Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 1522
My Halo Review
Overall rating 
 
2.7
Plot 
 
3.0
Characters 
 
2.0
Writing Style 
 
3.0
I fell in love with the cover , which is what drew me to the book. I had never heard of Alexandra Adornetto, but I decided to give it a try. The story line was intriguing to me. I do love a good Angel series. I just felt that I was not drawn to this particular story. Although it was good, I was hoping for something a little bit more that just was not there. That is why I gave this book a 3.5 star review…. unfortunately goodreads won’t allow half a star.

Gabriel, Ivy, and Bethany (Beth) have been sent to earth on a mission. They have to bring good to the world in a time of darkness Being human is quite different and hard for them, and they find themselves struggling to make sense of it all. This was very new for me. The way Adornetto describes their struggles with their humanity was very interesting. I really like her view point. I found myself wondering how awkward I would feel arriving on an alien planet in a different form…… quite out of my element which is exactly how these three felt.

Bethany was a character I struggled with. She seemed very insecure and impulsive half the time. I just could not relate to her. I just felt that she was so far gone by the first couple of chapters that she turned into a completely different person. She was way too clingy. I wanted to see more of a strong independent character. Instead, I felt as if I was reading about a young child instead of a proclaimed teenage angel.

Xavier is the kind of boy we all fall for. Tall, handsome, and a jock makes every girl fall head over heels. Although he has suffered through tragedies, he seems able to overcome them all and still be that strong rock for Bethany. I will say I was kind of thrown off by his overstated love for Beth. It was just way too cheesy. I mean yeah we all want that knight in shinning armor around, but over obsessive guys are way overdone a lot of the times. He also seemed very full of himself which is another thing that threw me off. I love confidence in a guy, but being cocky and having a macho ego is a huge turn off.

Their relationship was kinda cute and kinda nauseating. I loved the fact that they found true love in each other, but sometimes it was over obsessive. I could not see how someone could be happy in a relationship like that. I was very put off that she just kind off put everything off to be with him 24/7. I just felt that their whirlwind relationship made the book a little dull. The majority of the time it was touching base on how she could not live without him. About half way through I was screaming “I GOT THE PICTURE!” I did appreciate his loyalty to her. He seemed like the kind of guy to do anything and everything for her.

JAKE THORN! OMG hello tall, dark, intelligent, and handsome. Ok I know I know he is the bad guy, but I was absolutely taken with him. I mean he is that bad guy I always hope for in a story. He had charm, was a romantic, and was super smart (O and he loved poetry!)….. SWOON! I was quite happy with his character. I am not sure how I felt about him raising up a demon spirit groupies, though. That part of this story was kind of underdeveloped. I would have liked to see more of an involvement with this group rather than the one short scene where they join up to ruin Beth’s life. Then the pieces of the puzzle that came together after this just seemed way too forced to me. It was really just thrown in there.

I think this was a really good idea, but I am not sure I was happy with the execution. I am definitely hoping that the next book is a little better than the first. The ending was kind of melodramatic, and I am not sure where Hades will pick up. If you like fallen angels series (such as Fallen and Hush Hush) this may not be what you are looking for. As bad as this may sound, I am hoping that Beth turns to the dark side; that seems like an awesome twist (:!
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 0 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Meena Harris debuts with an empowering picture book about two...
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
The West Highland Terrier that brought Harvey Comes Home to...
Everything I Thought I Knew
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
A teenage girl wonders if she’s inherited more than just...
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
New York Times bestselling author Amanda Hocking returns to...
The Hunt
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Death marked her from her very first breath. Being...
Swallowed by a Secret
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
One dead father. One lying mother. ...
Circus of the Dead Book One
 
5.0 (2)
 
0.0 (0)
There are many ways to die at the Circus...
Roaring
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
Colt Clemmons is an agent in a specialized division...
Court of Lions
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Court of Lions is the long-awaited second and final...
More Than Just a Pretty Face
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Becky Albertalli and Jenny Han, a...
The Adventurers Guild: Night of Dangers
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
After the events at Llethanyl, city of the elves, Zed...
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Emily Windsnap and Maybe A Mermaid, And...
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Left reeling after her thoughtless mistake causes a terrible accident,...
Hirana's War: Book Two in the Eloia Born Series
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Praise for Eloia Born “Loved it! A well-written narrative...
Hans Christian Andersen: The Journey of His Life
 
4.7
 
0.0 (0)
"If you like, I’ll tell you the story of a...
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
If you've ever wanted a perfect reason to say: You've...

Latest Member Reviews

Paola Santiago and the River of Tears
 
3.0
"Paola “Pao” Santiago loves science and hanging out with her best friends, Emma and Dante. She doesn’t love how superstitious..."
Kamala and Maya's Big Idea
 
5.0
"KAMALA AND MAYA'S BIG IDEA is a picture book based on a true story about pursuing your goals and doing..."
Harvey Holds His Own (The Harvey Stories, #2)
 
4.0
"HARVEY HOLDS HIS OWN is a contemporary middle grade told from three perspectives: Maggie, Harvey, and Austin. Maggie is starting..."
Ghost Boys
 
5.0
"Jewell Parker Rhodes writes electrifying middle grade stories that pack emotion into every sentence, and GHOST BOYS showcases that skill..."
And Then I Turned into a Mermaid (And Then I Turned into a Mermaid, #1)
 
4.0
"AND THEN I TURNED INTO A MERMAID is a cute and funny middle grade fantasy that follows Molly. Molly is..."
After the Worst Thing Happens
 
5.0
"AFTER THE WORST THING HAPPENS is a compelling middle grade about dealing with death and loss. Army Morand absolutely adores..."
Sheep Dog and Sheep Sheep: Baaad Hair Day
 
4.0
"SHEEP DOG AND SHEEP SHEEP: BAAAD HAIR DAY is a comical picture book about haircuts. Sheep has lovely curls that..."
My Words
 
3.5
"MY WORDS is a cute picture book about language and the power of words. Ava shows the reader how words..."
Sun Flower Lion
 
5.0
"SUN FLOWER LION is a great early reader picture book. Told in very brief chapters, the book captures a brief..."
Feast of Peas
 
4.0
"'Feast of Peas' by Kashmira Sheth, illustrated by Jeffrey Ebbeler, is a cute story that captures how something might be..."
The House of Madame M
 
4.5
"THE HOUSE OF MADAME M is a creepy and interactive book that invites readers to take a tour. They are..."
Like Best Friends
 
4.0
"LIKE BEST FRIENDS is a great picture book to teach about similes. The plot is fairly simple. A boy is..."
Paper Planes
 
4.0
"PAPER PLANES is a sweet picture book about evolving friendships when friends must move away. Mia and Ben are best..."
Good Guys, Bad Guys
 
3.5
"GOOD GUYS, BAD GUYS features children at play and divides them throughout by their actions and roles. The good guys..."
Rad!
 
3.5
"RAD! is a simple but colorful book about trying new things. The book follows five cats, Esther, Chester, Lester, Hester,..."
Thesaurus Has a Secret
 
5.0
"'Thesaurus Has a Secret' by Anya Glazer is a cute story about a dinosaur named Thesaurus. He loves words, but..."
TBH, Too Much Drama (TBH, #3)
 
4.0
"'TBH: Too Much Drama' by Lisa Greenwald is another one of her creative stories told in text messages, emails, and..."
Fresh Princess: Style Rules!
 
5.0
"FRESH PRINCESS: STYLE RULES! is a fun book about marking your mark. Destiny is starting at a new school, and..."
Willow the Armadillo
 
5.0
"WILLOW THE ARMADILLO is a cute picture book about reaching for your dreams and what it means to be a..."
Bad Brows
 
4.0
"BAD BROWS is a humorous picture book that follows Bernard when he wakes up for a day with brows that..."