Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1327
Material Girls
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Imagine living in a society where you didn't have to worry about your future. Your job was picked, your clothes were always in style and you had the boyfriend of your dreams. That’s what it was like for Marla Klein in MATERIAL GIRLS by Elaine Dimopoulous.

Marla was a superior court judge for Torro-LeBlanc, which means she had to judge other designers clothes in the company and dictate whether it would be in style or not. Not only did she get top pay, but just imagine having a job like that! Life was more then good, it was great for Marla.

That was until she was fired and put into the lowest position in her company, being reminded that like trends, you can be in and out of style in a heartbeat. Did I mention she was only sixteen?!

Ivy Wilde is another teenage girl with the top job of a singer. Her life was amazing until another singer came along and threatened to steal her lime light. She would do anything to stay on top, even changing her persona from a wild chick, one who is all about nature. With the help of Marla Klein’s designs, these two embark on a new partnership that helps them both out. Soon both Ivy and Marla are both fighting for the freedom they want, against the silent’s or the leaders of every company’s system. Will both girls fight and win success, or will they start right back were they began?

Both of these girls live in a cut throat society. The shots are run my teenagers who get their jobs assigned to them or are tapped at only the age of thirteen. And if you don’t get a job, guess what? You’re an Adequate the most ridiculed status to have, it means that you get to pick out a job that doesn't have all the glitz and glam, a job with lower pay rates such as being a teacher, or doctor. And if you get this job your determined to be what in their world is called a obsoloser. Just because Marla started designing clothes for one of the most famous performers in the world doesn't she's mean right back at the top of the chain. She’s still just a feeble designer in the basement, a dark, and depressing room, that has the worst coffee machine ever!

But things start to look up for her when she meets fellow designers, Felix, Vivienne, Kevin, Dido and Randall. These designers welcomed her to what the real world was like and showed her just how corrupt of a company they were working for was.

The beginning of this book was a bit slow, developing a whole world does take a while! But once I got further into this book, the plot was developed intricately, drawling me in to read more and eager to find out what happens next. The way the characters in this book lived reminded me of the people lived in the Capital from The Hunger Games.

There was romance in this story that seems to still be developing. Does this mean there will be a sequel? I hope so, I want to find out what comes next for Marla and Ivy!

MATERIAL GIRLS is a definitely prime book. People who fell head over heels in love with The Selection by Kiera Cass, Matched by Ally Condie, The Uglies by Scott Westerfeld, and The Hunger Games series will want to read this dystopian!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

My High School Royal Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Royal Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows new River Valley High students Blaire and Alex, as they try..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.5
"A cute story. The story: My High School Rebel Boyfriend stars a high school senior, Harper,..."
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
4.0
"'My High School Rebel Boyfriend' by Kylie Key follows main characters Harper and Mitchell as they have to find a..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Emerge by Melissa A. Craven is the first book in her series Immortals of Indriell and is a fast-paced adventure..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
5.0
"“I don’t want to be dramatic and say I found the next The Hunger Games or Divergent, but I totally..."
A Straw Man
 
4.5
"'A Straw Man' by Amalie Jahn is the third and final installment in her 'Clay Lion' series. Melody, the sister..."
North To Nara (Crimson Sash, Book 1)
 
5.0
"I’ve always been a sucker for dystopian. This is not a secret. The obsession with The Hunger Games is still..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"n the third and final installment in the ‘The Clay Lion’ trilogy, Charlie’s little sister Melody takes her own trip..."
Mage's Apprentice
 
4.0
"Aspen lives in New York City where the Mage's council oversee the well being of the people in it. As..."
Playing by Heart
 
5.0
"This beautifully written Young Adult novel centers around the strong faith of two sisters, Emilia and Maria, and their extraordinary..."
Playing by Heart
 
5.0
"This is a beautiful piece of historical fiction, set in 18th century Milan. The main character is a musician, and..."
Dragon's Awakening
 
4.0
"When Kaylee goes on a date and the guy tries to make a move on her, she accidentally calls on..."
Reactive: A YA Dystopian Romance (The Elite Trials Book 1)
 
4.0
"The story: Lune Tatum, the adoptive daughter of this dystopian world’s Supreme Elite, wants out. Out of the walled..."
Nia & The Numbers Game
 
5.0
"What readers are saying: Nia & the Numbers Game should be added to the required reading list for..."
Playing by Heart
 
4.0
"The Story: Emilia is a young woman in Milan who has become somewhat of a musical prodigy. She's a composer..."
Emerge: Immortals of Indriell (Book 1)
 
4.3
"Summary Allie was never really normal. For some reason, everyone seemed to recoil at her touch. Her parent’s job..."
The Bird Queen's Book
 
5.0
"he Bird Queen's book is a smart, moving, and immaculately presented tale of a kid coming to terms with loss..."
Earth to Skye
 
4.6
"Told in two distinct parts - before Skye's death and Liv's trip the Himalaya after, I enjoyed seeing the juxtaposition..."