Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2006
Genrebending Fun
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Liked:
The Well’s End by Seth Fishman is rather an odd book, one that goes through several genre changes as you read through it. I know that’s something that doesn’t work for a lot of people, so I think this book will be pretty hit or miss with people. While I definitely liked the contemporary parts at the beginning best, I did enjoy the whole book quite a bit, and will definitely be curious about whatever Fishman writes next.

What impresses me most, I think, is the narrative voice. I found Mia to be really engaging and her voice kept me interested consistently. The author is male, but did a really fantastic job writing a believable female, without resorting to any nasty stereotypes. Mia’s highly intelligent, determined, and used to being a little bit invisible when not surrounded by a media circus wanting to know what it was like when she fell in a well as a child. She and her best friend, Jo, have a really healthy relationship, in which Mia doesn’t resent Jo for being more attractive or popular than she herself is. Sure, Mia occasionally wishes idly that she were a bit different, but she’s mostly cool with who she is, which is a pretty great attitude for a teenage girl.

The first hundred pages of the novel are straight up contemporary novel. Mia attends a boarding school for the genius children of the wealthy. Even the guys who act like the usual popular idiots I know from my time in high school have major skills. They also party hard and sneak around to have sex. At first, it’s just your usual sexy, smart boarding school book, which was totally fun.

Then there’s the first change, which I’ll tell you about, because it’s right there in the blurb and on the book cover. In the middle of a normal school day, there’s an announcement to leave class for an assembly. They’re told they’re on quarantine and that classes are cancelled for the rest of the day (though hopefully the time lost will be made up by class on Sunday, because apparently this high school is the worst). A virus has broken out and they’re all in danger of disgusting death. On top of that, soldiers in hazmat suits are surrounding the place and totally willing to shoot anyone who tries to leave. So yeah, it’s a real mess of a Friday.

What Left Me Wanting More:
I don’t want to get into what happens from that point too much because of spoilers, so I’ll offer some general reflections. One thing I really liked is the depths given to a number of the students, particularly those of whom Mia had initially judgmental. The Well’s End is very much a book about how much can be lurking under the surface of someone. The romance was mostly annoying, but I was okay with the way that Fishman made it work in the end. Some of the plot points were a bit too confusing/crazy for me, but overall I was more entertained than staring at the book going “are you for real right now?”

The Final Verdict:
If you’re up for some genrebending, then The Well’s End is a fast-paced book that’s pretty unique. Science fiction and contemporary themes combine into a thrilling attempt at survival.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes a battle isn't waged on a bloody field. ...
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Red Queen,...
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
The world is brimming full of incredible inventions - but...
Sisters of Shadow and Light
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The night my sister was born, the stars died and...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
He thinks she's shallow, she thinks he's a nerd. What...
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A groovy New York Times bestseller! ...
Seneca Element (The Seneca Society Book 2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you knew that creating singularity between your mind...
Our Year of Love and Parties
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this poignant, funny, and romantic novel, four nights...
Strayborn
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Elemental Manipulation is tricky. Only those with the power can...
The Path Divided
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Every choice has a consequence. When a magical picture...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When fifteen-year-old Marlee Stanley joins her two sisters and the...
Shadowscent
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
An Ember in the Ashes meets Indiana Jones in...

Latest Member Reviews

Dragon Rising: A Mulan Inspired Fantasy
 
5.0
"When her sister Luna is killed, Hua wants nothing more than to get revenge. Taking her father's place, she joins..."
Heart of Mist
 
5.0
"The story: Bleak is a drunken thief who is desperately trying to find a way to cure herself from..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
 
3.0
"THE STORY OF INVENTIONS is a simple, accessible introduction to some of the breakthroughs that have shaped the world across..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.5
"Milla steals an armband and an identity which could put her to death if she is found out. She takes..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Pippin No Lickin'
 
5.0
"As a family with 2 busy boys, 14 and 12, we appreciate Layne’s contribution to helping children understand the importance..."
Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party
 
5.0
"'Pete the Cat and the Perfect Pizza Party' by Kimberly & James Dean is a cute story about friendship and..."
A Straw Man
 
5.0
"The story: Melody, the younger sister of Charlie, the main character of the previous book, is now..."
Girl at Heart
 
5.0
"'Girl at Heart' by Kelly Oram is a sweet, entertaining, easy read that any lover of YA romance will adore...."
Kingdom Cold
 
4.8
"What I loved: First and foremost, the characters. Princess Charlotte's fierce, unyielding manner. The way her character is left..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."
Breaking Through: How Female Athletes Shattered Stereotypes in the Roaring Twenties
 
5.0
"One hundred years ago. When I was growing up, this seemed like an impossibly long time in the past. The..."
Scarred
 
4.8
"Emotionally, I mean. What I loved: As you can guess from the title,..."
The Path Divided
 
5.0
"I'm going to break out of my usual review mold here because this book was so many things. It..."
Girl at Heart
 
4.8
"What I loved: Just about everything. This was an adorable YA Contemporary Romance with a surprisingly well-rounded..."
Skin Hunter
 
4.3
"What I loved: The world building was perfectly illustrated without bogging down the story. Everything from the..."
Our Year in Love and Parties
 
4.0
"What I loved: The story was told through the unique lens of four specific events with..."
The Secret Key (Agatha Oddly)
 
4.0
"Agatha loves the work of Detective Hercule Poirot. He's actually her imaginary friend and she uses his work to influence..."