Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1844
Adventure, humor, superpowers, and a mythological quest to save the world.
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I was very pleased with the second installment in the Paladin Prophecy series. Adventure, humor, superpowers, and a mythological quest to save the world make this a very entertaining series.

First of all, the characters are really fun. They're normal in so many ways, but they have these really cool powers and special abilities. They have pretty normal names, but say the strangest and funniest things. They develop and change and make mistakes and generally are quite well-written characters.

Second, there are so many things going on in this book that you simply have to keep reading. There is mystery: What happened to Will's parents? What about his ghostly mentor? Where exactly is the Other Side, and where did it come from? There is action: training their special abilities, running from bad guys, chasing bad guys, fighting bad guys. There is romance: Will crushes on one of his roommates, and it is pretty adorable. There is comedy: Nick is hilarious. That is all. Everything culminates in an all-out battle against The Other Side, which won't end up like you expect it to at all!

The only thing that would have made it better was the possibility of adding a little more exposition in the beginning, reminding readers where the Academy is, who Will's friends are, and who his enemies are. There is an entertaining Will-narrated recap of what happened at the end of the first book, but some readers might be confused through the first 5 chapters without that character-focused exposition.

Overall I really enjoyed Alliance, and I look forward to the next book in the series! Fans of The Maze Runner, I Am Number Four, the X-Men, and Lydia Kang's Control will definitely enjoy The Paladin Prophecy as well!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bread Lab!
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s a sleepy Saturday morning for most people, but not...
A Thousand No's
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
This empowering picture book teaches readers that even great ideas...
Ronan Boyle and the Swamp of Certain Death (Ronan Boyle, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The hilarious sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller,...
Sharko and Hippo
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
With tongue-twisty wordplay and escalating absurdity, this is a fall-down-funny...
The Thing About Bees: A Love Letter
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A LOVE POEM FROM A FATHER TO HIS TWO SONS,...
The Faithless Hawk (The Merciful Crow, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kings become outcasts and lovers become foes in The Faithless...
Zora's Zucchini
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The first zucchini of a summer garden is always exciting,...
Libby Loves Science
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Libby loves science! In this STEM-themed picture book, a companion...
The Hidden Rainbow
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
All the colors of the rainbow are hidden in the...
The Places We Sleep
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A family divided, a country going to war, and a...
Chasing Starlight
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Midwestern high school seniors and swim teammates Alli and Brandon...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
True love has never been more deadly in this lush...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...

Latest Member Reviews

The Confidence Code for Girls
 
4.5
"The Confidence Code for Girls is an empowering read every girl should have in their arsenal. So many girls struggle..."
Things to Do Before You're 30: The Try-It Out, Get-It-Done, Live-It-Up List!
 
4.0
"When I heard about the book THINGS TO DO BEFORE YOU’RE 30 by Jessica Misener, I knew I had to..."
Dr. Susan's Girls-Only Weight Loss Guide
 
5.0
"This book gave me some really good advice about how to lose weight. It has been the only book I've..."
Words of Wisdom for Warriors and Stories of Encouragement
 
5.0
"If you're looking to get inspired and motivated, I would recommend this mini handbook. We all need a pep talk..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by SWC One word sums it up INSPIRATIONAL.S.Dodson did an awesome job with Teen Girls Need L.O.V.E...."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emmaline I have read many teen books on starting up my own business, but this book, Teens..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Emmaline I have read many teen books on starting up my own business, but this book, Teens..."
Hearts On Fire
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sevenbillion Hearts On Fire is a fabulous book to read and disgust easily. I enjoyed the stories..."
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Raghavan Jayaprakash, Author of " Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" Review by B.K.Walker sent to..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jayan "Life Blossoms Like a Rose in Thorns" is a work of fiction about Smitha, who..."
The Freedom Writers Diary
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by shannon! This book captures your attention, no matter how much you like or dislike reading. You..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by thatwemightfly I was a little wary of reading this as I hadn't read the first in the..."
Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul: 101 Stories of Life, Love and Learning
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Navneet The Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul! By: Jack Canfield Disses,..."
30 Days to Getting over the Dork You Used to Call Your Boyfriend: A Heartbreak Handbook
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by vicky This book is amazing in many ways...it connect to young girls and growing up as a..."
Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul: 101 Stories of Life, Love and Learning
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sidra I absolutely LOVE this book! It talks about teens and their challenges with BFFS, GF/BF and..."
Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul: 101 Stories of Life, Love and Learning
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by lulabell0513 A great book. Perfect for after an emotional upset, or just a rainy day. This book..."
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by BooksObsession Summary: This devotional for teenage girls is packed full with personal stories from the author, related..."
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Khy This is the year that Natthe go-between, the peacemakergets a job and meets a drop-dead gorgeous..."
Chicken Soup for the Teenage Soul: 101 Stories of Life, Love and Learning
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by looneytunez8 The Chicken Soup series are always something to look forward to. These books are so inspirational..."
 
5.0
TM Terry Miller Shannon
"We've all got a few good tips to make life easier, passed on by a friend or family member, or..."