Review Detail

Less Romance Next Time
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
I'm well aware of the fact I'm 2 years too late. I get that but hey! I'm here now and that's what counts.

I set out to write this review but I'm still not sure what to say. I keep thinking about the romance between Karou and Akiva. I'll explain my issues with it soon.

First of, the whole paranormal world in Prague was interesting. The architecture, the art, the culture... even the people pretending to be vampires were fun. We meet Karou in a dark alley getting felt up by her ex boyfriend who's an vampire/actor. They broke up because he cheated on her and Karou doesn't want to see his lying face anywhere near her. Kaz doesn't feel the same way and follows her to her art school where he poses naked in front of her whole class. Awkward. She eventually gets her revenge, wishing Kaz gets nasty itches to scratch in his most private places. Her friend Zuzana's there to cheer with her.

Karou's a blue haired girl who loves to draw strange characters with snake tails, bull heads and some human parts. What you didn't know is those characters are real. They are Issa and Brimstone, her sort of guardians. They deal with wishes and can open a portal to just about any place on Earth you could imagine with simply opening their door. Karou helps them acquire human/animal teeth for some reason she's still not aware of. She does try to get some info about her parents, herself, even about the teeth but Brimstone is not giving away any secrets.

Like with every other story, things get messy after 'the guy' shows up. A mysterious angel attacks Karou in the streets of Marrakesh. I'm just going to stop here for just a second cause I feel like I should say this. Everybody knows I love a good romance but in this case I prayed for less. I didn't want to read about feelings when there's so much to see in this crazy paranormal universe. Everything was going along fine till Akiva showed up. And they were attracted towards each other right from the start.

I was so ready to hate the second part of the book because of the dreaded romance but the craziest thing happened. I started liking the whole Karou and Akiva thing. The flashback scenes saved it. If it weren't for them, I would've pegged it as another insta-love.

So, if you're up for some quality paranormal fiction, pick up Daughter of Smoke and Bone. You won't regret it. It's full of magical creatures, drawings, fights between good and evil and of course, a steamy romance.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Corpse & Crown (Cadaver & Queen, #2)
 
4.0
"Adding in the characters of Oliver Twist to the unique world of Bio-mechanicals created in the first book, this stand-alone..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
4.7
"We follow 18 year old Aileana on a hard mission. She's the last of the Falconers, which means she is..."
Dearly, Departed (Gone with the Respiration #1)
 
4.0
"This review can also be found at http://fortheloveofbooksreviews.blogspot.ca/2017/01/dearly-departed-by-lia-habel.html In 2195, Nora is living in New Victoria, a place..."
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)
 
4.0
"4.5 stars! This was definitely one amazing series. Worth reading for those who liked The Mortal Instruments and even those..."
Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2)
 
5.0
"From ballgowns and bowler hats, to parties and prototypes, Curtsies & Conspiracies will capture your attention, your mind and your..."
Etiquette and Espionage (Finishing School #1)
 
4.7
"Gail Carriger should be in charge of the educational system. Imagine a world where young men learn the skills..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
3.3
"I finally got around to finishing this series and I read it straight through, for the most part. It did..."
Stormdancer (The Lotus War #1)
 
3.3
"Okay. I admit. This book was kinda awesome. If you can get past the 100 or so pages of..."
Incarceron
 
3.7
"**spoiler alert** I loved it! So very fascinating and..."
Strange and Ever After (Something Strange and Deadly #3)
 
5.0
"What I loved: THIS is how you end a trilogy, my friends. Like a freaking BAMF. Seriously, I had my..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
3.3
"The Falconer is quite the genre mashup—a Victorian-era Scottish mythos-based paranormal YA, with just enough hints of steam punk to..."
The League of Seven (The League of Seven #1)
 
4.0
" In an alternate 1870s where First Nations people compose a large portion of the country, Archie's parents are..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
5.0
"Mystical. Magical. Some books just wrap you up in their spell. I know this is what happened..."
The Falconer (The Falconer #1)
 
3.7
"Note: This review is of the British edition published by Gollancz. I've heard it might be different. What I..."
Something Strange and Deadly
 
3.3
"This book was amazing. It was well-written but it disappointed me at the same time. The story itself was so..."
Curtsies & Conspiracies (Finishing School #2)
 
4.3
"I must be completely honest right up front – I’m a huge fan of Gail Carriger’s. I adored her..."
Etiquette and Espionage (Finishing School #1)
 
5.0
"No dumbing down for a Young Adult audience in this wonderful start to the Finishing School series. Instead, the author..."
The Osiris Curse (Tweed & Nightingale Adventures #2)
 
4.0
"In Crilley's follow-up to "The Lazarus Machine," 'detectives' Octavia Nightingale and Sebastian Tweed jump right into another world-altering adventure, chasing..."
Clockwork Princess (The Infernal Devices #3)
 
5.0
"I would have to say out of all three books the third one was my favorite though I almost cried..."
Incarceron
 
4.0
" A refreshingly original piece. I'd initially been recommended it as a prime example of the budding Steampunk sub-genre, though..."