Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1624
An intense and entertaining sequel that have you flying through the pages
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
After reading and loving Hemlock, I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Thornhill and revisit these characters. Peacock really takes things a step further than I anticipated and things are way more crazy than I originally thought. What was once the story of Mac and the wolves of Hemlock, turns into something bigger and more sinister as the characters are thrown into the camp known as Thornhill. This book definitely gave off the “dystopian” vibe and if you add on the paranormal factor, that makes it all the more interesting. I think Peacock does a great job of weaving both genre elements together seamlessly to create a dangerous and exciting feel.
I have to say, even though I was Team Kyle in the first book, I’m a little on the fence after this one. Sure, I know there’s no competition, Mac loves Kyle, but still, poor Jason. I was questioning how real his feelings for Mac were in Book 1, but it’s clear exactly how he feels after reading this. And I’m all for the guy trying to protect the girl, to an extent, but when you continue to play the martyr, it just gets old and a bit annoying. Regardless, I do like Kyle and Mac as a couple and can see they really care for each other.
I definitely want to stick around and see what the third book has in store. Things get pretty explosive in this book and it sets the scene for what I’m sure will be major events in the last book. Peacock keeps us on our toes while in Thornhill and I really liked a few of the new secondary characters, one of which I totally saw coming, but still enjoyed nonetheless. If you love a good wolf book with a bit of dystopian edge, you’ll love Thornhill.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.0
"This series is like a horrific car crash: you know you should just move on, but you can't help but..."
Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.3
"It was definitely better than Awakened, but still not at the standard the first few in the series set. It's..."