Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1628
Good, but not what I wanted
Overall rating 
 
3.3
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
This book was amazing for the first two-thirds. I was enraptured. The idea of a girl being unable to feel any emotions really had me curious. Then you add in this supernatural element and I was hooked. The chemistry between Elizabeth and Fear was delicious, even if she couldn't tell it was there.


I really liked the characters. The author did a great job describing them and making me feel their individual emotions. For Elizabeth, it was especially tricky to do so because she isn't supposed to feel anything. Of course, that idea is the focus behind the great mystery in Some Quiet Place.


If you like spooky reads with that mystery quality, you'll enjoy this book. I am fairly certain of that. As I read through it, I was reminded of the Riders of the Apocalypse series for some reason. Don't ask me why, but there was something I just couldn't place that kept creeping up.


What ended up frustrating me, however, was the last portion of the book. It all happened so quickly. From the moment the villain's plans are uncovered to the bittersweet ending, I was left speechless-- and not in the best of ways. I think it all transpired way too quickly. I had questions. I wanted answers. I got nothing. I'm not even thrilled with the ending. I am pleased with it, but I think Elizabeth needed to do more. That's all I'll say about that one.


While I started out thinking this was going to blow my mind, I ended up placing it in the 'enjoyable' category. It's different, which was a plus. Unfortunately, though, the lingering questions left me desiring a bit more.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
I can split myself in two . . . something...
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Amanda Hocking, the New York Times bestselling author of...
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Magic is women’s work; war is men’s. But in...
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
 
0.0 (0)
Quick-thinking Leviathan pilot Zara Cole must stop a planet-eating monster...
If...
 
3.5
 
0.0 (0)
Take a fantastical journey through an inspiring world where anything...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The power of the dragon totems is no longer a...
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
When New York City faces the threat of an ancient...
Unravel the Dusk (The Blood of Stars, #2)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Maia Tamarin proved her skill as a tailor when...
Call of the Rift: Flight
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
Seventeen-year-old Kateiko doesn’t want to be Rin anymore —...

Latest Member Reviews

Significance
 
5.0
"If only i could save a hot guy from getting hit by a truck and suddenly be his soul mate,..."
Significance
 
5.0
"I seriously love this book to death. I probably couldn’t tell you how many times I have read and re-read..."
The Fallen Star (Volume 1)
 
4.0
"The Fallen Star is a book that will make you want to carry on reading. Its about a girl called..."
Flat-Out Love
 
3.0
"Flat-Out Love opens up with Julie heading off to college and arriving at what she thinks is her new apartment...."
What I Didn't Say
 
2.7
"I really don't have any reasonable reason to have not enjoyed this book. But something about it just didn't click..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
"Love this book i will give the cover and the book 5 out of 5. Every chapter takes you on..."
ReVamped
 
4.0
"Had enough of vampire books?! Well, let me throw ReVamped at you and say even if you’re sick of vampire..."
ReVamped
 
5.0
" So as we all know the vampire phenomenon has taken the world by storm and there are plenty of..."
Significance
 
5.0
"Love!"
Significance
 
5.0
"Does fate really exist? And if it does, then does magic exist? These are the questions Maggie Masters must answer..."
Remembrance
 
4.0
"(Source: Purchased from Amazon.co.uk for only 77p!) 16-year-old Lizzie has a great boyfriend, and a great best friend, but when..."
Remembrance
 
2.0
"Remembrance has a very interesting background. It was inspired by an artist's music video and burst into this book, which..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"First, I want to thank the author, Ada Adams, and also Marian R., for an e-copy of the book… ..."
Good For You (Between The Lines #3)
 
5.0
JenJen
"Wow, just wow! Each book in this series is better than the one before! This is Dori and Reid's..."
Solid
 
3.0
"Solid was a mindlessly entertaining read, with a witty and sarcastic narrator who kept things on the lighter side with..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.3
"This book wasn't the fluffy chick lit you think it would be, but it isn't quite as deep as you..."
Significance
 
5.0
" WOW! This is an AMAZING story. I got so caught up in it, I kept hiding from my responsibilities..."
What I Didn't Say
 
4.5
" Wow, I am on a roll with good contemporaries this month. This one is really an eye opener..."
What I Didn't Say
 
N/A
" You know those books that come along and at first they seem okay and maybe sort of hoakie and..."
ReVamped
 
3.3
"ISBN: 9781470068981 Publisher: Self/Indie Pages: 300 A simple mission turned deadly. Nineteen-year-old vampire Dawn has led a sheltered..."