Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2679
Not Quite The Story I Was Expecting
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
A HUGE thank you to Penguin for sending me a copy of this book! I was SO excited and SO surprised when this showed up on my doorstep the other day. (There may have been a lot of screaming.)

I went into THE INFINITE SEA wanting to know one thing: WHAT HAPPENED TO EVAN WALKER BECAUSE HOLY FREAKING ALIENS EVERYWHERE THE ENDING OF THE FIFTH WAVE WAS LIKE...WHAT EVEN?!

Actually, I had a few other unanswered questions too, but still. Evan. I needed to know what happened to him.

I expected THE INFINITE SEA to pick up where THE FIFTH WAVE left off, with Cassie anxious to find out what happened to Evan, and figuring out how to save humanity. So you can imagine my surprise when that didn't happen. In fact, the story opens with Ringer, a character I barely remembered from book one and honestly, didn't care all that much about. My bad. Because we end up spending 70% of the book with her.

Yes, we find out what happened to Evan.
Eventually.
And yes, we catch up with Cassie, Ben, Sam, Poundcake and Dumbo. But if you go into this expecting some kind of epic humalien reunion with lots of romance and lots of kissing, well---good luck with that.

As with THE FIFTH WAVE, there are multiple POVs that not only alternate between characters but switch tense too. (You risk getting lost if you aren't paying attention.) The action is sporadic and the intensity doesn't kick up until about the halfway mark. But even then it doesn't last long. We do find out what's really going on with Vosch and the Others, but only after wading through copious amounts of superfluous information and metaphors that employ the title of the book which was far more confusing than it was helpful.

And then there was the moment that won the award for Most Creative Escape Tactic Ever. And by creative, I mean, I just threw up in my mouth a little bit.

That was followed by a sequence of events that confused me even more--are we really doing this or is this just another metaphor for humanity because I can't really tell--and made me question what in the Hades these characters were thinking?!
And then it was over.
Finished.
Done.

As with Rick Yancey's other works, the writing in THE INFINITE SEA is impeccable, but the characters weren't as engaging as they were in THE FIFTH WAVE. I was also under the impression that this was a duology, but apparently, a third book is in the works. Good thing too, because while I am EXTREMELY grateful to have had the chance to read this early, I am frustrated. I feel like this was a filler book with parts that could have been included in book one or cut altogether, and now I'm right back where I started.
Again.



Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 2

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Eyelike Stickers: Trains
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hundreds of irresistible, reusable, and collectible stickers to mix, match,...
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
It is twenty years since the events of La Belle...
Heiress Apparently (Daughters of the Dynasty, #1)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first book in an epic and romantic YA series...
Winter Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
WINTER LIGHT is the story of 15-year-old Mary Donahue...
Talent
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sandee Mason is convinced her life will change if she...
WITHIN THE FOLDS OF A SWAN'S WINGS
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
What if the one element that has always defined you...
The Good Girls
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
One of Us Is Lying meets Sadie in this twisty,...
Frozen 2: Dangerous Secrets: The Story of Iduna and Agnarr
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen-year-old Iduna harbors a dark secret. On the surface, she...
All our Hidden Gifts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maeve’s strangely astute tarot readings make her the talk of...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Twelve-year-old Cassie needs a horse. She’s determined to move up...
A Higher Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 9)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Just when everything seems to be perfect, it all falls...
A Happier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 8)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Two guys. One girl. A big confusing mess. ...
A Healthier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 7)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
She broke his heart. Will he ever forgive her? ...
A Steadier Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He wants her back, but she’s already taken. ...
A Stronger Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 5)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can new love heal old wounds? I want...
A Smarter Version of Me (The Destiny Clark Saga Book 4)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Can she keep him, or will his ex steal him...

Latest Member Reviews

We Are Still Tornadoes
 
5.0
""We are Still Tornadoes" is an incredible insta-favorite! I am absolutely gushing about how much I loved this book! This..."
The Memory of Things
 
4.0
"When I first found out that THE MEMORY OF THINGS by Gae Polisner was set in the immediate days following..."
First Came Forever (The Angelheart Saga #1)
 
5.0
"I am totally blown away by this book! It’s just absolutely adorable! I was hooked from the very first page..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes tells the story of Cath and Scott, who have both graduated from high school and are..."
We Are Still Tornadoes
 
3.7
"We Are Still Tornadoes is a cute story about long distance friendship, college life, life in general, '80s music,..."
One Paris Summer
 
4.0
"Comment beau! One Paris Summer is a lovely summer read perfect for fans of The Statistical Probability of Love at..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"I was a bit nervous going into this book. The fact that it was so blatant that Regan was a..."
Life Unaware
 
4.0
"This book caught me unaware (no pun intended), which is one of the reasons I highly recommend picking up a..."