Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1373
THE ALMOST GIRL
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Romance, royalty, and rebellion. Riven is on an unofficial mission to secure a target, but that sounds simple enough when it’s just a name to track. Everything changes when she meets him and discovers more about him and the people around him. Despite trying to cling on to her orders, things quickly get out of her control with a series of explosive twists and shocking revelations. Nothing quite goes to plan as more people get involved and more truths are uncovered. Riven is super strong and feisty, constantly battling with her feelings for Caden—the target—and others she comes across on her journey. She’s very untrusting (understandably) and doesn’t allow her emotions to get in the way, believing they’re a weakness that could get her killed. But that gets harder the more time she spends around Caden and others who care for her. The story is tense and exciting, and the world is incredibly well-imagined. The detail of technology introduced throughout and the “creations”, such as Vectors and hybrids, add extra risk to this cold world, making it hit home just how dangerous this alternate universe is.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Nest That Wren Built
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Nature lovers and poetry fans alike will be drawn to...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
So, you want to know about Jack Wilson? Here’s some...
Elysium Girls
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From a lush, dazzlingly original new voice in young adult...
The Lost Legends
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
A plague. A prophecy. A centuries-long curse. All her...
In the Hall with the Knife
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
A murderer could be around every corner in this...
Girls With Razor Hearts
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Make me a girl with a razor heart… It’s...
Come Tumbling Down (Wayward Children #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The fifth installment in Seanan McGuire's award-winning, bestselling Wayward...
When Wishes Bleed
 
4.8
 
0.0 (0)
One Prince. One Witch. One Fate. The upheaval in...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Ali McMillian almost drowned. It wasn’t a run-of-the-mill accident either;...
Ember Queen (Ash Princess, #3)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
The thrilling conclusion to the New York Times bestselling...
Moonscript
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It is said that Darkness is empty and whatever vanishes...
The Lucky Ones
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Thirteen Reasons Why, This Is How It...

Latest Member Reviews

The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Death as a narrator? What an idea! It was so interesting to see the Second World War from a German..."
The Eye of Midnight
 
5.0
"Straitlaced Maxine and the impish Will come together in this nostalgic action adventure that will appeal to parents and children..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Expertly written historical fiction. A gutting, wrenching, reverberating work of heart. The subject matter made this reader hesitate initially..."
Flora and Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures
 
4.5
"Reading FLORA AND ULYSSES by Kate DiCamillo was an absolute joy. Children’s books are usually full of everything that’s normally..."
The Book Thief
 
4.3
"Amazing how it can be both dark and inspiring at the same time. I didn't know what to think about..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"Absolutely brilliant! With Death as the narrator, this book takes you through a few years in the life of a..."
Jane, the Fox & Me
 
5.0
"This was not at all what I expected. I discovered a story about self-esteem, and bullying, and cruelty...."
The Boy on the Porch
 
4.0
"The Boy on the Porch is a beautiful story about family and love. It feels like a fable in the..."
The Book Thief
 
4.7
"Where does one even begin with this book? Nothing I say could ever really do it justice. I guess I..."
Red Shirt Kids
 
5.0
"Your upper grade school child will be totally enthralled while reading this magical, mystery adventure novel! Not only will they..."
Pillage (The Pillage Trilogy #1)
 
3.7
"I really like Pillage. It started out kind of iffy and I could put the book down without any real..."
The Book Thief
 
4.0
"I first read this book for my 8th grade English class, almost four years ago. When I joined Goodread a..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"THE BOOK THIEF is the kind of book that’ll make you cry; bawl your eyes out in the middle of..."
The Book Thief
 
3.3
"What is there to like? • It’s a story about the importance of telling and reading stories. Liesel and Max..."
Mermin
 
3.5
"This was certainly meant for younger readers! It had a cutesy feel to it, but it was still fun to..."
Heart of Stone (Verity Gallant Tales)
 
5.0
"This is the epitome of middle grade fantasy, if you ask me. Set in the most perfect seaside, cliff-dotted town,..."
The Book Thief
 
5.0
"It is easy to say that this book is unforgettable. Because it really is. I will never in this lifetime..."
Breaking Stalin's Nose
 
4.0
"Sasha Zaichik, the protagonist in this short novel, Breaking Stalin’s Nose, by Eugene Yelchin, is less a hero than an..."
Eighth Grade Is Making Me Sick: Ginny Davis's Year in Stuff
 
4.0
"On a whim, I checked out MIDDLE SCHOOL IS WORSE THAN MEATLOAF from the school library. It disappeared from my..."
Laugh with the Moon
 
4.0
"Thirteen-year-old Clare Silver's world has been turned upside down: her mother recently passed away and her father moved them to..."