Review Detail

Young Adult Fiction 4407
Reading this felt as though I was CAUGHT on fire
Overall rating 
 
1.0
Plot 
 
1.0
Characters 
 
1.0
Writing Style 
 
1.0
****whole review contains spoilers*****

All right, all right, all right, stay on your seats please. I was excited to read the second book. I placed this book on hold and had to wait for weeks to get it. I seriously hate that I wasted my energy for this. The first 50 pages were okay, then the author kept rambling on and on and on. This book had very few dialogue, it seems kind of weird when I put it like that. Katniss was just annoying. She simply couldn’t make up her mind about who she loved and she was a coward. I admit, only 2 chapters had me off the edge of my seat. I did not want to put it down and I didn’t want to go to sleep. Then the story just…. falls off from there.

Catching Fire. Where do I begin? The Capitol is pissed about the fact that Katniss rebelled against them. President Snow pays a little visit and tells her he knows her love for Peeta is fake; Katniss is trying to keep her calm and says what she did was real in the act of love. ‘Convince me,’ was basically all he says. He threatens her and leaves. Katniss runs to Gale about running away and Gale is excited, of course. Then she tells Gale about having Peeta and them join and Gale gets all whiny, talks about having this war with the Capitol like the other Districts and walks away. Next, Katniss goes to Peeta and basically says, ‘Hey, I told Gale to runaway with me but he said no. So now I’m asking you, screw Gale.’ Peeta, being in love with Katniss, agrees.

Suddenly, Gale is caught and getting whipped till the skin on his back is gone. Katniss is screaming and she runs to him. Now the author is going on pages and pages about how Katniss finally makes her decision and chooses Gale and she’s going to stay and fight along side him.

The author rambles on again about nothing — for pages and pages. Then Katniss walks downstairs to watch t.v. and the Capitol announces there’s going to be another Hunger Game for the victors (with the previous ones and the new ones), at this, Katniss runs out the house and starts screaming in some damaged building. She changes her mind again saying she’s going to run away, she doesn’t care about anyone else, she cares about herself now. Now I’m angry. The author repeats the same thing when the runners are eating, having meetings, and wearing amazing costumes that makes everyone go crazy. Katniss starts having nightmares and Peeta comes to cheer her up, she talks about Peeta’s warm body, smooth, soft skin and lips. What a second, Katniss is falling for Peeta? She comes up with a conclusion that no matter what happens, she’s getting Peeta out the Hunger Games alive. You’d say she’s brave, I’d say she’s stupid. Katniss is an uninteresting character.

Anyway, I had to stop reading on 225. I couldn’t go on. So I started browsing through pages and the whole thing seems as though she plagiarised her first book into this one. I flipped to the last page and she’s with Gale and he tells her, ‘Katniss, there is no District 12.’ and the book ends there. I’m afraid to pick up that third book. What else could she possibly write? She should have just finished it all on the second book. I guess you guys can say I’m crazy for disliking this book. So not enjoyable.
Report this review Was this review helpful to you? 1 0

Comments

Already have an account? or Create an account
Powered by JReviews

FEATURED GIVEAWAYS

Latest Book Listings Added

Two Dogs on a Trike
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Count up to 10 and back down again in this...
Bonaparte Plays Ball
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Join a skeleton named Bonaparte and his teammates as they...
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
Strong Voices: Fifteen American Speeches Worth Knowing is a collection...
Bernard Makes a Splash
 
3.0
 
0.0 (0)
A heartwarming story from textile designer and illustrator Lisa Stickley...
Wild Girl: How to Have Incredible Outdoor Adventures
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
Calling wild girls everywhere! Helen Skelton – adventurer, world-record breaker...
Stanley's Paint Box
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
It’s another busy day with Stanley and friends! ...
The Unleashed
 
4.0
 
0.0 (0)
In the terrifying sequel to The Haunted, Hendricks discovers that...
Paint by Sticker Kids: Dinosaurs: Create 10 Pictures One Sticker at a Time!
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
Create pictures of 10 awesome dinosaurs... with stickers! ...
Tad
Tad
 
4.5
 
0.0 (0)
From Benji Davies, the award-winning creator of The Storm Whale...
Go Get 'Em, Tiger! (A Hello!Lucky Book)
 
5.0
 
0.0 (0)
The perfect picture book to celebrate every milestone from the...
A World of Opposites
 
4.3
 
0.0 (0)
From ALONE and TOGETHER to ABOVE and BELOW, Gray Malin’s...
The Voting Booth
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
From Stonewall Award-winning author Brandy Colbert comes an all-in-one-day love...
Now & When
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
For fans of Jenny Han and Christine Riccio comes a...
Dating Makes Perfect
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
The Tech sisters don’t date in high school. Not because...
Now That I've Found You
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Now That I've Found You is a YA novel about...
Entwined
 
0.0
 
0.0 (0)
Sometimes love gets a bit twisted. ...

Latest Member Reviews

The Unleashed
 
4.0
"After Steele House has burned down, Hendricks and her family move to a rental, trying to put that horrible episode..."
Toil & Trouble: 15 Tales of Women and Witchcraft
 
4.3
"WHAT I LOVED: The two stories that tie for the best of the anthology are Tess Sharpe’s “The Heart..."
Pride
 
4.7
"It can be difficult to retell a tale as well-known as Pride and Prejudice, but Zoboi's retelling modernizes the story..."
Sick Kids in Love
 
4.7
"This book is definitely not like The Fault in Our Stars nor Six Feet Apart, or any other book about..."
A Girl in Three Parts
 
4.0
"A GIRL IN THREE PARTS by Suzanne Daniel is a novel set in Sydney, Australia during the 1970’s. It follows..."
Goddess in the Machine (Goddess in the Machine, #1)
 
5.0
"Andra went into cryonic sleep for a hundred years for a trip across the universe to wake up as a..."
Honor Lost (The Honors, #3)
 
3.3
"HONORS LOST continues the Honors series as Zara, crew, and friends head out on a mission to stop the horrors..."
10 Things I Hate About Pinky
 
4.3
"10 THINGS I HATE ABOUT PINKY is a cute YA romance that features a fake-turned-real relationship and opposites-attract couple. Pinky..."
Not Another Love Song
 
5.0
"Different than I was expecting - and that’s a good thing! The story: All..."
Jo & Laurie
 
3.3
"Jo March is surprised at how well her novel LITTLE WOMEN has done. Now her publisher and readers want a..."
An Enchantment of Ravens
 
2.3
"I'm not very into reading fantasy (so I might not be the best person to review this). But I was..."
Cracked Up To Be
 
3.7
"Cracked up to be is an unsettling tale of a girl on the cusp of a mental breakdown for over..."
The Morning Flower (The Omte Origins, #2)
 
4.0
"THE MORNING FLOWER continues the OMTE ORIGINS story as Ulla continues to search for her heritage and for the missing..."
None of the Above
 
4.3
"This is one of those books that a reader can learn from. This is the first YA book that I..."
The Lost City (The Omte Origins, #1)
 
4.3
"THE LOST CITY is a highly engaging YA fantasy read about Ulla, a troll. Trolls are secretive creatures who live..."
Layoverland
 
5.0
"'Layoverland' by Gabby Noone, despite being about a teenager who has died, ironically creates a very inviting atmosphere for readers..."
Summer and July
 
5.0
"'Summer and July' by Paul Mosier is a beautifully written story perfect for summer reading. Readers will find themselves immersed..."
A Wicked Magic
 
4.0
"Friends Dan and Liss find a Black book of magic and try a spell. Only the spell goes terribly..."
Scarlet Odyssey
 
3.3
"SCARLET ODYSSEY is a high fantasy that takes place in a world at war. Men are often raised to be..."
Tigers, Not Daughters
 
5.0
"TIGERS, NOT DAUGHTERS is a lyrical book of sisterhood and grief. The Torres sisters had tried to escape their father..."