Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4976
Intriguing Premise, Predictable Ending
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
Insomnia started out with my full attention; Parker’s ability to visit people in their dreams and the toll it was taking on his body, the mystery surrounding Mia’s stalker, and Parker’s increasingly unreliable narration were all interesting enough to keep me turning the pages. As Insomnia breached the halfway mark however, I found that what had originally kept me intrigued was slowly becoming more and more predictable.

As with most science fiction, Insomnia requires a certain suspension of disbelief. However, I found that some of the things I was being asked to take at face value were a bit too far-fetched. Parker claims he hasn’t slept in four years, so why has it taken his mother this long to notice the effects of his lack of sleep? How am I supposed to believe it’s taken her four years to suggest that he go to the doctor if he’s been having trouble sleeping? And considering it’s been four years, why does Parker only feel a sense of urgency about his situation once the doctor confirms that someone can die from the effects of sleep deprivation? I understand that Parker was able to get a sense of rest when he “slept” while his Dreamer was still awake, which would explain how he was able to make it so long without sleep, but I didn’t understand why his visit to the doctor seemed to increase the speed with which his body deteriorated – especially considering it was shortly after his visit to the doctor that he managed to get in a few nights of restful sleep, thanks to Mia.

Fortunately, I was mostly able to shove most of these issues to the side, because I really enjoyed Insomnia’s initial setup. Watching Parker experience dreams was fascinating, and I really enjoyed the detail Johansson went in to with describing his experiences with them. The way the Dreamer’s emotions washed over Parker, engulfing him completely in the moment, and the way the dreams were described as occurring in layers, made for such vivid imagery that I often felt like I was experiencing the dream alongside Parker. I also found that many of Parker’s anxieties over not sleeping were founded in a reality I appreciated, with his tremors increasing in frequency and his ability to focus meagre at best. When he found solace in Mia’s dreams, I understood his frenetically manic desire to experience that kind of peaceful sleep every night. While it didn’t fully excuse all of his stalkerish actions, it did allow me to empathize with the drastic measures he took in order to ensure he could sleep.

Unfortunately, after Insomnia’s initial setup, the plot took a predictable turn and stayed on a steadily typical course until its conclusion. While I appreciated Parker’s unreliable narration, I kept waiting for him to get caught being unreliable; I wanted his friends to notice that he was hallucinating, or for something big to happen which sent Parker into a downward spiral where he began to truly panic over his loss of control on reality. Parker seemed to approach his psychosis with acceptance, however, which removed a lot of the suspense and tension I had been feeling about his narration. It also made me doubt his unreliable narration, which might explain why I wasn’t surprised by Insomnia’s final twist at the end.

With a rather unique and intriguing premise, Insomnia had a lot going for it. And while certains aspects lived up to my expectations for this psychological thriller, others failed to reach their full potential. While I don’t think that Insomnia will be a read that stays with me long, I would be interested in reading the sequel in order to learn more about Parker’s father, Parker’s ability, and how the two are connected.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
4.0 (1)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Wild Queen: The Days and Nights of Mary Queen of Scots
 
3.7
SamSam
"The Wild Queen is another Carolyn Meyer historical fiction. I have read a few of her other Young Royal books..."
Isabel: Jewel of Castilla, Spain, 1466 (The Royal Diaries)
 
5.0
"I think girls would read this book and all the others in the Royal Diaries.I think they enjoy history and..."
The Bad Queen: Rules and Instructions for Marie-Antoinette (Young Royals #6)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Jazmyn Throughout history Marie Antoinette has been seen as a pompous and heartless ruler, a queen..."
The Bad Queen: Rules and Instructions for Marie-Antoinette (Young Royals #6)
 
4.0
"I love historical fiction. I also love 18th century France with the lush costumes and gorgeous courts. The..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Mary Anne Boleyns story is one that is often told with disgust or pity the..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by lulabell0513 Reading this story is like taking a step back in time into Henry VIII's era. This..."
Loving Will Shakespeare
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Jocelyn Anne Hathaway is simply a yeomans daughter, and Will Shakespeare is a boy who..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by Jessica M. The author of the book wrote this book from Anne's point of view. I admit,..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan I felt so sorry for Mary reading this book. I mean her dad disowned her...."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan Elizabeth is a strong person. I felt bad for mary until she tormented people so...."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Mandy Joan I have no sympathy for Anne. She's like a nowaday gold digger. Henry would have..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique Anne Boleyn, the second wife of Henry VIII, was beheaded on charges of adultery. But..."
Doomed Queen Anne (Young Royals #3)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Kittygirl At the young age of 13, Anne Boleyn declares her ambition to someday become Queen of..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique Before becoming queen of England, Elizabeth Tudor lived through many hardships. She was even imprisoned!..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
3.0
"Reader reviewed by linda The story of Elizabeth before she became the Queen of England. Elizatheth is smart, determined, and..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
5.0
"Reader reviewed by Maria This book is amazing. When you start to read you can't put it down. ..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Dominique If you've ever wondered why Mary was nicknamed "Bloody Mary" or what caused her to seem..."
Mary, Bloody Mary (Young Royals #1)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by RBA Mary was always considered as cruel and unruly, but this is not true. In Mary,..."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Babydex Everybody loves to sit and wonder what really went on between those old kings and queens...."
Beware, Princess Elizabeth (Young Royals #2)
 
4.0
"Reader reviewed by Taylor Eliabeth I is one of England's most famous nobles and by far the most well known..."