Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1668
Hexed
(Updated: August 19, 2014)
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I'm always a sucker for a good witchy tale. So I was really excited to get a copy of HEXED to read.

What worked: The writing is fun, catchy, that reminded me of CHARMED meets SECRET CIRCLE only with witty dialogue and a reluctant heroine.

There's lots to love in this novel. Indigo only wants to be normal and fit in. At first glance, you'd think she was one of the popular kids as she's dating the hot football player, is a cheerleader, and seats at the 'Pretty Table' at lunch with her frenemy Bianca. Life couldn't be sweeter. Only she is kind of embarrassed of her quirky mom who owns an occult shop and who actually believes in things like witches. This backdrop is very fun and I totally devoured the first couple pages as I followed Indigo through LA.

Then things get freaky. A strange hot guy in a leather jacket just happens to get mowed down right in front of her and what's even stranger is he has the address of Indigo's mom's shop in his pocket. Things get even weirder as it seems this guy, who supposedly died, in fact is following her. I loved the rapier banter between these two. Bishop is a fun anti-hero, who readers can tell isn't exactly thrilled with his assignment of watching over Indigo.

I think most readers will relate with the relationship Indigo has with Bianca. Even though Bianca is passive aggressive, Indigo still holds on to their friendship even when they've grown apart for some time.

The nerd next door neighbor Paige is at first the stereotypical 'loser' who tries almost too hard to get Indigo's attention and friendship. But Krys fleshes this character out that makes Paige likeable and more of an ally to Indigo's quest. Think first season Willow of BUFFY THE VAMPIRE SLAYER.

There's a quest to find a lost 'Bible' and some very questionable foes that threaten Indigo and her family.

The LA backdrop is right on the mark. I live in Orange County, Ca and have been to a couple of the places Indigo mentions. This setting added a pulse to this story with the quirkiness and fast action.

What I had issues with had to be the chemistry between Bishop and Indigo. I loved their banter and the wise cracks at the beginning but later on I just didn't feel a more intense spark between them. I wanted more! If anything Jezebel, a badass witch was more exciting and had lots of great one-liners. I hope to see more of her in the next book.

The bad guys were a tad bit cliche but the climax at the end was one fast paced roller coaster ride. Let's just say the Prom scene doesn't hold back any punches with reveals, tension, confessions, and a stolen kiss or two.

A fun new witchy series that introduces readers to snarky Indigo as she battles against paranormal forces in LA while learning about her new abilities.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: We think of the glitz, glamorous mega-stars, and classic movies when we think of the Golden Age..."
The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super-achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high school..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."