Review Detail

Ask Again Later Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2498
Light-hearted, fun, and enjoyable on the whole!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
[Featured on my blog here: http://thebibliohphile.wordpress.com/2014/02/15/ask-again-later-by-liz-czukas/]

3.5/5

Happy (belated) Valentine’s Day! And in the true spirit of loving and whatnot, I bring to you Ask Again Later. No, seriously, if you’re going to sit at home and mentally whinge about your single status, you might as well do it with a fun contemporary, right? The story follows Heart LaCoeur, she of the unfortunate name (coeur means heart in French), a junior at high school. Prom night is coming up and Heart already has a date – well, several of them. Her best friends have decided to go to prom as a group – dubbed the No Drama Prom-a – so their night could be fun while avoiding the nauseating cliches of people with dates. This works out excellent for Heart, who’s basically anti-relationship on all counts because her mother left her family years before after having Heart and her older brother Phil as a teenager. The problem is, Heart winds up getting two actual prom invites. One is a pity date with Phil’s best friend Troy, who’s just been dumped by his girlfriend and is wallowing in misery. The other is from Ryan, a nice guy who’s a part of Heart’s theatre crew at school. Heart knows that neither of the boys – for their own reasons – want her for her, but she has to pick one because she feels guilty. So she flips a coin, and we end up reading both scenarios. Heads say she goes with Troy, and tails says she goes with Ryan. Heart winds up having an insane prom night both ways… and no matter who her date ends up being, some things can’t be changed.

This book was a very quick read, light and funny without being downright stupid. Our MC Heart has a lot of friends, but isn’t popular-popular, she has her quirks but doesn’t pretend she’s special – and I think she fits a role that a lot of people can relate to. She’s a completely normal person trying to just have a fun night with her friends. Except prom is never that simple.

“So, what happened?” he asked.

I sighed. “Well, first, when we were dancing, there was… I don’t know… a thing.”

“A kissing thing?” He did his finger twisty thing again, drawing out the word kissing like a string of saltwater taffy.

“No! Just an… eye thing.”

“No! Not an eye thing!” He gasped, covering his heart with one hand. “I hope you used protection.”

It’s written in the light-hearted way too, and it’s more of a casual read than anything that will seriously involve your feelings. It’ll make you laugh and gasp, but I can promise there’ll be no tears involved. I think the author actually intended for it to seem like Heart magically lived out both scenarios, given that there are frequent mentions of déjà vu and funny feelings, but that’s not really explained properly so… It still makes sense if you ignore that idea. This book isn’t just about Heart’s romantic problems/inclinations, for me it was also about her friends, her relationships in general (particularly with her brother).

…hey, that’s how you know who your true friends are, right? They’re the ones who offer to stuff you in a trunk, and you’re not only willing, but grateful.


Ask Again Later could be like an Amanda Bynes or Lindsay Lohan movie. Well, back in the day. I’d definitely recommend it if you wanted to get cosy on a couch and just smile for a bit.

I received this book as a free ARC from Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review. Quotes are taken from an advanced copy and are subject to change in the final print.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

A Few Red Drops: The Chicago Race Riot of 1919
 
5.0
"Hartfield begins her in depth look at the history of the Chicago race riots recounting the events of a simple..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
DA Dragon Authors
"The Inexplicable Logic of My Life is a brilliant story of youth at an end, adulthood on the horizon, the..."
The Inexplicable Logic of my Life
 
5.0
"Benjamin Alire Sáenz’s newest novel is an endearing story about the different types of families and what it means to..."
Aviary Wonders Inc.
 
4.0
"This "picture book" was not quite what I was expecting. It was much more enjoyable and wondrous. This is..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
4.0
"I think I love Irish mythology more than Greek mythology. It's beautiful, it really is. Teagan, Finn, Aiden, and..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
5.0
"I am such a huge fan of witches. I know I say this all the time in reviews, but seriously,..."
In the Forests of the Night (Goblin Wars #2)
 
5.0
"I fell in love with Tyger, Tyger (review here) back when I first started this blog. Kersten Hamilton approached me..."
Once A Witch
 
4.3
"I just devoured this novel from the first page, which is set in a bookstore by the way (what's not..."
Always a Witch (Witch #2)
 
4.7
"Before reading the review, be warned that this is the second in a series and you shouldn't read on unless..."
Also Known As Rowan Pohi
 
2.3
" It took me a while to get into this brief novel. Honestly, I was not amused by the antics..."
Chronal Engine
 
3.0
"When their mother gets a prestigious job on a far-flung archaeological dig, Emma, Max and Kyle have to go live..."
Once A Witch
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Yiling I LOVED this book. I first heard about it when the author, Carolyn MacCullough visited my..."