Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1303
Every Minute, Every Hour, Every Day
(Updated: March 27, 2015)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
Finishing Every Day by David Levithan broke my heart (in the best way possible). I've read a few of Levithan's other books including Two Boys Kissing, Dash and Lily's Book of Dares, Will Grayson Will Grayson, and Invisibility. This book boasts the same compelling characters and wonderful writing style synonymous with the Levithan name.

Every Day begins with the protagonist in the body of a sixteen year old boy named Justin. The character is not Justin but in a way he is, or at least he is for the day. Our main character, known as A, wakes up in a different body every day. Sometimes it's a boy's body and sometimes it's a girl's. But either way, that's how it's been since the beginning. Up until now, A has gone along with this way of life. But that's before he falls in love.

What happens next is heartbreaking, beautiful, and dare I say, life-changing. I know this book has definitely helped changed the way I look at the world. But I guess that's what all writers kind of secretly hope for when writing; we hope that our words can change the world, even if it's only one person, one life.

I don't want to give too much away because I'd rather everyone just read this book! But I will say, almost every page I found words that spoke to me. While I loved many of the quotes in this book, my favorite explained: "It's as if when you love someone, they become your reason." I still remember the book that became the reason I loved reading, the teacher that became the reason I loved english and writing, and even the person that became my reason for pushing forward.

While each day in this book brings us a different person, A's appreciation of life and the possibilities it has to offer stays with each change in identity. Through A's unique outlook, I felt my own view of the world become revitalized, reminding me how precious each day is, how beautiful it is to get a tomorrow.

Though this book had to end, I didn't want it to. It really sparkled from start to finish and I didn't want to leave that pleasant glow. The characters are brought to life through their imperfections and with Levithan's words, I think it brought me back to life (even if I didn't know I needed to be brought back). But that's the best thing about books. I think the moment they open you back up to the world, the moment they make you feel something, they've already performed some kind of magic. And I absolutely love that. Check out Every Day by David Levithan before its companion, Another Day, debuts this summer!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...

Latest Member Reviews

Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
"BERNARD MAKES A SPLASH is an overall cute story about stepping outside of your comfort zone. Bernard practices diving whenever..."
Lost for Words
 
5.0
"LOST FOR WORDS is a sweet picture book about finding your own way to express yourself. Tapir has a new..."
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
"WILD GIRL: HOW TO HAVE INCREDIBLE OUTDOOR ADVENTURES is written by Helen Skelton, a veteran wild girl herself. In this..."
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
"STANLEY'S PAINT BOX is a charming board book about colors. Stanley is helping Sophie, Little Woo, and Benjamin paint boxes...."
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
"TAD is a colorful and engaging journey into the water, as we follow Tad, a tadpole. Tad lives with her..."
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
"GO GET 'EM, TIGER! is a brightly colored and delightful picture book of encouragement. The book features a tiger ("you")..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
If...
 
3.5
"IF... is an imaginative picture book that features artwork imagining impossible scenarios in artwork, with simple text to correspond. For..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
The Three Little Yogis and the Wolf Who Lost His Breath: A Fairy Tale to Help You Feel Better (Feel-Good Fairy Tales)
 
4.0
"THE THREE LITTLE YOGIS AND THE WOLF WHO LOST HIS BREATH is a great picture book that teaches children meditation..."
Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
Rival Magic
 
3.0
"Antonia, wizarding apprentice to Master Betrys, may not be the best at actual magic, but she tries her absolute best..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
Be Our Guest!
 
4.0
"BE OUR GUEST! is a colorful book of photographs. The book takes us to a hotel, where a monkey named..."
Hat Tricks
 
3.0
"HAT TRICKS is a story of magic. Hattie the rabbit pops out of her magic hat to perform some magic...."