Review Detail

Rogue (Croak #3) Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2018
A Perfect Conclusion to the Series
Overall rating 
 
5.0
Plot 
 
5.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
5.0
This review will be spoiler-free for the series.

What I Loved:
Today I shall exhort you to begin reading Gina Damico's Croak series, assuming you haven't already. If you stop by here often, then you probably know that I'm pretty stingy with my 5 star ratings, giving them out only in cases where a book has made me an emotional mess, sucked me in so much I forget the real world, AND been, from my limited perspective, unimpeachable in quality. Most series go out with more of a whimper than a bang, but, in this case, the finale is the strongest book in the series, which is why I am going to fangirl as hard as I can, and encourage all of you with good senses of humor to read this as soon as possible.

From Croak onward, Gina Damico has excelled at humor and narrative voice. She writes a mixture of black comedy and straight up silliness that I find positively enchanting. The sort of people who enjoy television shows like Dead Like Me and Pushing Daisies simply MUST read this series. Her style has a really unique flair. She chooses really weird terms or phrasing at times, but somehow they're completely perfect for the moment. A good example is her creativity in coming up with swear words. Ordinarily, I find invented swear words in novels irritating, rather than amusing or clever, but Damico's are perfection and likely to enter my actual vocabulary. Here are some examples: "shitballs," "everdeathing," and "douchecrate." While probably not to everyone's tastes, if those make you giggle, it's a sign that Damico's writing is meant for you.

However, there's more than just humor in this series. Though Croak is, so far as my memory can recall, largely a darkly comic fluffy book, with a bit of intensity right at the end, both Scorch and Rogue have far more serious moments. In Scorch, they weren't quite as well balanced and that ended up being my least favorite in the series. By Rogue, Damico's got it down, handling serious moments with proper seriousness, making me want to cry, and then lightening the mood on the next page so that I'm grinning like an idiot. It's a bit of an emotional roller coaster, with much of the comedy being of the sort to help keep them moving in the face of overwhelming odds.

The characters all sparkle with wit, vivacity and uniqueness. I love each and every one of them, basically, though Mort is my special favorite and going on my book boyfriend list. Gina Damico writes banter between characters like no one else. All of the grim reapers in their little group make fun of one another constantly, but there is real love underneath that, so completely evident through it all. Even better, Damico doesn't neglect the supporting cast at all. In fact, by book three, there almost isn't a supporting cast because they're all so important to the plot and accomplishing what must be done. There's an ending for all of the characters you've come to love, whether happy or sad, and it's not just about Lex and Driggs, who I do ship something fierce by the way.

Since I'm not going to delve into any spoilers for the series, I'll keep this high level and relatively brief (for me anyway). The last thing I need to say is that Damico has guts. She steps outside of traditional YA lines and takes big risks. The stakes are high and she kills a lot of characters, with rather a Whedonesque flair. She gets the utmost respect from me for that. The series also abounds with twists, some of which I called and some which totally blindsided me, all combining to make a wholly engrossing and emotional reading experience.

The Final Verdict:
Gina Damico's Croak series is officially ranked among my favorite books ever, and rereads in the future will be essential. As of this writing, Damico has another book deal for a book called Hellhole about a devil, and I'm already wondering who I have to do what to in order to be able to read that ASAP. So, friends, if you have a similar taste in humor, then you want this in your life. Trust me. If you don't trust me, why are you here?
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
August 13, 2013
I enjoyed the first two books pretty well, so I'm glad to hear the final is the best of the three. I'm a little sad to hear so many characters die, though :P If I remember correctly, there was a pretty crappy death in the previous one. I have a bad memory, though :P I might have to refresh my memory before reading so I can fully appreciate the finale.
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and Erika...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The definitive collection of art, poetry, and prose, celebrating fat...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventh-grader Tristan Strong feels anything but strong ever since he...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Still reeling from her recent battle (and grounded until she...
Cog
Cog
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Cog looks like a normal twelve-year-old boy. But his name...
Homerooms and Hall Passes
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the mystical realm of Bríandalör, every day the brave...
Susan B. Anthony: The Making of America #4
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the fourth installment in the Making of America series,...
Hazel's Theory of Evolution
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Hazel knows a lot about the world. That’s because when...
Sublime Karma
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
When Brie’s stepfather moves the family for what he...
Goddess Ascending
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Promised to the Light. Hunted by the Dark. Two...
Crown of Coral and Pearl
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
Nor once dreamed of seeing the wondrous wealth and...
#Murderfunding (#MurderTrending, #2)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
WELCOME TO WHO WANTS TO BE A PAINIAC?, the...
Voyages in the Underworld of Orpheus Black
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Harry Black is lost between the world of war...
Vow of Thieves (Dance of Thieves, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Kazi and Jase have survived, stronger and more in...
The Lady Rogue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Last Magician meets A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and...
A Very Pikmi Halloween (Pikmi Pops)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Pikmi Pops(TM) are the latest collectible craze! Join these cute...

Latest Member Reviews

Anne's Numbers: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
 
5.0
"This board book features absolutely gorgeous designs that celebrate, primarily, the settings from the ANNE OF GREEN GABLES series. Counting..."
Anne's Alphabet: Inspired by Anne of Green Gables
 
5.0
"ANNE’S ALPHABET features gorgeous images of hand-embroidered scenes from ANNE OF GREEN GABLES along with a letter and term that..."
Paddington on Top
 
5.0
"When school inspectors come to the Browns' door and claim that it is necessary for Paddington to report to school,..."
Little Women
 
5.0
">“Let us be elegant or die!” I’d like to confess up front, I avoided reading this book..."
Anne of Green Gables (Anne of Green Gables #1)
 
5.0
"What begins as an altruistic desire for child labor turns into an a life-altering venture into parenting for an aging..."
Around the World in Eighty Days
 
5.0
"A fictional travelogue of sorts, this steady-driving journey began a bit blandly but picked up steam and endearment as it..."
This is the House That Monsters Built
 
4.0
"Giving the traditional nursery rhyme The House That Jack Built a nice Halloween twist, author Steve Metzger manages to work..."
Gris Grimly's Tales from the Brother's Grimm
 
5.0
"What I Liked: This is just the chapter sampler but I am blown away once again by the amazingness that..."
Amelia Bedelia Chapter Book #9: Amelia Bedelia on the Job
 
5.0
"I grew up on Amelia Bedelia books. I remember the ever funny adventures she used to get in to, and..."
Caps for Sale: A Tale of a Peddler, Some Monkeys and Their Monkey Business
 
5.0
"A cap peddler wears all of his wares on his head. After a day of making no sales, he sets..."
The Little Prince
 
3.5
"A classic, allegorical work of children’s fiction—one which may be more aimed at a jaded, unimaginative adult audience more so..."
A Bridge to Wiseman's Cove
 
3.0
" I have read many reviews for this book and am surprised about the amount of people who enjoyed this..."
Les Miserables
 
4.5
"Let me begin by saying that Marcia Williams is a phenomenal artist. Her unique graphic novel style format is fun..."
Treasure Island
 
3.0
"It's probably blasphemous to fall short of loving a classic, but I'm afraid that's what I'm having to admit to..."
 
5.0
"Might wanna read this novel first before you answer that. A great YA novel with a really strong female..."
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Alice #1)
 
5.0
"After a disappointing first 3 months of 2013, I come across this gem! I had been meaning to get this..."
 
5.0
"This year, i read the book Call of the Wild by Jack London. The Call of the Wild takes place..."
Alice's Adventures in Wonderland (Alice #1)
 
3.0
"I first read this story because of my 9th grade English Teacher. He was this weird guy who told us..."
Charlie and the Chocolate Factory (Charlie Bucket #1)
 
5.0
"Great book! Great characters. Great classic. NOTICE! 100% BETTER THAN THE MOVIE! Best Part: "Daddy I want a squirrel!"..."
 
4.0
" White Fang was a superb book. In the beginning it was a little confusing, with everything that was going..."