Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4132
This is an intense story of love, family, romance, and betrayal.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
The Audio: The narrator is a bit slow at times and I wasn't crazy about the voice she lends to Bishop, however, she does get better the farther you listen.

The Story: My initial thoughts upon finishing The Book of Ivy was, WHO DO I HAVE TO BRIBE FOR THE NEXT BOOK?!

This is an intense story of love, family, romance, and betrayal, that kept me on the edge of my seat (with my heart in my throat) until the very end! I wasn't really sure what to expect when I started this book, but quickly found the world Amy Engel created and the idea of arranged marriages, unique and interesting.

Ivy has one job. Kill her new husband Bishop. It's something she's been preparing for all her life, and seems simple enough, right?

Wrong.

Ivy has always believed Bishop and his family are the bad guys, the enemy, and her family the rightful leaders. But the more she gets to know her new husband, the more she starts to question everything she's ever been told and whether or not she can go through with the plan. Because Bishop isn't anything like Ivy was expecting. He isn't cruel or selfish, nor does he appear to have ulterior motives.

Instead, Bishop is kind, compassionate and seems to genuinely care for Ivy. PLUS, he cooks, cleans and does the laundry. THE LAUNDRY! I'd keep him around for those reasons alone, not to mention he's very nice to look at. But more importantly, Bishop "gets" Ivy in a way no one else does, not even her family, which makes her job that much more difficult.

As the clock ticks down, and the romantic tension amps up, Ivy will have to choose between the boy she's sworn to love for the rest of her life, and the family she's promised to avenge.

This does have a cliff hangar ending, so prepare accordingly. (I suggest choosing which corner you'd prefer to rock in ahead of time and fill it with snacks.)

I am REALLY looking forward to Book Two!

Fans of Delirium, The Selection, The Red Queen, and Matched will enjoy this one!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Rosenhart Book I 'The Sight'
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"Be the Legend, Join the Quest" The Rosenhart...
Fabric of a Generation
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For one teen, life's greatest adventure isn't time travel but...
Close Calls: How Eleven US Presidents Escaped from the Brink of Death
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Historians tell the stories of tragic and untimely presidential deaths,...
Imber (Book One of The Thanatos Trilogy)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The locks are failing. The...
Awesome Dog 5000 (#1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Marty, Ralph, and Skyler might make the ultimate secret combo...
Althea Gibson: The Story of Tennis' Fleet-of-Foot Girl
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Althea Gibson was the quickest, tallest, most fearless athlete in...
The Big Game
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Danny Owens is dedicating his seventh-grade season to his Super...
Race to the Sun
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lately, seventh grader Nizhoni Begay has been able to detect...
Suffragette: The Battle for Equality
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Imprisonment, hunger strikes, suffrajitsu — the decades-long fight for women’s...
Catherine's War
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A magnificent narrative inspired by a true survival story that...
Dangerous Alliance
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Lady Victoria Aston has everything she could want: an older...
Dugout: The Zombie Steals Home
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twins Stacy and Gina Cavallaro are on rival little league...
The Fountains of Silence
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Madrid, 1957. Under the fascist dictatorship of General Francisco...
Dinosnores (Boynton on Board)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
“Honk SHOOOOOO! Honk SHOOOOOO! . . .” ...
Good Day, Good Night
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now in a sturdy board book format, perfect for little...
TBH, This May Be TMI (TBH, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Told entirely in text messages, the second book in this...

Latest Member Reviews

Pet Sematary
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Vince The protagonist of the story is Louis he is a round character and a Dynamic character...."
Pet Sematary
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MissManderz My mother was completely freaked out by this book and the movie and I had to..."
Carrie
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MissManderz I am a huge fan of Stephen King and I must say that this is one..."
It
It
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MissManderz From the very moment I had picked up this book i was scared. Having seen the..."
Misery
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Ben D.  Steven King has outdone himself with the fantastic suspensful and horrific story Misery. Misery is..."
On Writing: A Memoir of the Craft
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mairi This book is, essentially, Stephen King's memoir, but, as the title suggests, it focuses on writing,..."
Cell
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda This was a great scary book.  It wasn't as scary as some of Steven Kings usually..."
Pet Sematary
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda If you buried your pet and it came back to life, what would you do..."
Misery
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda This is a good book. It's about a writer who has a crazed fan. She..."
Misery
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Milanna Royster Misey was a great book by Stephen King. It all starts with a famous author..."
Wizard and Glass (The Dark Tower #4)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by melissa velez First let me state that I find/found every book in the series to be superb...."
Wizard and Glass (The Dark Tower #4)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede This starts up with Eddie, Jake, Susannah and Roland still riddling with Blaine. It's interesting..."
The Waste Lands (The Dark Tower #3)Lands
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by dede In this book, we still hear and learn a little about Eddie, Susannah and Roland's past...."
The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede This one takes up where "The Gunslinger" left off and although I liked the first book,..."
The Gunslinger (The Dark Tower #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dede This book is about Roland, the gunslinger, and his quest to catch the man in black...."
Pet Sematary
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Laura The Creed family move to a new house in Maine, close to a busy road. When..."
Cell
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Laura The hook may be the best I've seen for a horror story in a while: A..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Noah Potash This is the second book in Stephen King's popular series, The Dark Tower, which details..."
It
It
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Chuck Norris This is a great book. ..."
It
It
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by vicky A book to scare anybody. The residents of Derry are trying to forget what happened..."