Review Detail

Faking Normal FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 9273
Brilliant
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I Loved:

I hardly know where to begin with how much I loved this book. Authentic, unflinching emotional journeys, a compassionate and insightful look at the inner pain left behind after trauma, capable prose, fully realized characters, and a relationship that will have readers turning pages long after bedtime--these are just a few of the things that make for a story that is as honest as it is compelling.

I'll start with the basics of storytelling. The pacing is smooth, the tension builds nicely, and the clean prose make for an enjoyable read. Ms. Stevens' characters are fully developed, flawed people who will resonate with readers. Both the hero and the heroine have significant inner pain that is taking over their lives, despite their attempts to fake normal, and Ms. Stevens captures that pain with a deft insight that is as compassionate as it is unflinchingly honest. Readers who have dealt with trauma of any kind will find kindred souls in Lexi and Bodee, and readers still searching for a path toward healing will find a road map to use in their journey.

But beyond the mechanics of storytelling, what really makes this book stand out is the truth buried in the pages. Lexi is a perfect example of how abuse and rape culture silence victims. She moves through a cycle of excuses for her abuser, self blame, fear of reprisal if she tells the truth, and the conviction that she will ruin everything if anyone finds out--as someone with abuse in her past, I can testify that there isn't a false note in Lexi's character arc. Bodee, on the other hand, is the safe harbor, the one who can see what Lexi hides from others, and the voice of patient truth who consistently and compassionately refuses to allow the lies in Lexi's head to continue to flourish. He's the map-maker on the road to Lexi's healing, and in doing so, he is also the map-maker for readers who see themselves in Lexi and need the hope that they will not always self-destruct in silence.

It's rare that I find a book that I feel is important enough to recommend to every reader, but this is that book. Librarians need this on hand to give to the kid who is quietly falling apart while desperately trying to fake normal. Teachers need this for their classrooms. Parents need this for their teens. And every reader who has felt their secrets burn inside of them while they tried their hardest to convince the world that all was fine need this book.

Final Verdict:

Brilliant, insightful, and utterly compelling--FAKING NORMAL is the book everyone needs to read.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
My Mama
 
3.0
"MY MAMA is an intriguing picture book that chronicles the way a son can view a mother. The text is..."
The Traveling Restaurant: Jasper's Voyage in Three Parts
 
4.0
"-- How do you carve an elephant? -- Get a block of marble and take away everything that doesn’t look..."