Review Detail

Zoe Letting Go FeaturedHot
Young Adult Fiction 4378
Different side of eating disorders
Overall rating 
 
3.0
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
3.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book is an ambitious debut novel that takes a very different approach to eating disorders and recovery from anorexia. The novel’s titular protagonist, is sent to a rehab center but doesn’t know why—she’s so very different from the other girls, she doesn’t fit in, she’s not a freak like them, etc., etc. Most of Zoe Letting Go relies on mystery and, at times, it reads something like a psychological thriller, which may or may not have been a good stylistic decision, but definitely made this book stand out.

In the end, I really liked Price’s treatment of Zoe’s mental journey, her interactions with fellow patients, and the way everything at school functioned. At the same time, I didn’t really buy it. Once the reveal happens and the reader discovers why Zoe was really sent to rehab, things don’t make sense. In my opinion, Zoe was right in that she didn’t belong at that place (and certainly, she shouldn’t have been left to figure things out on her own—that defeats the purpose of therapy, correct?). Yes, Zoe was recovering from an eating disorder, but she also had a bunch of issues that could have been dealt with in more effective ways.

Another thing was the sense of menace that filled the atmosphere at the Twin Birch center. The other girls are out to get Zoe, but she doesn’t know why. She views them as evil wraiths, while she sees herself as mostly normal (which, outwardly, she is). Add in the missing places in her memory, and it really felt like Price was attempting to turn Zoe Letting Go into a thriller. The mystery and danger Zoe felt seemed at odds with her progress toward recovery.

On technical aspects. First, I didn’t feel at all that Price had a good grip on her characters. The book is narrated via Zoe’s journal entries and letters to her friend Elise, but the language did not sound like a teenager’s voice at all. I’m sure some teenagers use words like “rectilinearity” and “perplexing” and “somnolent” in normal conversation, but most don’t. Zoe didn’t seem to have a good reason to write in the way she did, being neither bookish, exposed to that kind of language regularly, nor in possession of above-average schooling. As a result, a lot of the language in Zoe Letting Go felt a bit stilted and inauthentic, though it wasn’t exactly bad.

And second, there were plotholes here and there. Some things didn’t add up, or plotlines were picked up and set aside without being resolved. Not a big deal, but the book did leave some lingering questions and confusion.

I did, in the end, enjoy this book. I thought it was well-written and interesting. Maybe I didn’t get all of it, but I did think the story was engaging. I could be tempted to pick up another book of Nora Price’s, should she choose to write another novel. Zoe Letting Go isn’t a remarkable book, but it’s not half bad.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...

Latest Member Reviews

Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
"PAINT BY STICKER KIDS: DINOSAURS is a really delightful creative journey. The book features ten dinosaurs which children can paint..."
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
"A WORLD OF OPPOSITES is a beautiful book of photography from around the world with a focus on opposites. Each..."
Baby Up, Baby Down: A First Book of Opposites
 
4.7
"BABY UP, BABY DOWN is an adorable board book that teaches some basic opposites. Each page features a baby with..."
Star-Spangled: The Story of a Flag, a Battle, and the American Anthem
 
4.3
"The War of 1812 isn't one that really captures the imagination of young readers like the Revolutionary or Civil War..."
 
4.0
"NASA and the US space program are a direct result of the increases in aeronautical technology due to World War..."
Thurgood Marshall
 
5.0
"Born in 1908, Thurgood Marshall experienced an array of institutionalized racial injustices in his New York and Baltimore homes, even..."
Down Under the Pier
 
4.3
"DOWN UNDER THE PIER is a beautifully illustrated poem about the magic that happens, not only above, but also below..."
 
4.0
"Super Cute Illustrations I wasn't expecting a board book when I first saw this, but as soon as I..."
 
5.0
"Girls and women have run for a long time; even the author Louisa May Alcott made distance running part of..."
Helen Keller: The World at Her Fingertips
 
5.0
"Born in 1880, Helen Keller is famous for her persistent nature, but since she died over sixty years ago, she..."
World of Glass: The Art of Dale Chihuly
 
4.7
"This book is a great overview for fans and newcomers alike. The first three chapters cover Chihuly's childhood, college, and..."
Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way
 
5.0
"'Thomas Edison: Lighting the Way,' an I Can Read book by Lori Haskins Houran, illustrated by Gustavo Mazali, is a..."
Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From
 
5.0
"'Literally: Amazing Words and Where They Come From' by Patrick Skipworth, illustrated by Nicholas Stevenson, is a creative book that..."
Personalized Notebook Doodles Adorable Pets Coloring Book
 
5.0
"ADORABLE PETS is full of quotes and pictures about animals. As the title suggests, the pictures are so cute and..."
The Speed of Starlight: An Exploration of Physics, Sound, Light, and Space
 
5.0
"Seriously, this book is huge and gorgeous on a creative level, and a treasure trove of knowledge on an academic..."
1,000 Facts About Ancient Egypt
 
5.0
"1,000 Facts about Ancient Egypt is a National Geographic KIDS book chock full of amazing facts about one of the..."
Flower Power: The Magic of Nature's Healers
 
5.0
"Flower Power is a truly stunning book. The large-scale pages look like paintings (I kind of want to frame them!)..."
Ready, Set, Go!: Sports of All Sorts
 
4.3
"READY, SET, GO!: SPORTS OF ALL SORTS is a fun trip through different sports. The book features rhyming phrases about..."
More than Marmalade: Michael Bond and the Story of Paddington Bear
 
5.0
"More than Marmalade is such a PRECIOUS book. It’s rare that I read a book in one sitting nowadays (due..."
Action Presidents #1: George Washington!
 
4.0
"That story about chopping down the cherry tree that has been trotted out a million times and made into thousands..."