Review Detail

Noggin Featured
Young Adult Fiction 3135
Heads Up!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Liked:
With Noggin, I really wasn’t sure what I was getting into and I was a little worried that I was heading for a non-Christina book. Would I wonder if I had my head screwed on straight when I chose to read this? Should I just head a possible bad experience off at the pass? (Head them off at the pass? I hate that cliche. Fifty nerd points to anyone that gets that reference.) Low and high expectations were neck and neck. Or I just wanted to make some bad puns to start my review for a surprisingly serious book, because that’s how the head rolls. And scene.

Warning: if you were offended by my insensitive jokes about heads you probably won’t much care for the book, because there are a bunch of them in there too. Actually, Travis Coates is a fan of bad jokes about his condition. It’s better than people trying to pretend this absurdly momentous and strange thing didn’t happen to him. Much better to face the situation head on. (I’m sorry, but I can’t stop.) (Actually, I’m not sorry, but you can head on your merry way, if you want.)

As you probably know already, or if you don’t the head puns have probably been confusing, Travis Coates died and woke up with his head transplanted onto another person’s body. Now, you’re probably laughing at this, and I was actually expecting Noggin to be hilarious and reminiscent of say Beauty Queens. That was incorrect. There’s definitely some humor, but Whaley’s taking on serious themes and the book’s definitely not fluffy.

Travis Coates was dying of cancer. He’d been through all the treatments and nothing worked, so when a man comes and offers a chance at a new kind of transplant, Travis is amenable. He signs up for the potential body transplant thing, says goodbye to his family, friend, and girlfriend, and his head is cut off to be saved until medicine can actually manage the feat.

Fast forward five years and Travis wakes up, what to him feels like no time later. Now Travis’ head is on the body of a guy who died of a brain tumor. Even though it’s a body upgrade (hey, six pack), his life hasn’t been upgraded. His friend, Kyle, and girlfriend, Cate, don’t come to see him in the hospital. His room at his parents’ house is empty of all of his stuff, and now has all the personality of a hotel room. He’s on the news constantly, only the second successful case of this kind and deemed a miracle or a sign of the impending apocalypse.

Noggin‘s really about the emotional turmoil that coming back five years later places on Travis. Yes, having a new body is weird, and he thinks about it differently than he did his own, but the real problem is how out of sync the life he knew is from the life he now has. For him, no time has passed. He’s still 16, though his birth certificate says 21. Instead of being at the grown-ups table at Thanksgiving, he’s at the kids’ table, watching some of his used-to-be younger siblings eat with the adults. His girlfriend is now 21 and engaged to some other guy. His gay best friend is dating a girl. Travis doggedly tries to recapture his old life, because it’s the only way he knows how to be.

What Left Me Wanting More:
Noggin‘s a surprisingly sad book, in which I spent most of my time wishing I could sit Travis down and give him a talking to. He does so many incredibly stupid things and clearly needs help. I think that’s the one thing that bothers me, though. Other than one meeting with a school guidance counselor and some doctor checkups, there’s no sort of therapy or anything to help him reintegrate with life successfully. I mean, with all that was probably spent on this procedure, why not pay a little bit more to help him mentally adjust?

The Final Verdict:
Don’t let the smiling two-tone Ken doll fool you: Noggin’s not a comedy. It’s a real and painful consideration of the way coming back from the dead five years later changed physically but the same mentally would have on a person.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...
My Words
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
"I love words!" says Ava. "Words can be tiny, prickly,...
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sun. A flower. And a lion. With three visual...

Latest Member Reviews

The Night Country (The Hazel Wood #2)
 
4.0
"Alice Proserpine thought she was mostly back to “normal” life after breaking from her story in the Hinterland, but when..."
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
"What worked: Intriguing plot of Chloe, a seventeen-year-old super achiever, who ends up collapsing during her senior year in high..."
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
"THE ADVENTURERS GUILD: NIGHT OF DANGERS by Zack Loran Clark and Nick Eliopulos is the culmination of a Middle Grade..."
The Pros of Cons
 
4.0
"WHAT I LOVED: I genuinely can't imagine four different events happening simultaneously in the same complex, but it happens..."
BRB I'm Going to Disneyland
 
4.0
"'BRB: I'm Going to Disneyland' by Courtney Carbone is a cute, quick read. As a novel written in texts, emails,..."
He Must Like You
 
5.0
"'He Must Like You' by Danielle Younge-Ullman is an intensely provocative look at the various ways in which consent, upset,..."
How the Stars Came to Be
 
5.0
"Reviewed for YA Books Central Beautiful in every aspect. The book: This is a story about how the..."
Unscripted
 
5.0
"A book so real it can be u comfortable at times. The story: Zelda doesn’t have a..."
The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Where Dreams Descend
 
4.0
"What worked: Beautifully written tale where a girl performer breaks away from her cage and enters a competition of magicians..."
The Black Kids
 
5.0
"THE BLACK KIDS is a really poignant read that ties history to the present. Ashley is a senior in high..."
What Goes Up
 
3.3
"'What Goes Up' by Christine Heppermann is a quick read, as it is a novel-in-verse, a format that can be..."
They Wish They Were Us
 
4.3
"THEY WISH THEY WERE US is an engaging YA thriller reminiscent of GOSSIP GIRLS. The book follows Jill, who had..."
Roaring
 
3.0
"ROARING takes place in the 1920s- with a twist. Monsters, sirens, minotaurs, basilisks, and more, exist, and they are woven..."
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
"MORE THAN JUST A PRETTY FACE is a fantastic YA contemporary romance that follows Danyal during his senior year of..."
You Say It First
 
3.3
"'You Say It First' is easily one of those books you will either love or hate. My feelings fell somewhere..."
Court of Lions (Mirage, #2)
 
5.0
"COURT OF LIONS finishes the MIRAGE duology with aplomb. This YA fantasy series takes us to another planet and the..."
The Unleashed: The Haunted, Book 2
 
4.0
"Creepy, suspenseful paranormal where some friends learn that a summoning might bring back something unexpected and evil. ..."
The Year of the Witching
 
5.0
"Immanuelle lives in the town of Bethel where the Prophet's word is law and the highest honor for a woman..."
By the Book
 
5.0
"'By the Book' is a charming ode to both romance and literature. Mary Porter-Malcolm sees life as points..."