Review Detail

Great Second Book
(Updated: August 09, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.3
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
5.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
There’s nothing like a good steampunk that mixes magic and history, Charmed Vengeance by Suzanne Lazear is exactly that. I love most things that have fairy lore because there are so many variations on it but there are always the basic elements. The fairy courts, the wlydwood and Tiana. I really like the world that Suzanne creates because it’s an alter version of history. If you read her author note at the end she mentions how she took some liberties with it. Which of course how else would do you a history that includes steampunk? You are not going to find airships in your history book. It’s such a great blend though. There is something awesome about mechanics and corsets.

Let’s just say I have always loved airships, have always loved pirates and have always wanted to be a female captain of a pirate airship. Enter Vix, full of awesomeness. I think if I was in the book I would be looking at her with awe. Seriously I almost clapped my hands with excitement while reading when she came on the scene. She is one tough lady and her relationship with Jeff is adorable. I liked how they portrayed them as partners in their endeavors in a world where women are meant to be in their place. She is not the only female air pirate though. There is also the Hayden Follies crew of all girls.

I love the three different journeys that the book is divided into. How you keep thinking oh they are going to cross paths and then they don’t. That whole anticipation factor of that happening is one of my favorite things when I read. It helps propel the book forward because you're anxious to see when and if it will happen. Although I found Noli and Kevighn’s the most interesting and V’s questing was just okay. Although it got James up and moving and the banter between the brothers is always amusing. I think if the book was solely focused on their quest then more could have been done with it but even though I think it wasn’t my favorite of the three storylines I did find it to be appropriate amount of detail.

Noli’s dedication to V warms my heart. She never doubts him, even when others look at her like she should. I love that about her character and it makes her stronger because of it. She misses V and because of some of the circumstances she is in a lot of emotional pain. We don’t see her moping around feeling sorry for herself. She also has to deal with sprite in her head and as much as I would worry for her getting committed, her conversations with the sprite were amusing. I thought her and the sprite started to really jive together.

So Kevighn, sometimes I feel like I shouldn’t like him but I really do. I love how cute he is when he talks about Noli. I mean I love V and all but sometimes he can seem like a spoiled prince, where Kevighn has this strangely attractive dark roughness about him. I really wanted him to see Noli again, even though he probably is bad for her.

The whole book has such a sad undertone. Just from events that occurred in the previous book. I mean seriously the prologue right off the bat cinches your heart. Plus everyone is dealing with some rough waters.

The plot and the pacing of the book are great. I thought dividing the story into the three parts really kept it moving. I easily read this in a day because it captivated me that much. I enjoyed it and it didn’t suffer from middle book syndrome. I felt like it did a great job setting up for book number three and I’m excited to continue on with the series.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Life Below
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...

Latest Member Reviews

Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."
The Queen's Assassin (Queen's Secret, #1)
 
3.3
"THE QUEEN'S ASSASSIN is a YA fantasy romance that would appeal to younger YA readers. The book follows Shadow and..."
Scavenge the Stars (Scavenge the Stars #1)
 
5.0
"SCAVENGE THE STARS is an engaging YA fantasy that gripped me from the start. Amaya, or Silverfish, is a girl..."
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
"Isn't great to finish a series and feel satisfied? Sword and Pen by Rachel Caine is the final book in..."
Wonder Woman: Warbringer (DC Icons #1)
 
3.7
"I snapped this one up because I love Wonder Woman, and I much appreciated Leigh Bardugo's adept writing in Six..."