Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 2421
Glimpses of Greatness, but with Problematic Elements
Overall rating 
 
2.3
Plot 
 
2.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
My feelings towards The Infinite Moment of Us are mixed, but I would say they lean more towards the “dislike” side in all honesty. There were certain aspects of the book I thought were quite worthwhile that invited discussion, but it sort of felt too much like that’s what Myracle was trying to do–trying to prove a point with this book(the ins & outs of teenage romantic relationships good and bad) and sort of lost any actual story in the process.

First, the characters. Charlie is, of course, the boy with the tragic past. He’s in a good foster home now, but that hasn’t always been the case. Some pretty awful things have happened to him and it’s warped his perception of himself. This was the ONLY storyline I found really intriguing in The Infinite Moment of Us. How Charlie perceives himself and how others perceive him are too very different things, and it’s through the course of this book Charlie sort of reconciles the two. I thought the few scenes with Charlie’s foster family were by far the best in the book and the most real and raw.

Wren, on the other hand, is a rather flat character to read about. She’s the perpetual good girl who wants to make her parents happy, but not at the expense of herself. She’s from the “Allyson” mold of character from Just One Day, and much like I had trouble with that book, I had trouble with Wren too. She’s petty and over-jealous at times. The storyline with her parents was intriguing but got dropped later on in favor of the romance. There was a bit of “resolution”, but it was very on-the-surface and I never really bought it.
The romance between Charlie and Wren had it’s ups and downs for sure. There were some things I liked–the intense nature of it was realistic–and the physical aspects were so tastefully done and well-handled. Myracle really explores teenage relationships so well, but the disconnect with me comes from where I think in the end I’m supposed to LIKE Charlie and Wren’s relationship. I felt that I was, as a reader, definitely suppose to shake my head at some parts and then give the character a thumbs-up at others, like in the end, and I just couldn’t do that. Some of Charlie and Wren’s relationship just seemed so immaturely handled, and I think it’s a bit insulting to say that most teenagers would act that way at their age. Yes, Charlie and Wren are teenagers and teenagers fall in love quickly. But they also just graduated high school and are eighteen-years-old. They’re not new teenagers. If they had been say, fifteen or sixteen, then I could have handled the intensity and immaturity at times. But at other times Charlie and Wren make pretty adult decisions, and it just seemed strange to me they abandoned all sense to fall into their relationship in such a dysfunctional way.

While I did have problems with all of that, one of the main problems I had was with the character of Starrla. Starrla is the girl who has been Charlie’s hookup for the past few years in a very on-again off-again way. What gets me about this is that in-text, Starrla’s pretty much clearly labelled a slut by the other characters and is the “bad guy” because of that. She’s portrayed as off-the-wall crazy and possessive and the characters throw heaps and heaps of derogatory terms of her. Okay, I may not like that, but I can deal, because it’s the characters doing that, right? Nope. It goes from being an annoyance to being over-the-top. It seemed hypocritical to me for the book to portray Charlie and Wren’s physical relationship in such a good light(because Wren hasn’t dated before and is the “pure” character and her physical relationship with Charlie is treated positively, which is good and all, but when you contrast to Starla. . . ) and for Starrla to be cast in a negative light because of her physical and sexual relationships. It’s. . . troublesome in context, to say the least.

I know I’ve heard mostly good things about Myracle’s writing, but I found it a bit clunky in The Infinite Moment of Us. I think it was an attempt to really get inside Charlie and Wren’s heads, but again, it contributed to me feeling the characters were much younger than they actually were. It was just baffling. Charlie and Wren portrayed some poor decision making but also a lot of really great mature decision-making, but they sounded like fourteen-year-olds almost every time they did. Which is not to say that fourteen-year-olds can’t make those mature decisions, but not when your main characters are supposed to be eighteen. I also found the ending a bit sloppy and while I can point to a page and say “Yes, there was resolution here,” I never really FELT like there was. I’ve heard really good things about Lauren Myracle’s writing but I have to admit to being firmly disappointed in The Infinite Moment of Us.

Final Impression: I applaud some of the portrayal of teenage relationships in The Infinite Moment of Us. There were some things Myracle did really well that I thought were NEEDED in contemporary YA, but they were far overshadowed by some very problematic elements. The dropped storylines of Wren and Charlie’s family were highly disappointing, as was the portrayal of Starrla. In a work that tries to treat physical relationships so positively, it seemed a grave oversight to have your over-the-top off-the-wall character being the school “slut” with Wren being the perpetual good girl.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Significance
 
5.0
"If only i could save a hot guy from getting hit by a truck and suddenly be his soul mate,..."
Significance
 
5.0
"I seriously love this book to death. I probably couldn’t tell you how many times I have read and re-read..."
The Fallen Star (Volume 1)
 
4.0
"The Fallen Star is a book that will make you want to carry on reading. Its about a girl called..."
Flat-Out Love
 
3.0
"Flat-Out Love opens up with Julie heading off to college and arriving at what she thinks is her new apartment...."
What I Didn't Say
 
2.7
"I really don't have any reasonable reason to have not enjoyed this book. But something about it just didn't click..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
"Love this book i will give the cover and the book 5 out of 5. Every chapter takes you on..."
ReVamped
 
4.0
"Had enough of vampire books?! Well, let me throw ReVamped at you and say even if you’re sick of vampire..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
" So as we all know the vampire phenomenon has taken the world by storm and there are plenty of..."
Significance
 
5.0
"Love!"
Significance
 
5.0
"Does fate really exist? And if it does, then does magic exist? These are the questions Maggie Masters must answer..."
Remembrance
 
4.0
"(Source: Purchased from Amazon.co.uk for only 77p!) 16-year-old Lizzie has a great boyfriend, and a great best friend, but when..."
Remembrance
 
2.0
"Remembrance has a very interesting background. It was inspired by an artist's music video and burst into this book, which..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"First, I want to thank the author, Ada Adams, and also Marian R., for an e-copy of the book… ..."
Good For You (Between The Lines #3)
 
5.0
JenJen
"Wow, just wow! Each book in this series is better than the one before! This is Dori and Reid's..."
Solid
 
3.0
"Solid was a mindlessly entertaining read, with a witty and sarcastic narrator who kept things on the lighter side with..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.3
"This book wasn't the fluffy chick lit you think it would be, but it isn't quite as deep as you..."
Significance
 
5.0
" WOW! This is an AMAZING story. I got so caught up in it, I kept hiding from my responsibilities..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.5
" Wow, I am on a roll with good contemporaries this month. This one is really an eye opener..."
What I Didn't Say
 
N/A
" You know those books that come along and at first they seem okay and maybe sort of hoakie and..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"ISBN: 9781470068981 Publisher: Self/Indie Pages: 300 A simple mission turned deadly. Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered..."