Review Detail

Benvolio: Man in Tights and Prince of Thieves
Back in that mysterious time before I began book blogging, I read a few of the Morganville Vampires novels. I didn’t stop because I didn’t like them; they just sort of fell by the wayside, as I am wont to do with series at times. I was curious, to say the least, to see that Caine had made the leap from vampires to a Shakespearean retelling, but she has landed this vast jump deftly. Prince of Shadows is going to be a vast surprise for Caine fans, I suspect, told largely in classic style and looking at Romeo and Juliet from a fun new perspective.

First and foremost, I’m impressed with Caine’s writing in Prince of Shadows. She strikes a nice balance betwixt the ornate language of Shakespeare and a more reader-friendly style. At times, the lines are drawn almost directly from Romeo and Juliet, and those lines blend nicely. It’s no small feat managing to stand up in some measure to Shakespeare. Though Caine’s style is quite different, I think she hits the right tone, and I very much approve of the fact that she kept the bawdy comedy inherent to Shakespearean humor, even in tragedies like this one.

Caine’s retelling too is quite clever. Cast as the lead is Benvolio, Romeo’s cousin. He’s a supporting character in Romeo and Juliet, standing in as a young tough from the Montague family. From his viewpoint, we can see the larger context of the tragedy of those star-crossed lovers. Though the paranormal elements get a bit overwhelming right at the end, the rest of the novel takes place very much in a convincing historical Verona, as defined by Shakespeare. The twists she’s put on Romeo and Juliet, even when not to my taste, put a very interesting spin on the original, and fit very well with it. Prince of Shadows isn’t so much a retelling as a frame in which we can learn that things were not as they appeared.

The characters of lovestruck Romeo and Juliet both do and do not come off looking better in Prince of Shadows than they did in the play. What Caine really emphasizes is their youth and how out of control of circumstances everyone felt. Many characters, however, retain the black or white natures they had in the Shakespeare. The characters seen in a greatly new light are Benvolio, Mercutio, and Rosaline.

Mercutio has always been the saddest figure in Romeo and Juliet to me, and the same is true here. I’m not entirely sure how I feel about some of Caine’s revisions, but he still breaks my heart. I adore that Caine’s Mercutio is gay, and I like too how those of good character find little fault with him for that. Whether a character believes that love is love is a good litmus test for their nature.

The other change in Prince of Shadows is an increased focus on female roles in the political situation. Though a male is still the lead, he’s surrounded by strong women, both evil and good. His grandmother rules the Montague clan with an iron fist, though scarcely able to move about. His young sister does her best to manipulate within the scope that society allows her. Benvolio’s mother ends up a more powerful figure as well. Rosaline, of course, serves as the best representation, almost an Elizabeth Bennet figure, unwilling to settle for the role provided to women during her era.

Prince of Shadows is not the heavily romance-focused, action-packed adventure that Caine’s Morganville Vampires fans might be looking for. It is, however, a fascinating reconsideration of Romeo and Juliet, and will likely interest fellow Shakespeare nerds.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...

Latest Member Reviews

Neon Nights: A Sequel
 
4.8
"'Neon Nights' by Katey Taylor is an addictive sequel to 'Inebriated'. Cait has moved to San Diego to live with..."
 
5.0
"You will not be able to put down this book! A fast and suspenseful read that will grip you with..."
The Zombie Queen
 
3.8
"Tamara is the daughter of the Vampire Queen and the Zombie King. She is extremely powerful and is wanted by..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"When country music sensation Becks leaps off the stage mid performance and kisses Nicky everything he’s worked so hard to..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"The story: When Callie's parents send her to help her uncle for the summer working at the Circus of..."
Circus of the Dead (Circus of the Dead, #1)
 
5.0
"An intriguing and twisty book. The story: Callie is just a girl who loves to surf...."
The Hunt
 
4.5
"What a ride! The story: Tempest is our fierce heroine who wants nothing more than to become the..."
Dating Nashville
 
5.0
"'Dating Nashville' by Michelle MacQueen and Ann Maree Craven follows some of the same characters that graced the pages of..."
Glass Kingdom
 
5.0
"I don't even know where to start with this book. I practically finished it in one day (and I would..."
The Lost Legends
 
5.0
"Growing up with the stories of the Nihryst, Adalina wants nothing more than to find them and break their curse...."
Jesse and the Ice Princess (Gulf City High)
 
4.8
" The story: Jesse Kerrigan has it all: good looks, charisma, and popularity. Even though he’s..."
Fae Hunter
 
4.5
"An enjoyable tale of a young woman who loses her sister and her sight to the Fae, but that is..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
4.8
"Fantastic conclusion! Dragon Rebellion by M. Lynn is the final book in The Hidden Warrior duology picking up weeks after..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"The descriptions of Parkour are entertaining and opened my eyes to a new discipline that I was scarcely aware of..."
Dragon Rebellion (The Hidden Warrior)
 
5.0
"DRAGON REBELLION opens up with Jian and Hua taking refuge in Hua's family farm, but she hasn't awoken since she..."
Chosen (Gem Creek Bears, Book 1)
 
4.3
"When Tris escapes from being kidnapped by her boyfriend Corbin, she does the only logical thing. She gets the heck..."
The Parkour Club
 
5.0
"I enjoyed this book immensely. As with all of her books, Pam Withers masterfully builds up the characters and skilfully..."
Inebriated
 
5.0
"'Inebriated' by Katey Taylor is a hauntingly real look at the power of intoxication, whether it be in the form..."
The Path We Take
 
4.0
"'The Path We Take' by Kylie Key shows how the choices we make and the things we think we want..."
Outlawed
 
4.5
"The story: When her father forces her to travel back in time to correct the mistake he made, Maryanne..."