence on all of the people in Mia's life—in one way or another—none felt as though their relationship was ever close to being as authentic as Mia's. She describes her experiences playing the cello in a way that struck a more poignant chord than the plot itself.

Side note: I'm vaguely disappointed that, with all of the punk and indie music references being thrown about in this book, one obvious song was never tapped for it's fitting irony: Should I Stay or Should I Go, by The Clash.

Okay, maybe that would have been a little...wrong. >.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."