Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1368
the half life of Molly Pierce
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was lucky enough to receive an advanced readers copy just two days ago. Yes. I finished this book so fast because it was that good. But first let me get to the review. Ok. I will not lie to you guys when I say that this book was a hell of a lot confusing in the beginning. It starts of with the heroine, Molly, coming to in her car and driving. Only she has no idea when she got there. And this is not the first time this has happened to her. Recently Molly has been missing blocks of time and she has no idea what the hell happened. Then Molly is driving home and she sees a boy on a motorcycle driving too fast. She knows what is going to happen before it does--she knows that he is going to crash. But then she realizes something--the boy was trying to catch up to her--but why? Then the inevitable happens and the boy hits the back of a car and goes flying over her car right in front of her car and she almost hits him. She gets out and cradles his head and takes off his helmet. The boy seems to know her though, this boy calls her by a strange name--Mabel. She thinks it's a case of mistaken identity until the boy calls her Molly. And so begins the awesomely strange book that is the Half Life of Molly Pierce. I also have to admit something else though. The names in this book were kind of stupid. If they were normal names I think I would have liked this book a lot more which sounds weird but that is just me. For example, Molly's best friend is named Erie. Like the canal. Why not name her Erica? And her other best friend is Luka. With a k. Why not just Luca? And don't get me started on the strange boys that Molly is beginning to remember names. The boy on the motorcycle is named -- get ready -- Lyle and his brother is named Sayer. Sorry for being weird but that is just me. And let's get on with this review. Ok. So after seeing Lyle get killed on the motorcycle she starts to feel a weird connection with his brother. Like they have attraction with each other, or history. But how can that be with someone you just met? But then Molly starts to remember everything. She remembers Sayer and Lyle. She loved them both, one as a friend and one as a lover. It turns out that Molly's blackouts were from her alter ego Mabel who led a different life that Molly wasn't aware of until the memories start to pour out. I feel as if I am giving way too much away so you guys will have to read it for yourself when it comes out July eighth. It sounds weird but it is so good and amazing. I was hooked from the first page and I promise that you guys will be too! I give this book 4 1/2 stars -- I took a half off because of the names ^ - ^
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 1

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

City of Spells (Into the Crooked Place, #2)
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
City of Spells, the follow-up to Alexandra Christo's gritty YA...
Christmas Parade
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
A delightful Christmas board book filled with hilarious characters and...
Best Friend in the Whole World
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Roland lives a quiet life filled with books, music, and...
Bird Show
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Award-winning author-illustrator Susan Stockdale welcomes you to the Bird Show,...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw...
My Book of Feelings (My World)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Inspired by the Montessori method of education this unique board...
Sweet & Bitter Magic
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
In this charming debut fantasy perfect for fans of Sorcery...
My High School Rebel Boyfriend
 
3.8 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
He’s a rebel with a cause… to make my...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes...
Dark Stars
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Dorothy finds herself completely alone. Roman is dead. The...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this...
Daughter of Darkness
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
She is destined to kill a demon. He is...
The Smile Shop
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Critically-acclaimed author-illustrator Satoshi Kitamura (Hat Tricks) celebrates the value of...
Stanley's Lunch Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley introduces young readers to a...
What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...

Latest Member Reviews

Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Amanda Lots of the time if a book has a mystery I figure it out far before..."
Invisible Touch
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Bookluver-Carol Kara Martinez has been trying to be "normal" ever since the accident that took her father's..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM When Kara was 11 she lost her father in a tragic..."
Invisible Touch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by MelodyJM (Please not this book was in ACR format when read) ..."