Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1624
Action-Packed!
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
What I Loved:

What a sequel! I really enjoyed HEMLOCK, book one in this series, and was hoping to be just as enthralled with THORNHILL. I'm happy to report that THORNHILL captures one of the best parts of HEMLOCK: the fast-paced, suspenseful action that grabs the reader from the first page and refuses to let up. Readers will be instantly engaged. Mysteries, action, surprises, and more action await the reader on every page. This is not a placeholder book two put here to act as a bridge from the first book in a trilogy to the last. This book is a plot-filled, high stakes ride the entire way through.

I liked the secondary characters that are introduced in THORNHILL. I can't discuss that without giving away spoilers, but I enjoyed the way Mac's relationships pushed her to grow as a person. She's still the same feisty, courageous girl we had in HEMLOCK, but she has to dig a little deeper and sacrifice a little more to do what needs to be done, and she has to learn how to re-shape her view of someone she'd previously written off in anger. Readers will connect with Mac's journey, and will also feel invested in the secondary characters.

The world building is exceptional. The author explores politics, family, and prejudice in a nuanced, layered approach that often raises more questions instead of giving pat answers. There isn't a false note in the entire story--the reader feels completely convinced that lupine syndrome exists, that the camps are plausible, and that humans have divided themselves (even within families) into those who support werewolf rights and those who can't see werewolfs as anything but dangerous threats to the rest of the world.

What Left Me Wanting More:

The only thing that left me wanting more was the romantic tension. In HEMLOCK, the romantic tension and swoony moments between Mac and Kyle came to life on the page and pulled the reader in. Perhaps it's the non-stop action or the circumstances Mac and Kyle find themselves in, but I didn't feel as connect to their relationship as I'd hoped.

Final Verdict:

With non-stop action and heart-pounding suspense, THORNHILL is a sequel that delivers.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Vicki M. Shoot the Wounded Hey all.  I read a great book that I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Guy Young I just finished Shoot the Wounded.  I actually read the sequel first, Heal the..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kristin I ADORED (this) book. As a teenager it really spoke to me.  Readers will be engaged..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by C. M. This is a book about three friends in high school, Leigh, Ronnie and Jake. ..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Carrie T. I was given this book from a friend who said, "you just have to..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Lorie P. Shoot the Wounded is about real friends who face real life situations.  Jake is..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Kendayl Morris I just finished reading Shoot the Wounded and I really loved it!  It's a page..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Conner O. I don't usually pick up books like this, but the cover intrigued me as did..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Talia I just finished reading this book, and I could not put it down!  A friend recommended..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Caleb Booth  This book dares to cast light into the dark places of life. It encourages us..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Sandra S. Really enjoyed reading this book.  I thought the story was well told and realistic and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by JrHighTeacher "Shoot the Wounded" by Lynn Dove is probably one of the best Young Adult (YA)..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Alyssa H. This book was amazing. From the moment I started reading it, it kept me intrigued..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Paula This is such an amazing book!  Couldn't put it down once I started reading it.  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Busy Mom   I finally found a book that both my son and daughter enjoyed and I loved..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Susan "Shoot the Wounded" is a great book and I couldn't put it down.  The characters..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Terry My son never gets excited about books but this one he couldn't put down and..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Hockey Mom Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove is one of the best new novels I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Tanna Lee Just read Shoot the Wounded by Lynn Dove and I couldn't put it down!  I..."
Shoot the Wounded (Wounded #1)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Mimi I couldn't stop once I started. It captures the audience no matter the age, and brings..."