Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1864
Great ending to the series
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I have put off reading this book because I did not want it to end. I am a bit saddened that there is not more Vincent and Jules, but what a great way to end this series!

Lots of things are going on in If I Should Die. There is A LOT of back story for revenants and numa. We also meet a few other characters (or at least I think they are new because I forgot them in the other books!). At any rate, they have a more prominent role in this book than they did before.

But what really got me this time around was Kate and her sister, Georgia. They have both undergone some serious character growth. In the other books, Kate comes across as whiny and weak. Not this time! She is a total kick butt heroine now. Her destiny is a bit obvious, but that's ok. I enjoyed it. Then there is Georgia. The self-centered hussy is gone. She's reserved and concerned about people other than herself. She was a great supporting character for Kate.

What did bother me, however, is the lack of Jules. I love Vincent and Ambrose, don't get me wrong. But there has always been something about Jules. He's so broken and distraught about his feelings for Kate. I was really hoping he could find his happy ending, but instead he vanished. Poof. I was pretty upset by that. I think Jules needs his own series or at least a companion novel.

If you have read the other novels, you will more of the things you have come to expect from Amy Plum. The descriptions are remarkable. You will feel as if you are walking the streets of Paris along with Kate and her band of revenants. Also, the way she can pen emotions will make your heart race and give you goosebumps. It's pretty fantastic. If you are like me and have been putting off this series, go ahead and pick up If I Should Die. It won't disappoint you. And if you have not read this series, what are you waiting for?
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

Anne's Numbers: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
 
5.0
"This board book features absolutely gorgeous designs that celebrate, primarily, the settings from the ANNE OF GREEN GABLES series. Counting..."
Anne's Alphabet: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
 
5.0
"ANNE’S ALPHABET features gorgeous images of hand-embroidered scenes from ANNE OF GREEN GABLES along with a letter and term that..."
Paddington on Top
 
5.0
"When school inspectors come to the Browns' door and claim that it is necessary for Paddington to report to school,..."
Little Women
 
5.0
">“Let us be elegant or die!” I’d like to confess up front, I avoided reading this book..."
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables #1)
 
5.0
"What begins as an altruistic desire for child labor turns into an a life-altering venture into parenting for an aging..."
Around the World in Eighty Days
 
5.0
"A fictional travelogue of sorts, this steady-driving journey began a bit blandly but picked up steam and endearment as it..."
This is the House That Monsters Built
 
4.0
"Giving the traditional nursery rhyme The House That Jack Built a nice Halloween twist, author Steve Metzger manages to work..."
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that..."
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9: Amelia Bedelia on the Job
 
5.0
"I grew up on Amelia Bedelia books. I remember the ever funny adventures she used to get in to, and..."
Caps for Sale: A Tale of a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business
 
5.0
"A cap peddler wears all of his wares on his head. After a day of making no sales, he sets..."
The Little Prince
 
3.5
"A classic, allegorical work of children’s fiction—one which may be more aimed at a jaded, unimaginative adult audience more so..."
A Bridge to Wiseman's Cove
 
3.0
" I have read many reviews for this book and am surprised about the amount of people who enjoyed this..."
Les Miserables
 
4.5
"Let me begin by saying that Marcia Williams is a phenomenal artist. Her unique graphic novel style format is fun..."
Treasure Island
 
3.0
"It's probably blasphemous to fall short of loving a classic, but I'm afraid that's what I'm having to admit to..."
 
5.0
"Might wanna read this novel first before you answer that. A great YA novel with a really strong female..."
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Alice #1)
 
5.0
"After a disappointing first 3 months of 2013, I come across this gem! I had been meaning to get this..."
 
5.0
"This year, i read the book Call of the Wild by Jack London. The Call of the Wild takes place..."
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Alice #1)
 
3.0
"I first read this story because of my 9th grade English Teacher. He was this weird guy who told us..."
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket #1)
 
5.0
"Great book! Great characters. Great classic. NOTICE! 100% BETTER THAN THE MOVIE! Best Part: "Daddy I want a squirrel!"..."
 
4.0
" White Fang was a superb book. In the beginning it was a little confusing, with everything that was going..."