Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1642
Engaging
Overall rating 
 
3.7
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Grasping at Eternity was a difficult but engaging read. The thing with the book is, so many things happen that you can't leave the book - I just had to finish it in one go. Though I found the book a bit difficult to follow at the start, with all the information overwhelming me, after about a hundred pages, I got the flow.

The book hits the ground running - the main character, Maryah, witnesses her parents and brothers being murdered by two strange men. She is also attacked but mangages to survive - thanks to Nathaniel, her soulmate and Krista, her cousin. She arrives at her godmother's house and is finds them all a bit strange, but goes along with it because she doesn't know what to do. Her life seems desolate, her cousin seems to want her to stay here and she has a major case of survivor's guilt. Meanwhile, all the family members (it's a big one) already know her from past lives and all are dancing around that fact that they all are supernatural souls, Elements- who can remember each of their past lives, have powers and are born in pairs, thus being soulmates. They reincarnate and chose their lives before being born, staying close to their kindrily. This all is not a spoiler since it appears like in the first few chapters itself - the primary reason I was so lost in the starting; the backstory and all the characters and powers were a bit tough to remember (I jotted down in a notebook to keep track - a first for me). So, Nathaniel is Maryah's soulmate and the few times she sees him in her dreams, she thinks he is an angel of death; until she sees him for real and begins to doubt her own sanity. Her life is in danger as some evil Nefariouns (I found this name lame, btw) who are out for life for some reason - and it seems to be tied into why she willingly erased her memories before being born in this life. Her current-life-amnesia makes for intense situations, as the rest of the family knows her but can't tell her as she might not believe them. Nate is tormented by the loss of his soulmate - if she can't remember him, what hope does their love have?

In terms of plot development, most of the book deals with Maryah and her memories. The evil Elements are more or less in the back burner, not posing immediate danger but a definite foreshadowing is there. The situations are so well thought out and planned - I must commend the author for her excellent writing, start of the book excluded. As for the characters, Maryah came across a bit judgemental to me - she started making assumptions on the go and her instincts were so wrong; I didn't even understand why she wanted to be friends with an ass like River, when she had so Faith and other members of the family. I get that he was the only one she could relate to, but come on, the guy was a class A jerk from the first line that dropped from his mouth. Nathaniel is the tortured hero - wishing desperately for his soulmate's memories to be back; he was sweet, stalking notwithstanding but sparks were really needed. Their love development kind of lacked a bit, as they are reincarnated souls and all; I would have loved it better if he was trying to love her as she was in this life rather than the angst over her 'hollowness'. When her memory came back, the 'I love you's came out so instantly. With so many characters into play in this book, it would be hard to pick one favorite, but I loved Carson - he was dropping so many hints, it was hilarious.

On the mythology of the book, well, since I do believe in reincarnation, I found it interesting how 'the eyes are the window to the soul' theory was taken literally in this book but I didn't really get the stars. Also, it wasn't really explained that why are these souls picked - do they serve a higher purpose? I really hope the next book delves into the mythology a bit more, with the souls and what erasing its' memories really mean.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Forward March
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Love, loss, and the surprising aphrodisiacs of the band...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Immerse yourself in a strange and beautiful world as you...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The inspiring, deeply patriotic true story of John Glenn, a...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A wildly imaginative introduction to yoga and nutrition by bestselling...
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A book jam-packed with eight creative activities to make beautiful...
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Tricia Levenseller, author of Daughter of the Pirate King, is...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
It had been a great day. Perhaps the Best Day…...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Far away from the modern world, on a small tropical...

Latest Member Reviews

Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
"Mr. Penguins and his friends Colin the spider and Edith are trying to keep a rock safe from dastardly types..."
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
"JONNY LAMBERT'S CONSTRUCTION SITE tells the story of how a house is made, with a focus on the many trucks..."
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
"POP-UP PEEKABOO! BABY ANIMALS is a charming lift-the-flap and pop-up picture book. Each spread features a parent animal who is..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"Best friends….secret love….y’all Michelle MacQueen put my two favorite tropes into one incredibly sweet story. Roman and the Hopeless Romantic..."
Adeline's Aria
 
4.0
" The Story: Addie has an obsession with British rocker Jude, but it's just a fan..."
 
5.0
" This book doesn't meet the expectations of most kid's books about the ocean with their bright and..."
 
5.0
" John Glenn is unlike any other public figure before or after him. His story isn't simply a..."
 
5.0
"The first time my niece saw me do a yoga video, she was obsessed. She's five years old and it..."
 
5.0
"We all know crafting stuff can be expensive and when it comes to kid's crafts, it creates more waste than..."
The Slug Queen Chronicles
 
5.0
"When Cricket finds out that the dust she's seen her whole life has magical properties and her late mother could..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
5.0
"Another chilling story from L.V. Pires. This one started out with the main character from Book 1, Casey, fighting an..."
Ghosting You
 
4.8
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A heartwarming love story. The Story: Tommy..."
A Pain Less Ordinary
 
5.0
"A Pain Less Ordinary is a tragic tale of a modern girl whose family has fallen apart. Becca struggles to..."
The Waiting Mortuary
 
5.0
"I'm not normally one to read horror fiction, but I thought I'd give this book a chance and was blown..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Roman and the Hopeless Romantic (Gulf City High)
 
5.0
"After Cassie witnesses the murder of her mother, she develops anxiety over just about everything. She doesn't talk to anyone..."
Seneca Lake
 
4.8
"Meg lives in a small town in upstate NY (outside Ithaca) in the later years of WWII. She is torn..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."