Review Detail

Stolen Hot
Young Adult Fiction 3358
Masterful at Manipulating Emotions
(Updated: July 01, 2013)
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Stolen has left me completely and utterly confused. Confused about my feelings toward Ty, confused about my feelings toward Gemma’s desire to escape at all costs, and confused about my desire to see Gemma fall in love with Ty. As Stolen worked to explore the effects of Stockholm Syndrome, I found myself completely captivated by its subtlety and surprisingly touching moments between captor and captive.

From the moment Gemma wakes from her drug-induced stupor, she is on edge, waiting for the moment when Ty snaps and breaks his promise of never hurting her. Her constant mistrust and wariness of her captor worked to create a level of suspense that kept me gripping Stolen’s pages. While Ty worked his hardest to prove that he was harmless, and that he was doing Gemma a favor by rescuing her from negligent parents and the noisy city, there was a certain…manic quality to some of his actions that hinted at a certain instability lurking beneath his mostly calm facade. The slightly frenzied gleam in his eyes, the tightening of his muscles and the increased pitch to his voice whenever Gemma asked him a question that made him uncomfortable worked seamlessly to paint this sometimes simple character with a much sinister brush. His dual characterization, the deranged kidnapper who was obviously harbouring some serious mental health issues versus the gentle artist who wanted nothing more than for Gemma to love him and his land as much as he loved them both, played at my heartstrings and my head; I was constantly changing my opinion of Ty, which constantly changed how I viewed his relationship with Gemma.

Because of my constantly changing opinion of Ty, I was constantly at war with my feelings for Gemma as well. When I was fearful of Ty, I was quick to encourage Gemma’s various attempts at escape. When I sympathized with Ty, especially after he shared a story from his childhood, I was dismayed by Gemma’s reluctance to see that he was trying his hardest to make her happy. Stolen played my emotions like a violin, and I absolutely loved it for it! I could never decide what course of action Gemma should take, so I was constantly at war with her decisions: was the possibility of escape worth the hazards of the desert? Was pushing Ty’s buttons, or probing him for sensitive information, the best course of action when you feared for your life? Was it worth it to encourage Ty to share things about himself, if it meant you might start to understand or even empathize with his situation? Was being alone really so hard that turning to Ty for comfort became the more appealing option? When it did come time for Gemma to deal with her feelings about Ty though, she managed to sum up my conflicting emotions as well:

"I hated you for everything; for making me feel so helpless everywhere I went, for making me lose control. I hated you for all the emotions in my head, for the confusion…for the way I was suddenly doubting everything. I hated you for turning my life upside dow nand then smashing it into shards. I hated you for making me stand with a whirring fan in my hand, screaming at my mum.

But I hated you for something else too. Right then, and at every moment since you’d left me, all I could think about was you. I wanted you in that apartment. I wanted your arms around me, your face close to mine. I wanted your smell. And I knew I couldn’t-shouldn’t-have it. You’d kidnapped me, put my life in danger..but I loved you too. Or I thought I did. None of it made sense."

While I absolutely loved how emotionally confused Stolen left me, my constant confusion did result in a certain level of separation from Gemma and her actions. How could I ever hope to understand Gemma when I could barely understand my own reactions to her situation?

I think the reason Stolen will stay with me long after finishing it, however, is because of how utterly uncomfortable it made me. I know that what Ty had done was wrong. I know that there was no way to rationalize his actions that would make them right. I know that Gemma was right to constantly fight her imprisonment. And I know that Gemma shouldn’t want to be with Ty. But none of that mattered, because knowing something is completely different from believing in something. And I believed in Ty’s sincerity. I believed that he truly thought he had saved Gemma, that he had rescued her from the life she didn’t want, the life her parent’s were forcing her to live. I believed that Ty meant Gemma no harm, and that he believed she would learn to love him if they spent enough time together, away from the harshness of the city. And I believed that Ty and Gemma shared a strong connection. And the fact that I believed in all of these things is a little disturbing; how can I sympathize with someone who would remove someone’s freedom, tear them away from everything and everyone they know and love, and imprison them in such a dangerous environment? If nothing else, my uncomfortableness is a testament to Christopher’s ability to write a compelling and thought-provoking story.

Emotionally draining, Stolen was masterful at playing with my emotions. I experienced the full spectrum – from fear and anger, to hesitant trust and hopefulness, to a bittersweet acceptance of what can only be described as disturbing love. While I was often uncomfortable with how eager I was to trust and sympathize with a kidnapper, it made for a compelling and intense read!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

1 results - showing 1 - 1
Ordering
Already have an account? or Create an account
September 03, 2013
I have to get my hands in this one
1 results - showing 1 - 1
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Ashes (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"The truth was, I wasn’t on anyone’s side except Claire’s....
Fire (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
After being killed by demons, former angel Adam wakes up...
Spark (The Wings Trilogy: Adam, #1)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"It came out of nowhere. A sweep of emotions. Love,...
The Twin
 
3.7
 
0.0 (0)
After their parents divorced, 10-year-old twins Ivy and Iris were...
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
It's 1940, and Sarah Goldstein is hiding in plain sight...
The Life Below
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
It was hard enough for Naomi to leave Leo, a...
Mr Penguin and the Fortress of Secrets (Mr Penguin #2)
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Meet Mr. Penguin―Adventurer (And Penguin!) When Mr. Penguin...
Famous by Default
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Jax Buried, By my family's fame. Dying to escape...
Sword and Pen (Great Library Book, #5)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
With the future of the Great Library in doubt,...
Butterfly Yellow
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Ibi Zoboi, and...
Jonny Lambert's Construction Site
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
A beautifully illustrated book for babies featuring lots of noisy...
Pop-Up Peekaboo! Baby Animals
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Take your toddler on a rain forest adventure and find...
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kira Fujikawa has never had it easy. She’s...
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
The highly-anticipated, genre-defying new novel by award-winning author Akwaeke...
Gray (The Wings Trilogy, #3)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The long anticipated finale to the Wings Trilogy. ...
Black (The Wings Trilogy, #2)
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
"I was the weak link in the chain, and the...

Latest Member Reviews

The Twin
 
3.7
"When Ivy and Iris were ten, their parents divorced. Ivy lived with their father and Iris with their mother. Then..."
Devil Darling Spy
 
4.7
"Sarah Goldstein, alias Ursulla Haller, is living right under Nazi rule in 1940 Germany. She's the Shirley Temple of the..."
The Life Below
 
4.0
"Naomi can't help but wonder if there was an ulterior motive behind the decision to kick Leo out of the..."
The Stars We Steal
 
3.7
"Jane Austen in space….yes please! The Stars We Steal by Alexa Donne is a futuristic retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion...."
Hearts, Strings, and Other Breakable Things
 
4.0
" The story: After living in foster care since the death of her mother, Edie finally..."
Seven Deadly Shadows
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Kira Fujikawa loves helping at her family shrine. She also has a paranormal ability. She sees the not only..."
The Shadows Between Us
 
5.0
"THE SHADOWS BETWEEN US is the highly devourable YA fantasy I have been searching for! This is an enthralling story..."
 
3.3
"The Betrothed is a brand new YA-novel set in the 15th century by Kiera Cass, whom we all know from..."
Remember Me
 
4.0
"‘First rule of storytelling,’ he says, a glint in his eyes.’ Everything is possible.’ Nell is..."
Lobizona
 
5.0
"Sixteen-year-old Manuela, 'Manu' is in hiding from her father's Argentinian crime family. She also runs the risk of being deported..."
A Very Large Expanse of Sea
 
4.7
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A book that should be on every teen's shelf. ..."
Serious Moonlight
 
5.0
"Birdie and Daniel has the most awkward first encounter. So when Birdie started her job in a historic hotel, she..."
Long Way Down
 
5.0
"I feel like I've been asleep for the last 31 years and I just woke up. I am woke. ..."
The Opposite of Always
 
5.0
"Opposite of Always is a heartfelt and stunning debut; that is worthy of all praise. I am in love..."
Tyler Johnson Was Here
 
5.0
"Tyler Johnson Was Here--did not come to be politically correct, or racially ambiguous. Tyler Johnson came to tell an ugly..."
We Are Not Free
 
5.0
"Fourteen friends who grew up together in Japantown, San Francisco find themselves and their families sent off to incarceration camps..."
The Way You Make Me Feel
 
3.7
"Clara Shin is the class clown and definitely qualifies as a troll too. (Big difference between the two, I'm not..."
Pet
Pet
 
4.7
"Recently recognized as a National Book Award finalist and a Stonewall Honor book, Pet is also Akwaeke Emezi’s YA debut..."
Brown Girl Ghosted
 
4.0
"Sixteen-year-old Violet Choudhury has a huge secret. During the day she's part of her Midwestern town's cheer squad and at..."
Daughter of Chaos (Chilling Adventures of Sabrina, #2)
 
5.0
"DAUGHTER OF CHAOS is another delightful spin-off book from the Netflix version of Sabrina. This one takes place between Parts..."