Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1300
Focused on characters
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
The BZRK books are like reading a video game – totally exhilarating and leaves you breatheless with nervous energy. The first one had these epic nano battles which I enjoyed so much and the entire world that Grant constructed was amazing. In BZRK Reloaded, while I was a bit disappointed that those epic nano battles didn’t arrive until the last quarter of the book and even then they didn’t really match up to the previous book’s fast paced narrative, this book was more focused on constructing the plotline and laying groundwork for the various discrete events that happen towards the end of the book, which made the ending more explosive (ha!). The plotline is split into different narrative, all of which do not directly affect each other but make for such a great story as a whole. There is the New York cell which is recuperating from their losses of the previous book, Plath taking charge of her legacy, Burnofsky having nefarious ideas, the wired President’s secret, the Doll House ship of horrors which takes brain washing to a new extreme, the Bug Man finally showing some signs of conscience and the overall psychology of the characters.

The storyline was heavily focused on the characters as opposed to the earlier one that was plot-driven. Vincent’s story was heart-breaking, and I really felt for him and even Anya. Plath and Keats grow closer and Wilkes is always there to make some hilarious crude jokes at them. Lear is pulling the strings and Nijinsky is relying even more on his/her judgement. The characters aren’t perfect or moral – they are flawed and do what needs to be done. We get a peek into Charles’ and Benjamin’s childhoods and realize the reason for their Nexus Humanus plans – and boy, are they creepy. The whole Doll House thing gives me shivers. There is an introduction of other characters and agencies which affect the plot profoundly – the Swedish spy, the Anonymous hacker group and even the kidnapped girl from Okinawa. The whole BZRK team are resigned to their ulitmate fates of death or madness and this lesson is repeatedly dangled in this book. The love in the book is a very complicated thing and considering we are essentially dealing with brain-washing, it skews the whole matter. Are wired feelings real or because you have been changed, do you change? The underlying issue is the concept of humanity and how happiness drives us to do the things we do and how the characters try to shape the world to their needs. The ending was bittersweet – things barely worked out but so much went awry and so much was lost.

As a sequel, it may not have lived up fully to its predecesor but it sets a good base for the next installment – where I suppose we will we dealing with phase three of the Armstrongs and maybe (just maybe) find out who the heck is this Lear who is pulling the strings from the shadows. Thoroughly enjoyable!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

A Monster Calls
 
4.7
"4.5 Stars This low-fantasy middle grade story is at once hefty and heartrending—despite its relative brevity and target audience..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
""Cross Fire" was a great sequel to Exo that wraps up all the major plotlines and possibilities. The zhree, an..."
Cross Fire
 
5.0
"Smart, well-paced, and intensely thought provoking. This series is on track to redefine sci-fi expectations for the YA genre. ..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
" This story packs a punch. With spare, powerful prose the author portrays a character growing increasingly angry and isolated..."
Teeth
 
3.7
"Great to have a male protagonist in YA. This was an interesting story that takes place on a lonely island..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"What I Liked: Obviously, A Monster Calls came to me HIGHLY recommended from friends with great taste. That’s always exciting,..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls has to be the most inventive book I've read. And I find myself struggling to put in..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"A Monster Calls is an unflinchingly honest story. It talks about our darkest, innermost secrets and how we leave certain..."
Revenge of a Not-So-Pretty Girl
 
4.0
"What I Loved: The strengths of this book are the realistic setting and the nuanced relationships between family members...."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"this book is a very good book. If you read it you'll be impressed. This book is featured for everyone..."
A Monster Calls
 
N/A
"I think whoever reads this book will argee with me that is a very mysterious and puzzling read. I..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"It is a very good book"
A Monster Calls
 
4.0
"this story is intresting because it contans strong langwiges like rept,short setes like.As they do. "
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"I loved this book.I didn't think it was my style as im in to Equine books,but this proved me wrong!Its..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"It is a very good book a good plot and as it is baced on a real story of a..."
A Monster Calls
 
5.0
"Amazing book! The author uses a style wchich not alot of authors can use properly! this book should have..."
A Monster Calls
 
4.3
"This book is amazing!"
Teeth
 
4.3
"What I Loved: Moskowitz's writing in Teeth is not of a style that generally appeals to me, but the writing..."
Teeth
 
3.5
" I was drawn to this book because I liked the sound of..."