Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1203
Ranger's Apprentice Book 7: Erak's Ransom, Like a Hourglass Flipped Around
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
There’s a gap when the book series, Ranger’s Apprentice, where John Flanagan forgot to explain an important period of two characters. Ranger’s Apprentice Book 7: Erak’s Ransom was the desert mirage that filled the important period.
The period of time from where we left off from the previous story, Ranger’s Apprentice Book 6: The Siege of Macindaw, was regarding the character, Will and Halt. While Will is a character that is bright, curious, and energetic; Halt is quite the opposite. Both of them are a Ranger, who is like the secret police force of Araluen – the kingdom capital, and Halt is the senior Ranger. The previous story didn’t explain how Will graduated to a senior Ranger. Each full-fledged maintain a certain fief of the kingdom, and with that Halt will also miss Will’s presence which brought light to his life.
The main story, Ranger’s Apprentice: Erak’s Ransom, starts with Halt and a close companion of his, Lady Pauline, getting married due to the fact that Will will be graduating soon. Then somewhere far away from Araluen and the wedding planning, a leader of the sea pirates is getting restless dealing with the countless document of the loots stolen. Tired from his work, he set off on one journey to satisfy his need. Long story short, he gets captured and the captor sent the other sailors to find someone to help ransom the money for their captain. Svengal, a captain and Erak’s first mate when Erak was still the captain of Wolfwind, comes barging in the wedding and gathered the other protagonists of Araluan.
Now we can’t just make this a story of “paying the ransom and then Erak’s free”, but John Flanagan had something pulled up his sleeves. Nomads of a raiding force had come and took Erak from Selethan’s hand, who was the original captor. So now the heroes and Selethan, are on a hot pursuit of the mysterious nomads who took Erak under the blistering sun in the middle of the desert.
Even though the story seems all too serious, Flanagan tried to lift the mood – even if it is with bad puns – there are moments where it is heart-warming. Moments like when Halt worried about Will, and the bravery that these Rangers take to such extent.
Like all story series, this book is hard to understand unless you read the previous books first. Starting on this book right away may leave some reader confused of what is going on at some parts. However, it is still a good book filled with action and adventure. With Ranger’s Apprentice Book 7: Erak’s Ransom, the series are in safe hand from the confusion of the past story.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Hollow Inside
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Phoenix has spent much of her life drifting from...
Spells Trouble (Sisters of Salem, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Double double, twins spell trouble… ...
10 Truths and a Dare
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's Senior Party Week, that magical in-between time after...
The Promised Prince
 
4.3
 
5.0 (1)
Perfect for fans of the Selection series by Kiera...
Indivisible
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
This timely, moving debut novel follows a teen's efforts...
The Other Side of Perfect
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Sarah Dessen and Mary H.K. Choi,...
Counting Down with You
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this sparkling and romantic YA debut, a reserved...
Gutter Girl (Twin River High, #1)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Star football player Jace Rovers has a secret. And...
Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming—and heart-tugging—middle grade novel about love, loyalty, and what...
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join everyone's favorite Wildcats from the Disney+ smash hit original...
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming text honoring the ever-evolving relationship of a parent...
Colors of Habitats
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The brand-new sequel to a well-reviewed bestseller that has been...
Noble Thief (Fantasy and Fairytales Book 6)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A prince of two kingdoms. A woman fighting against the...
All These Bodies
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sixteen bloodless bodies. Two teenagers. One impossible explanation. ...
The Beautiful Ones
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
They are the Beautiful Ones, Loisail’s most notable socialites, and...
I Am the Shark
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
What makes the great white shark (one of) the greatest...

Latest Member Reviews

Secondhand Dogs
 
5.0
"Gus is the pack leader at Miss Lottie's house, and has kept the peace well with excitable Roo, loyal and..."
High School Musical: The Musical: The Series: The Road Trip
 
4.0
"HIGH SCHOOL MUSICAL: THE MUSICAL: THE SERIES: THE ROAD TRIP is a fun book that compliments the show by diving..."
I'll Meet You in Your Dreams
 
5.0
"I'LL MEET YOU IN YOUR DREAMS is a gorgeously illustrated picture book about parental love that spans space and time...."
No Adults Allowed (Super Sidekicks #1)
 
4.5
"This is a cute read! No Adults Allowed is the first book in a new series from author Gavin Aung..."
The Last Fallen Star (Gifted Clans, #1)
 
5.0
"THE LAST FALLEN STAR is a thrilling epic fantasy. Riley Oh is a saram, a person without magic, adopted by..."
I Don't Want to Go to School
 
3.5
"I DON'T WANT TO GO TO SCHOOL features Dinosaur and Mouse, who are both scared of their first day of..."
The Mother of Monsters
 
4.5
"‘The Mother of Monsters’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, tells the story of Ntombi, the chief's daughter. She..."
Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail: A Story from Chile
 
4.5
"‘Grim, Grunt and Grizzle-Tail’ by Fran Parnell, illustrated by Sophie Fatus, is great for younger elementary readers and anyone who..."
Baseball Baby
 
5.0
"BASEBALL BABY is a delightful board book about baseball. The book begins with heading to the park to play baseball..."
I Am Not a Penguin
 
4.0
"I AM NOT A PENGUIN is a silly picture book that manages to teach young readers about pangolins. A pangolin..."
Sam Can't Sleep
 
4.5
"SAM CAN'T SLEEP is a fun picture book read that introduces the concept of nocturnal animals. It's nighttime, and all..."
Welcome to California
 
4.0
"WELCOME TO CALIFORNIA is a fun picture book of facts about the state. It covers topics from the state capitol..."