Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 9406
A Decent Read!
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer is one of those books that you either love or hate it. A bunch of reviewers I trust have given this book 1 star, while other reviewers I trust have given this book 5 stars. Mara Dyer is definitely an odd book and I definitely can see why there such a divide in opinions. I'm definitely the odd man out because I definitely enjoyed reading Mara Dyer but at the same time it annoyed me so much.

Mara Dyer is marketed as a paranormal novel but that's not entirely true. Most of the book reads like a contemporary romance, there are only little sprinkles of paranormal aspects spread out through this 450 page book. The bulk of Mara Dyer's paranormal components are part of the book's conclusion and came way too late in my opinion.

Since Mara Dyer is the new girl at school, she suffers from not knowing anyone. She immediately gets on the bad side of the stereotypical mean, popular girl. There was really nothing special about her and she was so memorable that I forgot her name. I expected there to be some sort of paranormal fight between Mara Dyer and "Mean Girl". I wanted Mara to show "Mean Girl" that isn't okay to pick on other people just because they're different, that being different is okay or something cliche like that. I guess I kind of hoped that "Mean Girl" had some sort of ulterior purpose other than making Mara's school feel kind of generic.

The other supporting characters are kind of weak and felt a bit pointless. I kind of liked Jamie but he started to annoy me towards the middle of this book. I felt like Jamie didn't have much of a purpose, other than to warn Mara about Noah. You know about that friend who doesn't like the paranormal love interest and has to warn her friend that he is bad news. I'm way too familiar with this characters and I have seen it in so many paranormal books including Twilight. The other supporting characters didn't really stand out to me and they weren't anything special.

The best thing about Mara Dyer is definitely Mara and Noah's relationship. Mara and Noah's relationship was slowly and realistically developed. Thank you Michelle Hodkin for not including insta-love or a love triangle! I loved reading the banter between Noah and Mara, it made me laugh a few times. Their relationship slightly veered to the cheesy side but I guess that's a typical thing for a romance subplot.

Noah Shaw, thou are truly awesome! Noah definitely was my favorite character throughout this novel and he made The Unbecoming an entertaining book. He had a great sense of humor and Noah's dialogue is by far the best in the entire book. Noah definitely reminded me of Jace Wayland from The Mortal Instruments and that's definitely a compliment in my book. Even when Shaw was acting like a jerk, Hodkin still managed to make him an appealing character which is a very hard thing to accomplish. One thing that really bothered me about Noah was how much of a wastrel he was when it came to money, he didn't think at all before spending boatloads of cash. Maybe it's because I was raised frugal but Noah's irrational use of money kind of bothered me. Other than that, I loved the way Hodkin developed Noah Shaw and brought him to life.

Mara Dyer was definitely an entertaining book but I definitely feel like it could have been condensed a bit. I would have liked to see more paranormal aspects throughout the novel instead of having them most clumped up in the end. The ending of this book was definitely written well and it had this compelling effect on me. I didn't want to know what was going to happen next, I desperately needed to find out how everything was going to end. The ending was kind of a cliffhanger and it made me want to read book #2 immediately. I'll hold off on reading book #2 for a little bit, I really do hope it's more paranormal than Mara Dyer was. The Unbecoming Of Mara Dyer, in my opinion, was kind of disappointing and I hope The Evolution Of Mara Dyer is a stronger novel.
Good Points
-Noah Shaw is one of the best bad boy characters I've ever read about.
-The ending is such a cliffhanger and it makes you want to read the next book.
-The dialogue is definitely humorous and I chuckled a few times.
-I liked reading about Noah and Mara's relationship and it was definitely developed well.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Have you ever wondered what unicorns are made of? Are...
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Richly illustrated and lovingly told, this book is a warm...
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Everyone’s favorite hard-working hamster Stanley teams up with friends to...
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Isda does not exist. At least not beyond the opulent...
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In this adorable peek-a-boo board book with felt flaps, a...
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
In Sophie Gonzales' Perfect on Paper, Leah on the Offbeat...
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Perfect for fans of To All the Boys I've Loved...
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
“Make them rue the day they underestimated you.” ...
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From New York Times bestselling author Alyssa Sheinmel comes the...
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Discover the incredible story of a young daughter of immigrants...
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Adam Silvera, this is...
Paris Cat
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A sassy cat from the back alleys of Paris believes...
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
When two woodland friends have a misunderstanding over who ate...
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
He saw the darkness in her magic. She saw the...
Rescue
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Six hundred and fifty-seven days ago, Meg Kenyon's father left...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
“We are most courageous at our weakest; when we believe...

Latest Member Reviews

What Are Unicorns Made Of?
 
3.5
"WHAT ARE UNICORNS MADE OF? is a brightly colored board book that questions what makes a unicorn. The rhyming text..."
Grandfather Bowhead, Tell Me a Story
 
4.5
"GRANDFATHER BOWHEAD, TELL ME A STORY features a grandfather and grandson whale who are sharing stories. The grandchild asks for..."
Stanley's Toy Box
 
4.0
"Stanley heads to the park with Little Woo and Betty in this cute board book. STANLEY'S TOY BOX depicts a..."
Sing Me Forgotten
 
5.0
"SING ME FORGOTTEN is an enchanting, compelling, and unexpected YA fantasy retelling of Phantom of the Opera. In this world,..."
The Valley and the Flood
 
4.3
"Rose Colter is adrift. She can't be where she was staying for the holidays but she can't go home yet..."
Peek-a-Boo Little Reindeer
 
4.0
"PEEK-A-BOO LITTLE REINDEER is a simple and cute board book with felt flaps to lift on each page. Little Reindeer..."
Perfect on Paper
 
5.0
"PERFECT ON PAPER is a delightful YA romantic comedy. Darcy has been operating Locker 89 at her school for years...."
11 Paper Hearts
 
4.3
"Reviewed for YA Books Central A super cute and sweet story. The story: A year ago, a..."
The Last Fallen Star
 
5.0
"Riley Oh is thrilled for her sister, Hattie, to finally be formally initiated into the Gom clan on her 13th..."
shine your icy crown
 
3.3
"shine your icy crown by amanda lovelace is a 129-page collection of contemporary poems. It’s the second book in the..."
Rescue
 
5.0
"What worked: Engaging historical set during WWII. What interested me the most of this novel is how codes were used..."
The Castle School (for Troubled Girls)
 
4.3
"THE CASTLE SCHOOL (FOR TROUBLED GIRLS) is a story of healing and friendship. Moira has been cast adrift since the..."
Kamala Harris: Rooted in Justice
 
5.0
"A wonderful book about an amazing woman. The Story: Kamala Harris has lived quite the life. Raised as..."
Go the Distance
 
5.0
"Hercules proved he was a true hero and became a god like his parents, Zeus and Hera. Meg is thrilled..."
Follow Your Arrow
 
4.3
"FOLLOW YOUR ARROW is a heartfelt read about love, breaking up, and being true to yourself. CeCe has made a..."
Paris Cat
 
3.0
"PARIS CAT is an imaginative picture book about a cat that lives in an alleyway of Paris but dreams of..."
The Last Hazelnut
 
5.0
"THE LAST HAZELNUT is a sweet picture book about friendship, forgiveness, and sharing. Tim and Teo are best friends, and..."
Down Comes the Night
 
4.3
"DOWN COMES THE NIGHT is an intriguing, slow-burn YA fantasy. Wren is a healer in the military of her queendom,..."
The Night Walk
 
4.5
"THE NIGHT WALK takes the reader on a walk at night through the village and into the wilderness. Parents wake..."
My Very Merry Ugly Christmas Sweater
 
5.0
"MY VERY MERRY UGLY CHRISTMAS SWEATER is a fun touch-and-feel book that captures all the fun of Christmas attire. The..."