Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 20151
Hobbitsies Reviews: Not my typical book, but oh so good
Overall rating 
 
4.0
Plot 
 
4.0
Characters 
 
4.0
Writing Style 
 
4.0
Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin is a little hard to put into words. It's a dark and intense book with contagions and Victorian times and slightly steampunkish and gothic themes. Basically - Masque of the Red Death isn't a book that's usually something I'm into. So if you're kind of like me and not really into that stuff - you should read Masque of the Red Death anyway.

I'm sure you just did a double-take. I KNOW. I did too. Because guys, Masque of the Red Death was so captivating and almost impossible to put down. I mean, it took me like 50 pages or so to really get into it, but once I was there, I was all there.

Because there are SO MANY SECRETS and twists that are just dropped left and right in Masque of the Red Death, and I didn't in a million years expect them. All those new twists that kept getting dropped made me go WHAT and sucked me further into the story.

I loved the character in Masque of the Red Death, too. I loved Araby and I freaking loved Will (no matter what anyone says), and even April. My thoughts are mixed on Elliot, but we'll see in the next book. Which needs to get in my hands, ASAP, by the way. I'm very curious to see where everyone's allegiances lie in regards to the love triangle. Let me know!

And the writing was STUNNING. Bethany Griffin put together these simple sentences but managed to make them very descriptive and telling, and I just loved it.

Even if the dark, Gothicy, steampunkish, plaguey, rebellion thing doesn't really do it for you, definitely give Masque of the Red Death by Bethany Griffin a shot. You'll throw your usual books out the window for this one, I promise.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Movies, mansions, and murder in the Golden Age of Hollywood!...
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...

Latest Member Reviews

Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.0
"This series is like a horrific car crash: you know you should just move on, but you can't help but..."
Destined (House of Night #9)
 
3.3
"It was definitely better than Awakened, but still not at the standard the first few in the series set. It's..."