Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 5203
Intriguing Premise, Predictable Ending
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Insomnia started out with my full attention; Parker’s ability to visit people in their dreams and the toll it was taking on his body, the mystery surrounding Mia’s stalker, and Parker’s increasingly unreliable narration were all interesting enough to keep me turning the pages. As Insomnia breached the halfway mark however, I found that what had originally kept me intrigued was slowly becoming more and more predictable.

As with most science fiction, Insomnia requires a certain suspension of disbelief. However, I found that some of the things I was being asked to take at face value were a bit too far-fetched. Parker claims he hasn’t slept in four years, so why has it taken his mother this long to notice the effects of his lack of sleep? How am I supposed to believe it’s taken her four years to suggest that he go to the doctor if he’s been having trouble sleeping? And considering it’s been four years, why does Parker only feel a sense of urgency about his situation once the doctor confirms that someone can die from the effects of sleep deprivation? I understand that Parker was able to get a sense of rest when he “slept” while his Dreamer was still awake, which would explain how he was able to make it so long without sleep, but I didn’t understand why his visit to the doctor seemed to increase the speed with which his body deteriorated – especially considering it was shortly after his visit to the doctor that he managed to get in a few nights of restful sleep, thanks to Mia.

Fortunately, I was mostly able to shove most of these issues to the side, because I really enjoyed Insomnia’s initial setup. Watching Parker experience dreams was fascinating, and I really enjoyed the detail Johansson went in to with describing his experiences with them. The way the Dreamer’s emotions washed over Parker, engulfing him completely in the moment, and the way the dreams were described as occurring in layers, made for such vivid imagery that I often felt like I was experiencing the dream alongside Parker. I also found that many of Parker’s anxieties over not sleeping were founded in a reality I appreciated, with his tremors increasing in frequency and his ability to focus meagre at best. When he found solace in Mia’s dreams, I understood his frenetically manic desire to experience that kind of peaceful sleep every night. While it didn’t fully excuse all of his stalkerish actions, it did allow me to empathize with the drastic measures he took in order to ensure he could sleep.

Unfortunately, after Insomnia’s initial setup, the plot took a predictable turn and stayed on a steadily typical course until its conclusion. While I appreciated Parker’s unreliable narration, I kept waiting for him to get caught being unreliable; I wanted his friends to notice that he was hallucinating, or for something big to happen which sent Parker into a downward spiral where he began to truly panic over his loss of control on reality. Parker seemed to approach his psychosis with acceptance, however, which removed a lot of the suspense and tension I had been feeling about his narration. It also made me doubt his unreliable narration, which might explain why I wasn’t surprised by Insomnia’s final twist at the end.

With a rather unique and intriguing premise, Insomnia had a lot going for it. And while certains aspects lived up to my expectations for this psychological thriller, others failed to reach their full potential. While I don’t think that Insomnia will be a read that stays with me long, I would be interested in reading the sequel in order to learn more about Parker’s father, Parker’s ability, and how the two are connected.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

The Dark Tide
 
5.0
"THE DARK TIDE is an enthralling and atmospheric YA fantasy read. We follow Lina, a townsperson, and Eva, the witch..."
Little Creeping Things
 
3.7
"LITTLE CREEPING THINGS was definitely a engrossing read, as I finished it pretty quickly. Here, we have Cassidy, who has..."
I'm Not Dying with You Tonight
 
3.7
"Los Angeles, Ferguson, and Baltimore. Three cities where years of racism, injustice, unchecked police brutality, and rampant anti-Black racism came..."
Scared Little Rabbits
 
3.0
"SCARED LITTLE RABBITS follows Nora (aka Eleanor, Lowercase) as she sets out on a summer camp adventure that resulted in..."
Reverie
 
5.0
"REVERIE is a captivating and unique YA fantasy without adequate comparisons. The book follows Kane, a teenage boy who was..."
The Dark Beneath the Ice
 
4.0
"THE DARK BENEATH THE ICE is a stunningly written YA horror that follows Marianne as she starts losing time, sees..."
The Storm Crow (The Storm Crow, #1)
 
5.0
"THE STORM CROW is an engrossing and imaginative YA fantasy. Anthia (Thia) is a princess of Rhodaire and eagerly awaits..."
Kingsbane (Empirium, #2)
 
4.7
"This exciting and fast-paced sequel picks up right where the first book left off. For that reason, this book does..."
Furyborn (Empirium, #1)
 
4.7
"FURYBORN is a YA fantasy that does not disappoint! We begin by seeing the world through the eyes of a..."
Catching Jordan
 
4.7
"It's sooooo cute!!!!!! I shipped Jordan and Sam pretty much from page 1. I can't praise this book enough...."
Stealing Parker
 
5.0
"I am a big fan and proud to say This book is amazing, and that's it I am no lyrical..."
The Six
 
3.0
"“The Six” is an intriguing sci-fi book about Adam Armstrong, who has Duchenne muscular dystrophy and is nearing his death..."