Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 5234
Can I live in this world, please?
(Updated: August 15, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
What I loved:
It's been a long time since I felt like a book was written just for me. How did April Genevieve Tulcholke know all the ways to stir my inner gothic hipster? How did she know I used to dress in my grandmother's clothes and pretend I was a temptress in the 40's? She has powers, you see. Deep, dark, authorly powers.

It's clear from the first page that DEVIL is steeped in lush, eerie prose reminiscent of the horror pro Edgar Allen Poe.

Poe pro?

Pro Poe?

Either way you slice it, DEVIL is Poe Pro all the way.

Violet takes the reader on a tour of her sleepy, superstitious coastal town, with its slow pace and summertime rituals, as well as every nook and cranny of her cliffside, crumbling mansion. You feel so at home in Violet's world that you never want to leave. And then River West arrives, swaggering right up to the front door, dressed like a boy right out of the 20's, and you fall in love a little. Maybe even a lot. Especially when he serves you espresso and cooks you breakfast with organic eggs.

But the moment he arrives, horrible things start happening across town. Missing kids. Murder. The townsfolk believe it's the work of the devil, and they might be right. Violet's grandmother warned her about the devil, but River's smooth talk and gentle ways make it hard for Violet to heed that warning. River can charm the doubt out of anyone's mind, even the reader's. By the end of the book, you're still not sure if Violet should trust him or run screaming for her life into the hills.

I can't wait to get my hands on the sequel and uncover all the secrets Tucholke has woven here.


What left me wanting more:
Without giving too much away, I must say the ending was quite a surprise. Going back, I noticed the clues Tucholke left for the reader, but it didn't end the way I expected. In fact, I'm guessing this ending isn't even *truly* the end. I think it's another twist -- another masterful diversion, which are plentiful in DEVIL -- that will just end up blowing our minds in Book 2.


Final Verdict:
I devoured DEVIL in a handful of hours, taking breaks to just stop, close my eyes, and revel in certain sentences and scenes. Tucholke is a master of mood. This could very well be one of the few books I read multiple times just so I can keep going back to live in Violet's world.
Good Points
- For Edgar Allen Poe fans; those who dig an organic, vintage lifestyle; coffee lovers who are hopeless romantics; and those who love gothic mansions, gauzy clouds, and dancing to songs played on the Victrola.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 2 0

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
November 10, 2013
I thought the cover for this one was lovely, but I didn't expect much since I'm not a huge paranormal fan. Your review has totally convinced me that I need this book in my life, though. Maybe I'll wait until the sequel's out, though :P
November 12, 2013
In reply to an earlier comment

Yay! I LOVED it. :)
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The City Beautiful
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Death lurks around every corner in this unforgettable Jewish historical...
The Shape of Thunder
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cora hasn’t spoken to her best friend, Quinn, in a...
Everyone Dies Famous in a Small Town
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A lyrical and heartfelt collection by an award-winning writer that...
The Republic of Birds
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
A young witch must save her sister from evil birds...
Fearless
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Better Nate than Ever meets Love Sugar Magic in this...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It was a test, you fool,” she sneered, “to see...
Ducks on the Road: A Counting Adventure
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Caldecott Honor artist Anita Lobel comes a touching and...
Sloth and Smell the Roses
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A playful board book about the pillars of mindfulness from...
Curious About Insects
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for the littlest bug buffs, this board book offers...
The Box in the Woods (Truly Devious, #4)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After solving the case of Truly Devious, Stevie Bell...
Simone Breaks All the Rules
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of You Should See Me in...
Chess Not Checkers
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Chess not Checkers is a teen novel with adult adventures...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After surviving the Crossing, Zahru has sworn off adventures. While...
Curse of the Specter Queen
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
MAY THE HAZEL BRING YOU WISDOM AND THE ASPEN...
Revolution in Our Time: The Black Panther Party’s Promise to the People
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
With passion and precision, Kekla Magoon relays an essential account...
Kneel
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
This fearless debut novel explores racism, injustice, and self-expression through...

Latest Member Reviews

No entries were found