Review Detail

Playing Tyler Featured
Young Adult Fiction 2084
An Intriguing Story
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Since I first heard about Playing Tyler, around the time I saw the stunning cover, I have been excited for it. The whole gaming concept is intriguing to me. For me though, Playing Tyler was a read that just didn't reach its full potential.

I enjoyed Ani as a character - her storyline was what intrigued me most about Playing Tyler, and I wish it had been featured more throughout the book. The emphasis was really on Tyler and his relationships with his family, in addition to his brother's drug addiction. Ani is smart as a whip - smart heroines rock!

The stakes in Playing Tyler are astronomically high. Playing Tyler is a slow build type of novel - around the three-quarters mark, things suddenly speed up and from there it is a sprint to the finish line or the end. The last quarter of the book was brilliant - I wish the rest had matched up in terms of pace and plot.

One of Playing Tyler's strengths is the villain - the villain is both well written and exceedingly clever. Every twist that is thrown at Ani and Tyler was very well planned.

I was sad when the book ended, since the last quarter of the book so much had happened. I was hoping there would be a little more closure to Ani and Tyler's story. By the story's end, I really enjoyed the growth both Ani and Tyler had made as characters, but particularly Ani. She is such a strong character and doesn't exactly realize it until the end.

I would be curious to read more from TL Costa in the future, since while I found Playing Tyler to have its faults, there were still a number of strengths. Fans of thrillers, who don't mind a slow build, will devour this one.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

2 results - showing 1 - 2
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
July 24, 2013
I never would have guessed the story involved video games, romance, or a possible conspiracy from the cover.
August 11, 2013
In reply to an earlier comment

I guessed video games from the subtitle. This cover actually stood out to me quite a bit. What is the military plane/drone doing? That really got my curiosity.
2 results - showing 1 - 2
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...

Latest Member Reviews

The Devouring Gray (The Devouring Gray, #1)
 
5.0
"This bone-chilling YA fantasy follows four teens as they dig through the mysteries of their past and present to have..."
By a Charm and a Curse
 
5.0
"Emmaline King is slowly adjusting to her new town. Nothing particularly exciting happens there, so when the Le Grand Carnival..."